We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite Nice, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Certificate of Excellence
Glenwood Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quite Nice, but...”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Most everything I'd expect in a top tier hotel. Like most work I've seen in Chile, there always seems to be just a few little things off. Nothing to worry about, but for the price I'm expecting near perfection. Just minor stuff, wall outlets not level, small rips in the wall paper, water leaking around the shower door, and a bit noisy (could hear quite a bit from the adjacent rooms). Still the best of any room in any of my 18 stays in Punta Arenas over the past 10 years.

Room Tip: Upper Floors - have two friends that have stayed on 3rd floor and were disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    260
    66
    22
    15
See reviews for
141
289
26
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Level Contributor
230 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Excellent rooms, wonderful view, and great food. The hotel had a casino if you like that. The breakfast was exceptional the coffee was great! The hotel staff was very prompt and friendly it was like they were happy you were there.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GJG-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed one night on our way to Torres del Paine.
The style of the building, very modern, somehow doesn't match with the city. Once inside, it is very nice. The room was large, modern, and the bed very comfortable. we had a great view of the strait of Magallanes.The bathroom was incredible, and the shower definitely overkill. You may need a degree in engineering to take a shower. And yes, as other reviewers remark, some of the water instead of going to the drain spills on the bathroom floor. There is a very nice top floor bar, heated pool (could be a little warmer), jacuzzi and a well equipped gym. The breakfast was excellent and the staff at the front desk was very helpful. We couldn't connect to Internet in our room and in one minute we had a person in our room installing a wifi router for us that worked perfectly.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PH2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Bad points:
- Extremely hot in the room. (Air con is not working with only a small slit of windows to breathe)
(under very strong sun in the summer time !!)
- Food offered in the restaurant are not delicious. (esp. Dinner)

Good points:
- Modern style
- Fully furnished

Room Tip: Sea View is better (in the sense of having cooler room temperature)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmahk316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Stayed here pre and post Antarctica departure. Beautiful hotel with a gorgeous pool, gym and nice lobby. The rooms I stayed in both times looked out over the ocean - lovely! Best hotel bathroom I have seen in a while - if only I could take that shower home with me! Friendly service and good breakfast in the restaurant every day. Beds were super comfortable. My one complaint was that the wifi didn't seem to work in the rooms. It was fine everywhere else in the hotel though so better than nothing! Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coronah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
338 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Our room was on one of the top floors and looked directly out on the Straight. The room itself was comfortable and fairly large. Our bathroom had a shower and a tub. One of the neatest things about the room was that the bathrooms are glassed with blinds and you could shower while looking out at the water. We only had breakfast in the hotel and that was all right. We ate our other meals in restaurants in town. The bed was comfortable. The best thing about the room was the view!

As much as we enjoyed the room high up, when the bar opened up at about 10 PM, the noise started building and lasted far into the night. It didn't make for a great night's sleep, but it was almost worth it for the view.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor, if located near the bar, get VERY loud after about 10 PM. I wouldn't g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyhg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Pros:
- Francisco at the front desk was super helpful booking a tour, day of after ours was canceled (w/o notice). I apologize, his name may be Fernando, I may have that wrong but he was really really helpful.
- Large modern rooms.
- Big new bed
- Best hotel gym I've ever been to. Large with lots of new machines
- Free wifi in the lobby

Cons:
- Seemed like the front desk was *always* understaffed. Either there was nobody at the front desk or there was only one person and there was a huge line out the door
- Smells like an ashtray when you walk in.
- The 11th floor bar is 90% smoking with a small area for non smokers
- Shower leaked into the bathroom
- There's an ice bucket in the room, but you can only get ice by calling the restaurant

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank b0916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Arenas hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
#3 of 25 in Punta Arenas
696 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cabo de Hornos
Hotel Cabo de Hornos
#5 of 25 in Punta Arenas
762 reviews
0.4 mi away
Diego de Almagro Punta Arenas
Diego de Almagro Punta Arenas
#12 of 25 in Punta Arenas
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Finis Terrae
BEST WESTERN Hotel Finis Terrae
#10 of 25 in Punta Arenas
242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jose Nogueira
Jose Nogueira
#11 of 25 in Punta Arenas
176 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Yegua Loca Hotel Boutique
La Yegua Loca Hotel Boutique
#4 of 25 in Punta Arenas
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dreams del Estrecho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dreams del Estrecho

Property: Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
Address: O'Higgins 1235, Punta Arenas, Chile
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Punta Arenas
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dreams del Estrecho 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dreams del Estrecho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing