We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
Nearby Hotels
Tierra Del Fuego(Punta Arenas)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cabo de Hornos(Punta Arenas)
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostal Cordillera(Punta Arenas)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jose Nogueira(Punta Arenas)
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostal Ainil(Punta Arenas)
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$54
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hostal Oro Fueguino(Punta Arenas)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostal del Estrecho(Punta Arenas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hostal Labarca(Punta Arenas)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (763)
Filter reviews
763 results
Traveller rating
352
295
87
21
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
352
295
87
21
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexcellent hotelin townwithin easy walking distancepuerto natalesone nighttwo blockswelcome drinkrestaurant districtlambthe main squarelittle thingsairport transferenjoyed our stayquiet streetclean roomscomfortable hotelen route
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
239 - 244 of 763 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed at the Rey Don Felipe for two nights in November. It is a nice hotel close to the city center, with everything within easy walking distance. It has a small car park, which is helpful, as the city center of Punta Arenas is metered parking only. We found the location excellent, although the hotel is not far away from what seems to be a red light district of some sorts.
Rooms were quite spacious, nice and clean and we found the beds to be very comfortable. Also the shower was good. Check in and check out were friendly and efficient.

The only weak point was breakfast, which was included in our rate. Breakfast buffet was varied, but not convincing at all. Especially the breads offered were terrible. The rolls were hard and very, very dry and the “toast” was sliced loaf bread that obviously has been frozen and not properly defrosted, as it was still ice cold in the center. Not good. Also, coffee was on the poor side.

Nevertheless, it was a nice stay and we liked the hotel for its location, the quality of the room and the beds and the friendly staff . We would choose it again, if in Punta Arenas , but probably without the breakfast part. The rate we paid was in line with the general high price level for comparable hotels in Patagonia, which means rather expensive for South America, or even Chile.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roland_vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaRDF, Gerente at Hotel Rey Don Felipe, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear guest, thank you very much for your feedback. certainly we will work to improve the services that you have left us comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Hotel Rey Don Felipe is lovely! We had a wonderful stay and great sleep in the comfortable rooms. But the staff was exceptionally wonderful! We stopped in Punta Arenas on our way to Torres Del Pain and the Hotel allowed us to leave our luggage there for 5 nights while we backpacked through the park! It was such a HUGE help! After backpacking staying at Hotel Ray Don Felipe was a great way to relax and recoup. They were also helpful in booking a penguin tour. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morgan82_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaRDF, Gerente at Hotel Rey Don Felipe, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear guest, along with our greetings, we sincerely appreciate your opinion about our service, we are glad to know your stay was ok and enjoyed our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Comfortable for an over night stay to and from Antarctica.
Breakfast adequate with both continental and limited cooked options.
Reception staff were very helpful and friendly
Bathrooms need some attention to decorating and are a bit cramped
Free wifi useful

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shakennotstiirred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaRDF, Gerente at Hotel Rey Don Felipe, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear guest, along with our greetings, we sincerely appreciate your opinion about our service,
Certainly we will work to improve the services that you have left us comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I can't say much about the rooms, they are clean, bathroom has been re done, but it's obviously not a five star.

Staff was friendly, breakfast inclusive, slightly overpriced but they can get the rate.

Lobby area is a great place to sit and visit with friends or strangers seems to be the meeting point for people traveling to Torres del Paine .

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AARDVARKKILLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaRDF, Gerente at Hotel Rey Don Felipe, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear guest, along with our greetings, we appreciate your opinion about our service.
We are glad to know your stay was ok.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed here our last night in Patagonia before flying out to Santiago. It is well located downtown near the restaurants and sites and easy to get out of the city for the airport and Seno Otway Penguin colony. The hotel has a gated parking lot and it was not a problem when we left at 445AM there was someone at the front desk to open the gate for us. Room was decent sized. Clean, quiet and comfortable. Free Wi-Fi worked very well.

One caveat: the hotel has many partial levels and our room could not be reached without going up a partial flight of stairs.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gbs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaRDF, Gerente at Hotel Rey Don Felipe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear guest, we appreciate your positive feedback and we are glad that your stay has been pleasant and enjoyed our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews