We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair hotel for short trip to punta arenas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Cabo de Hornos
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fair hotel for short trip to punta arenas”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

"twas fairly quiet throughout our stay, due in large part we were told, the chilean presidential elections. Patricia, the concierge at the front desk was superb, attentive, friendly, and very helpful.
They could use more Patricia's. Everything else was average at best.
The hotel is odd. You enter the hotel through doors that can be difficult to keep open with the wind. Punta Arenas can be very very windy, I am not kidding! Then you enter a dark, hotel, the walls, floors, and ceilings are covered with the same dark stone that makes you feel like you are in a stone cave. Thank god, the bedrooms are not. We waited at the front desk expecting to be beckoned, instead we had to approach the desk and essentially announce ourselves. Check in was, however, easy.
The restaurant is entombed in this dark stone and has views of a courtyard but I could not figure out how to get there and at the time we were there, it was too windy & rainy anyway. Punta Arenas is windy, remember that, not just any wind, it can knock you over!
The food was weak. Breakfast was a buffet. The container with the scrambled eggs had perhaps 2 tablespoons left, so we asked the waitress for more. She indicated that there was eggs left and we took her response to mean we should completely clean out the container before she would get more. We respectfully refused. Instead we asked for an omelette from a different waitress, a pleasant student from Colombia, studying in Punta Arenas, and were promptly helped. Dinner was weak. A burger and french fries was the best meal. One day I ordered Beef ribs, well the meal looked horrible, a plate of brown sauce and brown food, i can't remember what it was served with, in the brown dark brown dining room [except for white table cloths], was just no good. i was hungry, everywhere was closed and forced myself to have a small portion and leave most of it on the plate.
The room I thought was good although my companion thought the bed too soft. The TV worked but internet was spotty. In fact we had to go downstairs, to a room with desktops, and a glass window to the street-only thing saving us from the brown wall, floor and ceiling
entombment-there, internet was excellent. I loved the shower, great water pressure.
There is a gym upstairs on the 8th floor but it is small and insufficient.
Location is good it is in the center of town. If we return to Punta Arenas, we would not stay here, but we would love to take Patricia, the concierge with us, she was great.

Room Tip: take the room facing the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pumamd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesAustralisLtda, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cabo de Hornos, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Google Translation
Estimado pasajero, muchas gracias por dejarnos sus comentarios. Sobre ellos hemos reenviado sus felicitaciones a Patricia así como también revisaremos algunas situaciones de Recepción expuestas por usted para ser rectificadas.
En cuanto a nuestro servicio de alimentación, contamos con un restaurant y bar de alto estándar con una calidad y variedad de alternativas conocidas y valoradas por la comunidad local y turistas extranjeros. Lamentamos que su experiencia no haya sido placentera por lo que revisaremos lo sucedido y nos esforzaremos en mejorar lo que corresponda.

Se despide atentamente el equipo de Hoteles Australis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    328
    137
    27
    17
See reviews for
133
284
51
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Central location and a convenient hotel for a 1 night stopover in Punta Arenas. The street noise was loud in the early hours of the morning, so request a high floor if possible. The buffet breakfast was good and dining in the bar or restaurant was pleasant.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher level that helps protect from street noise. Rooms overlooking the water ra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaG1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesAustralisLtda, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cabo de Hornos, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Google Translation
Estimado pasajero, muchas gracias por compartir su estadía con nosotros y haber disfrutado nuestros servicios de gastronomía. Esperamos tenerlo de vuelta en un futuro próximo en la Patagonia.

Se despide atentamente el equipo de Hoteles Australis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

It is a very sad scenario: A (once) beautiful hotel, in an amazing city, being so mis-managed.

Stayed for 2 nights at this hotel with my wife and 2 kids.

The front-desk crew is the WORST. Really.
On my arrival I gently asked front-desk to help me with a car rental.
They tried to tell me that it would be easier if I did it myself.
I insisted, and the lady said she was going to call the rental company and get a quote.

After lunch I received a message from my travel agent that we would be picked up at the hotel for our next tour, so in that case renting a car would be unnecessary.
I kindly walked to the front-desk to let them know I would not need the car, and also to avoid losing their time calling the rental company. The lady rolled her eyes and made a long face.
Seriously? Where do they train these people?

The next day, for my surprise, my son opened our room door without the key, just to let us know that the lock wasn't working.

I went down to the front-desk and asked if that was normal. The guy in charge showed real concern about it, but another front-desk lady started to gently laugh. I asked her if it was a funny situation, and she tried to excuse her, but continued with a grin on her face. Not a sincere smile, or a welcoming smile: a sarcastic grin.

The only good service we got was from the waiters (serving terrible food) and from the room-cleaning lady.

The rooms are spacious and the beds are ok. But they sure needs some TLC.
No minibar.
Small bathroom, and poor amenities.

The public areas are nice.

The in-house dining is terrible. Really terrible food.

It was the second most expensive hotel we stayed in Chile, out of 6 different great hotels.
And it sure ain't worth it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kingflip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesAustralisLtda, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cabo de Hornos, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Google Translation
Hemos leído con atención y asombro su comentario respecto a nuestro hotel y lamentablemente nos vemos en la obligación de estar en desacuerdo con sus palabras. El hecho de calificar nuestro servicio e infraestructura con la mínima nota luego de un percance específico en Recepción nos parece una opinión algo sesgada.
Para nosotros, la excelencia en el servicio y la cordialidad son valores primordiales sobre los cuales trabajamos constantemente para que todos nuestros huéspedes vivan una experiencia inolvidable en la Patagonia. De esta forma, todas las personas de Recepción están disponibles para asistir y ayudar a nuestros huéspedes en lo que requieran. Lamentamos profundamente que no haya sido este su caso y seguiremos trabajando por superarnos y entregar excelentes experiencias tal como a la gran mayoría de nuestros viajeros.

Se despide atentamente el equipo de Hoteles Australis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

This is a modern and comfortable hotel in an excellent location, just off the historic town square. Wi fi was good, and breakfast was a nice buffet. I like to jog, and the hotel is just a few blocks from the waterfront where a promenade stretches a long way. Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GBN31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesAustralisLtda, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cabo de Hornos, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Google Translation
Estimado pasajero, muchas gracias por sus comentarios. Nos alegra mucho saber que su estadía con nosotros fue una excelente experiencia. Los esperamos nuevamente!

Se despide atentamente el equipo de Hoteles Australis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Someone below says the place needs some TLC and I sure agree. On a superficial basis it looks wonderful. The public areas are beautiful.

Likewise the guest room looks OK and it is a nice size but when I turned on the bath water there was very rusty/dirty water for at least 30 seconds. Likewise several of the fixtures were falling apart.

The breakfast buffet was barely passable; even the pastries weren’t very good, for which there is no excuse in South America.

I was in room 706. It looks out to the city square. The downtown area was filled with Christmas shoppers when we were there. It did make for a more authentic feeling than if everyone was a tourist.

There is no A/C but the window did open enough to make a difference.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandiinChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesAustralisLtda, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cabo de Hornos, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Google Translation
Estimado huésped, le agradecemos su tiempo para compartir sus comentarios. Para nosotros todos los comentarios sus muy importantes y nos alientan a continuar mejorando día a día. Esperamos que en su próxima visita pueda comprobar personalmente las muchas mejoras realizadas para brindar una gran experiencia con nosotros.

Se despide atentamente el equipo de Hoteles Australis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed here in 2007 and found the hotel comfortable and the staff friendly ,sadly not the case in 2013 ! We were late arriving because the plane was late and the cases were lost , staff not very friendly except the bar man who was there in 2007 ,who was still very friendly . Room and Bed adequate ,bar snack ample ,but needs some TLC .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesAustralisLtda, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cabo de Hornos, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Google Translation
Estimado huésped, nos es muy grato saber que en su estadía en la Patagonia volvió a hospedarse con nosotros y esperamos desde ya tenerlo de vuelta en un futuro cercano en nuestro maravilloso destino.
Agradecemos sus comentarios y seguiremos trabajando en el cuidado y atención mencionado, valores primordiales para nuestro servicio entregado.

Se despide atentamente el equipo de Hoteles Australis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This was the starting point of a 2 week hiking trip in Patagonia. This may be the top hotel in Punta Arenas. The rooms were very nice, but we didn't have any real time to check out the helpfulness of the staff; on check-in, they were efficient. The room rate is a little high, but this is a very seasonal location.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankR_Austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Arenas hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
#2 of 25 in Punta Arenas
777 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
#3 of 25 in Punta Arenas
707 reviews
0.4 mi away
Diego de Almagro Punta Arenas
Diego de Almagro Punta Arenas
#12 of 25 in Punta Arenas
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Finis Terrae
Best Western Hotel Finis Terrae
#11 of 25 in Punta Arenas
255 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lacolet
Hotel Lacolet
#8 of 25 in Punta Arenas
85 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Yegua Loca Hotel Boutique
La Yegua Loca Hotel Boutique
#4 of 25 in Punta Arenas
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cabo de Hornos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cabo de Hornos

Property: Hotel Cabo de Hornos
Address: Plaza Gobernador Benjamin Munoz Gamero 1039, Punta Arenas 6200965, Chile
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Punta Arenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cabo de Hornos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Cabo de Hornos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing