We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky and may be UNSAFE”
Review of Hospedaje Betty

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Punta Arenas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hospedaje Betty
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Do not stay here if you do not speak Spanish. The hostel is managed by a Chilean woman who does not speak English at all. Betty does not live at the hostel.

We stayed in the separate building which has a double bed and a bunk bed. I slept in the lower bunk bed which is close to a gas wall heater. Both mornings we stayed there, I was very dizzy when I woke up to the point that I had to hold onto something to prevent myself from falling over. I am never dizzy when I wake up so I can only attribute the problem to my proximity tto the gas wall heater. My friend sleeping further away from the heater in the double bed did not have dizzinss problems. It seems there is a real need for safety inspections of facilities renting space to tourists. Old gas furnace units can leak carbon monoxide into the living spaces. At the very least there should be a carbon monoxide detector in the room with the gas heater.

Some minor issues - We were not served breakfast that others said they received. The beds were lumpy. Acces to a desktop computer is limited since it is in the main building where the managers live.

I believe you can find safer and better rooms elswhere in town for the same price.


The beds are lumpy. There is no ladd

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
5  Thank AlamoTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2012

I traveled with a group of four, and while we didn't speak very good Spanish, Betty was still warm and helpful! The location is only a couple blocks from the water, and we checked the prices of a nearby hotel, which was $176 USD for two people compared to Betty's $32 a night, so if you just looking for a place to sleep and want a much more reasonable rate, Betty's really hit the mark!

The accommodations were clean and nice, but a bit tight for the four of us as we had our back packs and gear for camping in del Torres de paine. Betty has two bathrooms, and one bath/shower, so when things get busy, it's the expect the normal lineup that accompany all Hostile stays. There is a common area where she sets out a light contental breakfast of bread, coffee, tea and jam, but no real common area where all the guests can hang out and perhaps get to know each other, so our group pretty much stayed in the room when we were at the Hostal.

All in all in was a good experience, and Betty was a gracious hostess who helped in any way she could, and as such I would recommend her Hostal to anyone passing through!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mbedit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

This place may not be the most luxurious, but it was a wonderful stay. Everything was made as if it was your home, like a home away from home sort of thing, that was great. There was good breakfast every morning and the most wonderful hostesses ever. Very enjoyable stay. Very affordable, all in all it was great.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blondkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Betty was really friendly, when we arrived we had troubles taking money from ATMs and she gave us cash for buying tickets to go to Isla Magdalena. She called for a taxi so that we could make it to the port on time. She is very responsive and communicative and also easy-going. The rooms are clean and have personal heaters, the kitchen is well-equipped and you could also ask the other woman, Baleska, for help. The feeling is like being a guest at a true Chilean home. Breakfast is basic but somehow enough - tea, coffee, milk, bread, butter and jam. Location is fine and you would have no troubles getting to the town centre. Stay with Betty - she is really great. One thing that could be a sort of disadvantage - she doesn't speak English, but you could also rely on her readiness to help - so it is not a big issue.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nocturne27p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank gustavo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank mabelgraciela99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Arenas hotels
0.3 mi away
Hostal Ainil
Hostal Ainil
#23 of 26 in Punta Arenas
70 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
#1 of 26 in Punta Arenas
873 reviews
0.8 mi away
Apart Hotel Quillango
Apart Hotel Quillango
#9 of 26 in Punta Arenas
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Carpa Manzano
Hotel Carpa Manzano
#24 of 26 in Punta Arenas
202 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hostal Labarca
Hostal Labarca
#6 of 26 in Punta Arenas
163 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostal del Estrecho
Hostal del Estrecho
#17 of 26 in Punta Arenas
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospedaje Betty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospedaje Betty

Address: Pasaje Jose Miguel Carrera 1245, Punta Arenas 6212724, Chile
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Punta Arenas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Price Range: £33 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing