We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cabo de Hornos

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Cabo de Hornos
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
225 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

Unlike a previous reviewer, I had no particular expectations. I liked the hotel and we certainly enjoyed our free welcome drink and the cameraderie of the bar, which was very comfortable and the bartender more than willing to assist us and talk. My biggest problem is that my prepaid reservations kept disappearing. I was there on two non consecutive nights. The first night I had no reservation. I found the front desk to be exceedingly helpful and they did provide us with a room (a lovely corner room). I checked on the second night's reservation twice and once had a triple reserved (there were only two of us) and otherwise had the reservation confirmed. Nonetheless, on arrival the second time, our reservation had disappeared again. Again the front desk was consumately polite and worked it out, but their record keeping seems to be a bit lax. In spite of those issues, the hotel was comfortable and friendly. Just hang on to proof of your reservation. (Tip: Also, in the elevator, you need to hit the close door button to get the elevator moving after you select a floor. )

Room Tip: The corner rooms are larger than the non corner rooms, but I expect they are more expensive. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    315
    127
    26
    16
See reviews for
125
270
49
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

Surprisingly luxurious hotel in Puenta Arenas squarely on the Square. Very helpful staff for the most part, providing us with a wonderful, corner, high floor room. Spacious bathroom and bedroom, good tv reception, complete with great housekeeping too. Our room had a wonderful view. We happened to be there on New Year's Eve, and they put on a rockin party. Breakfast is ok, not creative but abundant. The location of this hotel sets the stage for exploring this town, there is a good amount to see if you take the time, walks are short, shops interesting, restaurants good. The best thing about this hotel is the manager of the restaurant & bar, Carla...who went WAY beyond her job to provide answer to lots of questions, a recommendation to a masseuse (Cynthia Leguas at phone number 68 484 133--a successful deep tissue massage), tips on dining. Carla is a real asset to this hotel and if she is there when you visit, you will be in great hands.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room on a high floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

We stayed at this hotel on new years day - the hotel was clearly getting back together from the previous night. Poor attitude and service - we had paid quite a lot extra for half board as we had been told the restaurant was one of the best in town and we were concerned that many would be closed on new years day. When we arrived for dinner we were told that the restaurant was full and we could only have a table at 10.30 or 11.00pm - not acceptable when we had a 4.30am start the next day. No apology and refused to refund our half board supplement. Staff were indifferent. When we did get seated drinks took 15 mins to arrive and after 45 mins we hadn't even been offered a bread roll. Food arrived after 50 mins - nice but by then we were too tired and annoyed to enjoy it.

The experience could have been so much better if the staff had been sympathetic and apologetic - they were not interested in us.

Apart from the bad experience with the restaurant we also felt this hotel was not first class standard - room is sparsely furnished and felt neither designer nor homely, just bland. Poor quality bathroom products and no dressing gowns.

Reception bar and restaurant area nicely decorated but with brown tiles on the floor and walls it's noisy when anyone scrapes a chair back.

If you do stay here don't expect friendly service and do ensure if you book half board that you book a table in the restaurant in advance - as the hotel won't have bothered to do it for you.

Room Tip: Ours faced the square and was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gerbilsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
310 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

I had very high expectations for the hotel given the reviews in trip advisor. The time we spent there was average to good but not nearly great. Front desk staff was rarely helpful, even when we spoke in Spanish..they seemed to not want to be bothered. We ate breaksfast at the restaurant and again it was good, not great. Also had dinner one night and though good it was noting special. The wine list is extensive, however sadly many were not available. Lobby, bar and restaurant were nicely furnished but could become more intimate with lower lighting and candles.....seemed a bit under the spot light. For the price expectations were barely met.

Room Tip: Don't get close to the elavators
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamFunIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

Nothing special but perfectly adequate, clean and comfortable, good restaurant, welcome drink and pleasant staff with some English spoken. Not a lot to say really. Only stayed one night so difficult to say more

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ceci1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

The other recent review was spot on about the noisy racing cars driving all night around the square with no mufflers. Management refused to move US to a room not overlooking the square. Walks are very thin so aalso noise from nearby rooms partying all night, staff wouldn't ask them to be quiet. Terrible service and rude staff.

Restaurant overcooked the food, the fish was very dry. The one amazing dish was the spinach side dish.
Avoid this place if you want a good nights sleep with peace and quiet.

The area around the hotel is dead, very run down, most of the businesses are closed, not much nearby.

Room Tip: Do not get a room overlooking the square!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cml94618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesAustralisLtda, eCommerce Manager at Hotel Cabo de Hornos, responded to this review, 27 December 2012
Dear Guest,
The Hotel Cabo de Hornos’ team is geared to meeting and exceeding our guest’s needs thus providing a very pleasant experience, not only at our hotel, but during your Patagonia visit as well. We have always been characterized by the excellent service that we provide at this iconic hotel in Punta Arenas, for its location, property amenities and history associated with the city as well as the development of this destination.
We deeply regret having failed to meet your expectations and not providing the travel experience we are known for.
Regarding the traffic noise at night, this is a problem that is beyond the control of the hotel, however, we can assure you that we have taken all steps within our power with the local authorities for this issue to be corrected as soon as possible.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Insch, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

Agree with all the plus points in previous reviews. It is an excellent, well appointed hotel with a first class menu.

However, if you are a light sleeper and have the misfortune to be in a room overlooking the square, you are in for a very bad experience. Every night, midnight to about 5am, the town is turned into a race track where all the local boy racers rev their unsilenced engines, screech along the streets, and occasionally have loud collisions. You have to hear the noise to believe it. Window open or closed makes no difference. In addition, there are the loud voices of partying, quarreling and drunk young people below your window.

Room Tip: Do not overlook the square!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Arenas hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
#3 of 25 in Punta Arenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
#2 of 25 in Punta Arenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.4 mi away
Diego de Almagro Punta Arenas
Diego de Almagro Punta Arenas
#12 of 25 in Punta Arenas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Finis Terrae
BEST WESTERN Hotel Finis Terrae
#11 of 25 in Punta Arenas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jose Nogueira
Jose Nogueira
#10 of 25 in Punta Arenas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apart Hotel Quillango
Apart Hotel Quillango
#8 of 25 in Punta Arenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cabo de Hornos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cabo de Hornos

Property: Hotel Cabo de Hornos
Address: Plaza Gobernador Benjamin Munoz Gamero 1039, Punta Arenas 6200965, Chile
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Punta Arenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cabo de Hornos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Cabo de Hornos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing