We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Authentic Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Punta Arenas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Posada Estancia Rio Verde
Reviewed 5 March 2010

This Estancia (ranch) is an authentic working sheep ranch. The rooms are basic, nothing fancy, and the bathrooms are adequite but quite small. But you come to the estancia for the experience, not the rooms. The breakfast/dinning room is cozy and charming with a big open pit where the asado is cooked and a pot belly stove with a fire. There was also a roaring fire in the asado pit. A small gift shop is located just off the dinning room with handmade/knitted shawls, hats, sweaters, postcards etc. All the food is home made even the bread and jam. Food was excellent and all the wine you wanted to drink was served with lunch and dinner. For dinner we had a wonderful, out of this world, asado which consisted of lamb, chicken, sausages and steak along with all the trimmings. Excellent! Sergio, who owns the ranch was there and he gave us a personal tour of the ranch along with sheep shearing and sheep dog demonstrations. There is also a small but very interesting museum and school on the property. The estancia consists of 40,000 acres, 10,000 sheep, 2,500 cattle and 250 horses and is located on a large salt water sound. The staff was excellent and the rooms very clean. The electrical power is produced by a generator and it is turned off at around 11PM at night. My room had a flashlight but other rooms didn't, so if you plan to stay here I would recommend you bring your own as it is really dark this far out in the country at night.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2009

We stayed in this Lodge on our journey to Torres del Peine for unfortunately only one night. The rooms are very nice and individualy furnished as well as the Breakfast room. The Dining Room with a great open fire makes you feel like home. The staff is very friendly and helpful.
I can highly recommend this nice, calm Posada!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bubuzh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2008

In late October 2008, I had the pleasure to visit this Posada about one hour north of Punta Arenas as part of a tour of Patagonia. This working Estancia dates to the late 1800s with many of the original working buildings in excellent condition. The windswept site lies along the Pacific Ocean with magnificent ocean and land vistas all around! The rooms are very comfortable with basic features (after all it is a working Estancia (Ranch)). Wonderful food is served up in the restaurant, featuring beef and lamb, cooked on spits over large fire pits in South American style. Hosts Josefina and Sergio oversee all of the operations! Guests are invited to walk around the property and watch the every day workings of this very active Estancia!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank photoguy66degrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2016
Thank Guido C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: En cualquier habitación descansarán de igual forma, el hotel se ubica en una estancia apartada de to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Daniela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deltarobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Arenas hotels
1.4 mi away
Entre Vientos
Entre Vientos
#1 of 79 in Punta Arenas
147 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hostal Ainil
Hostal Ainil
#21 of 26 in Punta Arenas
71 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
#1 of 26 in Punta Arenas
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hostal Cordillera
Hostal Cordillera
#20 of 26 in Punta Arenas
61 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
#4 of 26 in Punta Arenas
726 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Finis Terrae
Best Western Hotel Finis Terrae
#10 of 26 in Punta Arenas
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Estancia Rio Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Estancia Rio Verde

Address: Km 97 Ruta Y50, Punta Arenas, Chile
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Punta Arenas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 79 Speciality Lodging in Punta Arenas
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Posada Estancia Rio Verde Hotel Punta Arenas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing