We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic service. period. (oh yea, nice breakfast, nice property)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ilaia Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Punta Arenas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ilaia Hotel
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Certificate of Excellence
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“fantastic service. period. (oh yea, nice breakfast, nice property)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

I'll admit the hotel website "nature & yoga" left me with a hippie vibe I wasn't too sure of. But from the moment I emailed for reservations to our dear goodbye's on the way to our boat (to Antarctica!), Ilaia's service was impeccable!

I arrived at Ilaia after 26 hours travelling with my 2 elderly parents. Juanita and Marco met us getting out of the taxi on the street in front of the hotel. Before I knew it Marco was carrying our bags upstairs and Juanita had a tray of tea to calm our weary bodies. Juanita made us dinner reservations--and her recommendation was great!-- and for the following day a city tour-in English- with a fantastic company. They even arranged for the tour van to come pick us up at the hotel! Every time we said "thank you" ---and they helped tremendously---Juanita's reply was "you are the loved ones". Their service was fantastic but also generously given and truly with loving warmth. I'm surprised Ilaia is listed as "hotel"; it's much more a B&B with family-like personal service.

The hotel is newly renovated with lovely common spaces: 2 laptop internet stations (included in room cost), sitting area with fireplace, and a lovely 3 floor sitting rooom with a fantastic view!

Our room was delightful---a bit like a spa with rain shower head and hand made soaps in the bathroom---and very simple, uber modern, decor in the room.

Breakfast, also included in room cost, was excellent: coffee & juice, granola & yogurt, and hot tortillas with fresh cheese, avocado, & jam.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SEFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz H, Propietario at Ilaia Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
We are grateful because of your words ,because it is an instance to remind to travelers that this place invites you to connect with the wonder of who we are all . A hug into the Light .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    52
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
72
216
39
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

This has got to be one of the nicest places that we've ever stayed at, especially given how moderately priced it is. The rooms are well designed, clean and comfortable. The solarium on the roof is beautiful. The breakfast is so delicious that I was surprised that I didn't have my usual craving for eggs and bacon in the least. In fact, I wish I could eat a breakfast like that on a daily basis. The cherry on top is definitely the service. The ladies running the place are the most wonderful people. It's hard for me to put into words just how hospitable and genuinely loving they are. We will never forget our stay at Ilaia!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RM-MDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz H, Propietario at Ilaia Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
We do feel very enthusiastic when we receive comments because they are always an impulse for us . We really appreciate that you take your time for sharing your feelings .
Keep smiling ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

I'm generally a little skeptical of hotels not found on kayak.com however ilaia was such a wonderful place to stay. We were on our honeymoon and stayed here for 4 nights. It was like staying at a friend or family members home, the staff is incredible and did everything they could to make sure we were taken care of. The room we had faced a garden in the back and the rooms were very basic but so clean and so comfortable. The breakfast was simple but delicious and there's internet access all over the place which is nice. Also, they make their own soap! The hotel is a short walk to the main corridor, I am SO glad we stayed here -- I don't think we would have had as much fun staying anywhere else in the town.

Room Tip: We got a room in the back of the hotel and it was nice and sunny back there in the morning. Also ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coastalsuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz H, Propietario at Ilaia Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Honestly and heartily THANK YOU !
Our best wishes for you...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Lovely hotel in punta arenas. Nice rooms, welcoming structure (laptops with free connection available in common areas, cozy furniture in the relaxation area).
Service is great: we had to leave early to catch our ferry and the staff arranged for us a superb breakfast ahead of time, with plenty of delicious choices.
Ilaia is not a cheap option, but it is definitely worth it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sara c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilaia, Propietario at Ilaia Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Thank you for all your kind words. Honestly, the idea that you feel like home is our goal…
A big hug !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell River, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

It was difficult to decide on a hotel in Puntas Arenas, simply because of the many choices. I am a female, travelling alone, looking for a hotel in a quiet neighbourhood that is safe and clean. When I arrived, exhausted from 17 plus hours of travel, I was welcomed by name, given a hug and a hot mug of herbal tea! The room surpassed my expectations: King sized bed, natural linens, clean laminate flooring, a spa like bathroom, and it was quiet outside (no dogs barking, very little car traffic). The windows open and you can adjust the heat to your preference. The feel of the hotel is like that of a large, welcoming home - not too big, not everything completely modern.

Breakfast was just what I needed after two days of "fast food" while travelling. Homemade chapatis and jams, fresh mashed avocados, the best orange juice I have EVER tasted, curd, strong coffee, fruit, yoghurt and meusli.

There was a language barrier because I can only speak a few words of spanish, but it was never much of an issue as some of the staff can assist with english.

Free internet. Computers are available.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vanislehiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilaia, Propietario at Ilaia Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
How generous your comments! Thank you for your abundance in creativity and in kindness. Just like some co-workers that have joined us can speak English, there are some others that are working to improve theirs. However, everyone is kind and anxious to express our affection, which is very important too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

This is by far the best experience my boyfriend, his brother and I have ever had with a hotel.

First of all, our flight was delayed quite late, but everyone stayed up to greet us. My boyfriend's brother's luggage was lost in Santiago, but Ilaia arranged everything with the Punta Arenas airport AND our next hotel (Las Torres) to get his bag back. If it wasn't for Ilaia, we may have never received his bag.

We were also recommended a great restaurant six blocks down and were given hot tea when we came back - a nice surprise, since we picked up cookies and chocolates on our way.

The view from the top floor is amazing, and the rooms were as comfortable as it gets. We loved using all of the shampoo, conditioner, soap and the breakfast was to die for - musli, avocado, freshly squeezed orange juice and more!

After we evacuated Torres del Paine (from the fire), we wanted to stay in Ilaia, but unfortunately they were booked full. So if you're ever going to be in Punta Arenas, make sure you stay at Ilaia, because it is the best hotel in the world!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missxmelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilaia, Propietario at Ilaia Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Thank you for helping us to make us well- known so magnificently, you as a traveler are the direct witnesses of our service and beyond, and you help us to diffuse us!
Honestly and heartily THANK YOU !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

We found this hotel on trip advisor and although it was a bit above our budget we decided to treat ourselves and what a good decision that was.

The staff are all very friendly and you shouldn't be surprised if you get enveloped in a big hug at some point.

The accommodation is comfortable, clean and peaceful. After being on the go for the previous few days we took a day off in Punta Arenas and this is a hotel where you can easily relax and stay in - your room or the scenic lounge on the top floor.

As we had read on trip advisor, the breakfast was great.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juggernaughty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilaia, Propietario at Ilaia Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
We feel so happy when you enjoy the breakfast, because is really “home made” and yes, we consider a vital aspect the personalize attention; the hospitality is something we are always thankful to receive that’s why we offer to all of you… Keep smiling !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Arenas hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
#3 of 25 in Punta Arenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
#2 of 25 in Punta Arenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cabo de Hornos
Hotel Cabo de Hornos
#4 of 25 in Punta Arenas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Diego de Almagro Punta Arenas
Diego de Almagro Punta Arenas
#12 of 25 in Punta Arenas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Yegua Loca Hotel Boutique
La Yegua Loca Hotel Boutique
#5 of 25 in Punta Arenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apart Hotel Quillango
Apart Hotel Quillango
#8 of 25 in Punta Arenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilaia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilaia Hotel

Property: Ilaia Hotel
Address: Capitan Ignacio Carrera Pinto 351, Punta Arenas 6200382, Chile
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Punta Arenas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ilaia hotel, is an ideal place of rest, inspired on the very roots of Patagonia, nature and welfare.We as a family, are open to the awakening Era, through activities that will let you enjoy your wonderful present right now. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing