We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of Las Vegas in Punta Arenas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 405 helpful votes
“A taste of Las Vegas in Punta Arenas”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Location: On the southwest side of Punta Arenas, overlooking the water and the harbor. Within walking distance of 5 restaurants located across the street. 30 minute taxi ride from the airport (14,000- 16,000 Pesos= $ 7-8 USD).

Hotel: Modern high-rise hotel and casino with high-ceilings, sleek décor. Looks out of place in the modest city of Punta Arenas. Has a Chocolatta café in front. Small casino with slot machines, roulette, and card tables. ATM in lobby. Casino currently exchanges 490 Chilean pesos to 1 USD. Excellent free gym with treadmills, weights, stationary bicycles, yoga room, changing rooms, showers, lockers. Beautiful indoor heated pool and jacuzzi overlooking the coast. Business center with computers. Conference rooms Speedy free wifi. Includes breakfast with deli meats, pastries, yogurt, omelet station, fresh squeezed OJ, coffee. Check-out at noon.

Rooms: Expansive rooms that are clean, chic, comfortable. Spacious bathroom with large tub. Magnificent shower with 4 nozzles. Electronic wooden blinds for bathroom. Relaxing bed. Large closets. Includes safe, mini-bar, basic toiletries.

Service: Friendly but moves at South-American pace (very slow). Check-in line was long and tedious.

Overall: Dreams Hotel is a pleasant, relaxing place to stay in Punta Arenas.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krawner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    283
    67
    23
    16
See reviews for
167
323
28
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 431 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Tallest building in town with views over the sea and harbour. We had a massive room which was really nice, everything worked and the shower was good.
I didn't think much of the breakfast, it was fine but pretty basic. Most people are going to stay in Punta Arenas for one night, probably catching the boat or flying out, this hotel is fine for that short stay. There seems to be an ongoing demonstration by some casino workers outside but they don't bother the guests.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Bezi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

I really loved this hotel ! Maybe it helped that we were upgraded to a fabulous suite with a view over the sea on the 7th floor! However I think I would have liked the hotel even without the upgrade. Beautifully furnished, luxury bathroom, fab breakfast (ambience and food) great gym, friendly and helpful reception and luxury all around!

Sent from my iPod

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mango2223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Dreams is a surprising oasis in the remote city of Punta Arenas. This modern building sticks out among the other buildings with its glass facade and 11 floors. A beautiful view over the Strait of Magellan to the south and the mountains to the north. The rooms are spacious and with a very nice comfortable standard. I was unfortunate to visit while there was a demonstration/strike in front of the hotel making a lot of noise, but the windows managed to keep most of the noise out. A limited but good breakfast buffet but I missed the omelet chef both days (need to start earlier in the morning). Try out the Sky bar, but be aware that it is more like a music bar than a lounge. The most negative about the hotel is the very tacky Casino on ground floor where all the locals are hooked to flashing Jackpot machines.

The room has a stable WiFi, very comfortable beds and a delicate bathroom. Good working conditions, but my aircon did not work - and I missed an iron in the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the mid floors - no noice from the traffic and no noice from the Sky bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anders G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

What a stunning room we had here. Beautiful stylish modern furniture. A Large and spacious Bedroom and huge bathroom with more shower heads than I can recall. I think 5!! Clever bathroom fittings and electronic blinds for bathroom privacy. Separate Bath Tub from shower and Loo. Excellent Hair Dryer.
12 oclock check out. Great.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatloverGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

The staff service is pretty good, and with some luck they will cater to all your request. The guest rooms are very spacious and well designed. It offers nice ocean view. The restaurant caters to individuals with early tours by offering buffet style breakfast before the regular business hours. The hotel has a bar/club, gym and casino. Overall very please with the quality of the guest rooms, restaurant and service. Great option!!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Guisum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nl
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Shameles management attitude to sell room(s?) on the 10th floor direct under the Skybar. Untill 4 a.m. we were kept awake by the noise and the music of the bar on the 11th floor and there after we heard them claening thte palce for another hour. All they offered was a late check out (what we needed to pick up some sleep), but that was all. It was clearly not the first time they had this complained, so to out opinion this is a shamless practice.
For the rest personel and room are fine.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room at hte 10th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lex50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Arenas hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
#4 of 25 in Punta Arenas
709 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cabo de Hornos
Hotel Cabo de Hornos
#5 of 25 in Punta Arenas
796 reviews
0.4 mi away
Diego de Almagro Punta Arenas
Diego de Almagro Punta Arenas
#12 of 25 in Punta Arenas
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Yegua Loca Hotel Boutique
La Yegua Loca Hotel Boutique
#1 of 25 in Punta Arenas
165 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lacolet
Hotel Lacolet
#7 of 25 in Punta Arenas
85 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Finis Terrae
Best Western Hotel Finis Terrae
#11 of 25 in Punta Arenas
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dreams del Estrecho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dreams del Estrecho

Property: Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
Address: O'Higgins 1235, Punta Arenas, Chile
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Punta Arenas
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dreams del Estrecho 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Dreams del Estrecho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing