We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a treasure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ilaia Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Punta Arenas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ilaia Hotel
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis
1 review
“what a treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2010

We were on our way to Torres Del Paine for some serious trekking. Needed a place to stay in Punta Arenas and really didn't want a hostel. Took a chance with Ilaia ... and I'm so glad we did. It's a secret gem. Family designed and run. It's gorgeous and very friendly. Breakfast with freshly squeezed juice, coffee/tea, jams, honey, yogurts, breads ... everything perfect. Room we had was very clean, quiet and patagonia style. Nice wireless system with a couple of nice laptops for your use. We took one upstairs into the overlook room to skype and see the straits.
Sorry to see this hotel get popular ... 'cause I want to come back and enjoy while it's still a secret.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bytek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    52
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
72
216
39
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2010

Adding our praise to other reviews. We particularly liked the welcome and friendliness, and the very practical, large rooms. Great comfort and no extra frills or too many cushions on the bed.

Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mar4596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2010

We had a great stay at ilaia! One of the best places I have ever stayed (and we travel a lot). We have never felt so welcomed! We used hotel ilaia as our home base while exploring Pategonia. The wind was blowing and spring was just trying to arrive, but once we walked into ilaia we felt warm and comfortable. The staff was very friendly, helping us resolve a challenge with a rental car, giving us recomendations or places to eat and making trip reservations. The sun room looking the city became our end of day relaxation area. The rooms are very clean, the decor is calming and the big windows are lovely. We had a great time!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank betsysantacruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summit County, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2010

My husband and I started our Chilean trip with a 2 night stay at The Ilaia in Pinta Arenas before heading off to trek in Torres del Paine. It was the perfect way to begin our holiday. Pamela and her son, Marco, have created a wonderfully inviting and unique hotel where everyone exudes warmth and caring. After our trek our flight was delayed so we chose to spend another night at The Ilaia. They did not have any standard rooms so they gave us a family size room at the standard rate.

Our every need was attended to during our stay. You won't find nicer hosts. Be sure to visit the third floor where comfortable couches and a panoramic view of the city await you while you enjoy some wine and relax.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cejsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2010

My wife and I recently had the pleasure of staying here for three nights; one night before we started our Torres del Paine trek and two nights on our return. We can't say enough about the pleasantness of the entire staff - they made us feel as family. My wife has a food allergy, and they were more than willing to accommodate to her needs.
Do not go here if you are looking for a big hotel with pool, spa and bar and a buffet - style breakfast.
Do go here if you want a clean comfortable and relaxing place to stay, and enjoy healthy breakfasts.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank generald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2010

Warm welcoming staff. Immaculately maintained and well designed rooms. Great breakfast. Located a few blocks from the center of town in quiet neighborhood.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dsilver1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
267 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2010

My wife and I booked a night here when we first arrived in Punta Arenas and ended up staying for three nights due to the fantastic hospitaliy in this hotel. The ladies who run the hotel go out of their way to make you feel instantly at home and are always available to help with any recommendations - in every aspect they went above and beyond our expectations. We were offered an hour's yoga session for free which was great and when we came back one evening with bread and cheese from the supermarket, we were given plates, napkins, glasses and cutlery and offered to sit at the breakfast area to make it special rather than eating in our room. Breakfast was very good - fresh OJ, coffee, tea, chapattis, home made jam, home made guacamole, granola, fresh fruit and natural yoghurt. The location is a short five minute walk into town and there is no problem whatsoever with noise.
The building and rooms are modern, stylish and very well designed and the architect is part of their family. There is a stunning common room at the top of the hotel with panoramic sea views, a beautiful balcony and glass windows all round. We sat up here with a bottle of wine and watched the sunset which was fantastic. There is good free wifi throughout and two laptops for use.
This truly is quite possibly the best hotel I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Lion_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Arenas hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
#3 of 25 in Punta Arenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
#2 of 25 in Punta Arenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cabo de Hornos
Hotel Cabo de Hornos
#4 of 25 in Punta Arenas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Diego de Almagro Punta Arenas
Diego de Almagro Punta Arenas
#12 of 25 in Punta Arenas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Yegua Loca Hotel Boutique
La Yegua Loca Hotel Boutique
#5 of 25 in Punta Arenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apart Hotel Quillango
Apart Hotel Quillango
#8 of 25 in Punta Arenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilaia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilaia Hotel

Property: Ilaia Hotel
Address: Capitan Ignacio Carrera Pinto 351, Punta Arenas 6200382, Chile
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Punta Arenas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ilaia hotel, is an ideal place of rest, inspired on the very roots of Patagonia, nature and welfare.We as a family, are open to the awakening Era, through activities that will let you enjoy your wonderful present right now. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing