We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A comfortable oasis in Punta Arenas” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Dreams del Estrecho

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo
Level Contributor
125 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A comfortable oasis in Punta Arenas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Dreams is a surprising oasis in the remote city of Punta Arenas. This modern building sticks out among the other buildings with its glass facade and 11 floors. A beautiful view over the Strait of Magellan to the south and the mountains to the north. The rooms are spacious and with a very nice comfortable standard. I was unfortunate to visit while there was a demonstration/strike in front of the hotel making a lot of noise, but the windows managed to keep most of the noise out. A limited but good breakfast buffet but I missed the omelet chef both days (need to start earlier in the morning). Try out the Sky bar, but be aware that it is more like a music bar than a lounge. The most negative about the hotel is the very tacky Casino on ground floor where all the locals are hooked to flashing Jackpot machines.

The room has a stable WiFi, very comfortable beds and a delicate bathroom. Good working conditions, but my aircon did not work - and I missed an iron in the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the mid floors - no noice from the traffic and no noice from the Sky bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anders G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    258
    64
    22
    15
See reviews for
138
284
25
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

What a stunning room we had here. Beautiful stylish modern furniture. A Large and spacious Bedroom and huge bathroom with more shower heads than I can recall. I think 5!! Clever bathroom fittings and electronic blinds for bathroom privacy. Separate Bath Tub from shower and Loo. Excellent Hair Dryer.
12 oclock check out. Great.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CatloverGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

The staff service is pretty good, and with some luck they will cater to all your request. The guest rooms are very spacious and well designed. It offers nice ocean view. The restaurant caters to individuals with early tours by offering buffet style breakfast before the regular business hours. The hotel has a bar/club, gym and casino. Overall very please with the quality of the guest rooms, restaurant and service. Great option!!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Guisum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nl
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Shameles management attitude to sell room(s?) on the 10th floor direct under the Skybar. Untill 4 a.m. we were kept awake by the noise and the music of the bar on the 11th floor and there after we heard them claening thte palce for another hour. All they offered was a late check out (what we needed to pick up some sleep), but that was all. It was clearly not the first time they had this complained, so to out opinion this is a shamless practice.
For the rest personel and room are fine.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room at hte 10th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lex50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

In my opinion, this is the best hotel in Punta Arenas. As I have been working down here for almost a year now, I have had the chance to stay at many hotels. It has amazing accommodations of all the hotels in Punta Arenas. It has a nice gym with an Olympic size pool and hot tub that overlook the ocean front. Also has a big sauna and steam room. Moreover, the casino downstairs and the Sky Bar on the 11th floor overlooking the city, will give you all the entertainment you need. Nightly performers on the weekend down in the Casino always bring in a number of people. The rooms are very big and modern with and very comfortable bed. The bathrooms are beautiful and up to date. The only downside on this hotel is the service can be lacking sometimes. All in all though I would recommend this hotel to anyone and think it is definitely the best hotel in Punta Arenas.

Room Tip: Any room on the 10th floor you have to worry about the noise from the Sky Bar above late into the ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Lewis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I was booked into this hotel a number of times by my old Company. What a great place to stay.

Both rooms I stayed in were amazing, lots of space, brilliant bathrooms and a great view of the town.

On the top floor there is a great bar with a view of the harbour. We used to love sitting in the bar looking at the vessel we had just spent three months on knowing we were going home. Victory!

And OMW the food is just brilliant. I have never had such great seafood. Get the crab, can't go wrong!

Room Tip: Rooms with a view over the city are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IM895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
103 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed here on my way to Explora Patagonia. I felt very welcome and comfortable from the moment I arrived. They coordinated well with the transportation connection to Explora. I had to replace a bag that broke en route and the staff was very helpful in pointing me to a repair place and to stores. I walked along the Strait and into the shopping area. It was nice to get out and walk after a very long trip.
I did not get a water view but the room was fine. Breakfast was very nice. Sat and looked out on the Strait, amazed at how far south I was.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nemokota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Arenas hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
#3 of 25 in Punta Arenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.4 mi away
Diego de Almagro Punta Arenas
Diego de Almagro Punta Arenas
#12 of 25 in Punta Arenas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cabo de Hornos
Hotel Cabo de Hornos
#4 of 25 in Punta Arenas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Finis Terrae
BEST WESTERN Hotel Finis Terrae
#11 of 25 in Punta Arenas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Yegua Loca Hotel Boutique
La Yegua Loca Hotel Boutique
#5 of 25 in Punta Arenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jose Nogueira
Jose Nogueira
#10 of 25 in Punta Arenas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dreams del Estrecho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dreams del Estrecho

Property: Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
Address: O'Higgins 1235, Punta Arenas, Chile
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Punta Arenas
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dreams del Estrecho 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Dreams del Estrecho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing