We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hospedaje Costanera
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I did not realize before arriving, that I would be in a family home. If I knew, I would not have booked it, cause I would feel like an intruder. I didn't. It was very nice, very cozy. They were extremely helpful with booking a day trip to Tierra del Fuego for me. Even as I don't speak spanish, and their enlist was limited. Standard chilean hostel breakfast, very flexible at times being served. Clean. Nice bathrooms with hot showers and good water pressure!!!
It's not in the center, it took me 30 minutes to walk from the bus station, but at the same time I figured out how to navigate around the city, and you can walk from the guesthouse to everywhere.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Therese N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

A homey and cosy hostel, and the owners Luis and Teresita were very nice. They speak a bit of English and were helpful with travel plans. They also own another hostel in Porvenir which is reasonably-priced if you decide to take the ferry over. Rooms were comfortable with warm down comforters, and nice common areas and kitchen for travelers to hang out and socialize. Quiet part of town, about a 10-15 minute walk to the center and safe at night. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed here for about six nights total, and left our bags when we headed out to Torres Del Paine. We stayed one night in a room with two single beds, and the remainder in a private ensuite. The place was clean, and private ensuite room was worth it. The woman running the place speaks very little English, but is super sweet. The kitchen is TINY with limited utensils and pans. Plan on bringing your own dish soap, as for some reason there is never anyin the kitchen. I would recommend the Patricia down the street for cheap chicken meals with potato salad. They also have some items, like taco seasoning, that you can't fins in the rest of Puerto Natales. If you are a light sleeper, I would pick another place, as the dogs around this place bark all night. We loved it, though, it felt like home away from home.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The management guy speaks very little English, is very helpful and keeps the place tidy & running. There are notices hanging everywhere such as: 20 minutes for a shower max, no clothes washing in the bathroom, cook dinner until 22:00, prepare short meals, wash your hands, maintain order... :)

WiFi is good and works in the rooms.

You get a cold breakfast (local bread) with a juice and hot drinks. Speaking of hot drinks, there are always a couple of thermoses around so you can quickly make yourself a tea.

This hostel has many rooms and can get busy. Ours was right next to the kitchen, so you can imagine.

Location is good, but Punta Arenas is small, so you can't go wrong here.

Room Tip: Don't "pick" the one next to the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Radek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

A friendly, if somewhat chaotic place with a wide variety of rooms, which because we stayed so long waiting for a flight to Puerto Williams, we were able to sample extensively. The 5 bed dorm we stayed in for the first two nights was a little cramped and right next to the lounge area so we were kept awake by people chatting on the other side of the wall (they weren't being particularly loud). We decided to move into a double with a shared bathroom after that because they are hardly any more expensive for two people than the dorms. The first night the owner only had a bano privado, upstairs at the back and really comfortable - she gave it us for the same price as the shared bathroom, which was really nice. The double we moved into the night after that was downstairs at the back of the property, which has been knocked together from another property at some point; this was much more basic and needed a bit of a makeover to say the least (but that's normal for a lot of hostels in this price bracket). That aside, the place had a very laid-back, sociable feel, the family running the hostel were really friendly and bent over backwards to help us out, changing our rooms, finding things we had left behind in them, booking trips and even hosting a New Years party with lots of bubbly and cake, which they didn't need to do. To be honest, they looked a bit like they could do with a break from it all for a couple of weeks!

Room Tip: Avoid the downstairs dorm if you can. Rooms upstairs in the new section are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThePiemanAndHer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Nice friendly and helpful owner. A homely place that is clean and comfortable. Good internet and WiFi. Nice breakfast and the kitchen is good. A bit of a walk from the town centre. I had a single bed in a dorm room which was very clean. A good choice if in Punta Arenas.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorsetbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Very nice place for backpacker's with all accommodations needed. Staff member are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and you feel like living in a typical house of Patagonia in a very friendly atmosphere !

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThomasFNLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Arenas hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cabo de Hornos
Hotel Cabo de Hornos
#5 of 26 in Punta Arenas
821 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
#2 of 26 in Punta Arenas
848 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
#3 of 26 in Punta Arenas
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Entre Vientos
Entre Vientos
#1 of 75 in Punta Arenas
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Endless Sky Hostal
Endless Sky Hostal
#10 of 75 in Punta Arenas
8 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Keoken
Hostel Keoken
#4 of 75 in Punta Arenas
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospedaje Costanera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospedaje Costanera

Address: Romulo Correa 1221, Punta Arenas, Chile
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Punta Arenas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 75 Speciality Lodging in Punta Arenas
Price Range: £20 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing