We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business hotel - but fine if you happen to be in town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
188 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Business hotel - but fine if you happen to be in town”
Reviewed 16 February 2013

The hotel is clearly oriented towards a business clientele (and the town itself is not really interesting for tourists); but, since there are few alternatives for spending the night outside Punta Arenas, this is not a bad option at all.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgialdini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaRDF, Gerente at Hotel Rey Don Felipe, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Dear Guest,
we appreciate your favorable comments. We will continue doing our best to make every guest feel like at home and give the opportunity to have better experiences in the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    262
    77
    17
    7
See reviews for
125
297
40
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a few nights. Very nice hotel. Free wifi in room. Free buffet breakfast with bacon and sausage!! Pretty much in center town. No more than 10 minutes walk to Strait of Magellan. Hotel and room very clean. Don't book it for the gym. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeenThere01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaRDF, Gerente at Hotel Rey Don Felipe, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad to know that your stay was good. Your positive comments encourage us to continue working on delivering the best possible service to all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We arrived early in the morning from Santiago, and although we were several hours before official check-in time, the staff found us a room that we could move into right away. They were also extremely helpful in telling me where I could find a new suitcase in town (my suitcase had fallen apart on the way to Punta Arenas) and held our luggage for several hours after checkout time, before we could board our Patagonia cruise ship.
Rooms were comfortable and clean.
Restaurant had good food - but nothing really for vegetarians, and the dishes all heavy on the cream (delicious, but....)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick32215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaRDF, Gerente at Hotel Rey Don Felipe, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Dear Guest, we are very grateful for your positive comments and pleased that your stay was satisfactory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
235 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

This was the hotel used by the company, Antarctica XXI, who we travelled with to Antarctica. We stayed twice - one night at the beginning of our trip and one night at the end. When we arrived (both times) check- in went smoothly. They had our reservation and could tell us pur room number. The first stay we needed to wait about an hour for our room, but as it was only 1pm this was very reasonable.

My 14 year old son and I went and had lunch on the hotel restaurant while we werewaiting for our room - he enjoyed his lamb cuts, my soup was okay. We had breakfast the next morning in the restaurant and were disappointed by e quality of the food. We did noteatat the hotel restaurant again - there are many cares in the area and the food is cheaper and better quality.

As others have noted, reception area is great. Always wiling to answer questions, help book taxis, recommend restaurants. My Spanish is non-existent and they were able to communicate wth me very well. Asit is Chile, weshpuld not expect them tubbable to speak English but they do and I appreciate their efforts.

Our rooms were 315 (first visit) and 201 (second visit). Both rooms were great. Windows that opened - love fresh air. Hot water in the shower with great water pressure. Room 315 has two single bedsand very comfortable. Room 201 had two double beds and a single bed. Note the shampoo and soap are combined and you need to bring your own hair conditioner. There is a hair dryer but it is very, very slow at drying hair.

My son preferred room 201 as it is a handicap room so very large shower. Unfortunately you could hear noise from the bar as it is just next tothis room, and I did not like to leave the windows open when I left the room.

Both rooms have free WiFi, in-room safe and TV. Mini bar was expensive and there is a supermarket two blocks away - exit the hotel to the right, turn right on the next street and then left and it is half way along the street.

The hotel is in a great location - two blocks down to the main street. Half a block up to the Shackleton plaque. 20 minute walk to the cemetery - provides a great free look at some of the history of the place. Punta Arenas is an interesting town to spend a day or two, especially the link with the Polar/Antarctica history.

Would recommend is hotel for the accommodation and location.

Room Tip: Room 201 is a huge room with a large shower. If you are a light sleeper ask for a room on a higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AussieNarelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaRDF, Gerente at Hotel Rey Don Felipe, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Dear Guest, we really appreciate your positive comments and we are happy that the effort of our staff has contributed to a pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

A large spacious room with a good sized bathroom. This hotel is warm with excellent central heating.There is ample free parking.Hotel is well built so quiet.
Staff are friendly and helpful.As well as Spanish reception staff speak good English.
Breakfast was very good buffet with bacon!! Breakfast room a little crowded and could be difficult if theres a large tour group.
You can easily walk to the town centre/museums et cetera.
By Patagonian standards the cost was reasonable although accomodation costs generally are high in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HLR39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaRDF, Gerente at Hotel Rey Don Felipe, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
We are really glad to read this positive comments and we feel great joy to hear your stay with us was satisfactory.
It is our mission to improve everyday our service quality and words like yours only encourage us to keep with our labour.
Please notice that we always have another location available for breakfast when large groups stay in, so we don't have to worry about space issues.
Once again, thank you for your useful comments and greetings from Patagonia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We spent a night in this hotel and we really appreciated everything they had to offer. The double room was very spacious, the bathroom very large, the staff very friendly and helpful and they had a few things to offer, such as restaurant, bar, computer corner with printer, etc. Located just two blocks from the main square and two from the bus terminal to Puerto Natales. Very quite and convenient for anyone.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank GiorgioandIlse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaRDF, Gerente at Hotel Rey Don Felipe, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Dear Guest,
we appreciate your favorable comments, all of them are very important to us. We will continue doing our best to make every guest feel like at home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

A silent, calm and with a wonderful attention, the Rey Don Felipe does that the hostesses feels like home.
The people are the soul of this place, especially Enrique Garin (manager) that receives to all with a kindness without pair.
A beautiful city, an incredible landscape and an very, very nice Hotel with a great food and service.
Go through Punta Arenas means go through the Hotel Rey Don Felipe

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Izabella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaRDF, Gerente at Hotel Rey Don Felipe, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear Izabella is a pleasure to know your opinion and know that your stay here was pleasant. Certainly our team will continue to strive to offer our valued guests the ultimate experience in Punta Arenas.
We hope to meet you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Arenas hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
#2 of 25 in Punta Arenas
755 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cabo de Hornos
Hotel Cabo de Hornos
#5 of 25 in Punta Arenas
784 reviews
0.6 mi away
Diego de Almagro Punta Arenas
Diego de Almagro Punta Arenas
#12 of 25 in Punta Arenas
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Yegua Loca Hotel Boutique
La Yegua Loca Hotel Boutique
#4 of 25 in Punta Arenas
160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lacolet
Hotel Lacolet
#8 of 25 in Punta Arenas
84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Finis Terrae
Best Western Hotel Finis Terrae
#11 of 25 in Punta Arenas
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rey Don Felipe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rey Don Felipe

Property: Hotel Rey Don Felipe
Address: Armando Sanhueza 965, Punta Arenas 6200729, Chile
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Punta Arenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rey Don Felipe 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A first class hotel Located in Punta Arenas, the capital of the province of Magellean's, which comprehends from Cordillera del Paine on the north to Cape Horn on the south. Suited by the Strait of Magellan's in Brunswich peninsula, is the continental city farthest south in the world, and a supply port for the Antarctic traffic. At just two blocks of the city's main square, we provide you 45 warmly, large and comfortable rooms, decorated elegantly, with good taste and simplicity. Attended by a courteous and bilingual staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rey Don Felipe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing