We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nicely remodeled hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Cabo de Hornos
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Punta Arenas
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nicely remodeled hotel”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I have been coming to Punta Arenas for over 9 years now and this is the first time I have stayed here. It was remodeled a few years ago and was well done. The front desk is attentive. The rooms are nice with fairly new, firm beds. It is located at the center of town right on the plaza de armas. I was facing away from the center of town so it was quiet also. The service in the bar was fairly slow, even for Punta Arenas standards. The wifi was stronger than a few other hotels I have stayed at.

Room Tip: I was in an odd numbered room and it faced away from the city center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RalphiePanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesAustralisLtda, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cabo de Hornos, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear guest:

We really appreciate your comments. We make our best effort to turn your stay in a incredible stay.

Thanks again.

The Hoteles Australis Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    326
    135
    27
    16
See reviews for
131
280
50
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I stayed in this hotel after flying back from Antarctica, and before flying onto Lima.

Really had less than 12 hours there, but my room was comfy and a good size, the bed was great, the shower very hot and welcome after 10 days on a boat.

The location looked like a great spot if you were staying longer in town, but sadly I headed off at 5.30 am the next day!

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Mich C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesAustralisLtda, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cabo de Hornos, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear guest:

Thank you very much for your comments. We're working hard to make every passenger stay an incredible experience.

The Hoteles Australis Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I and my wife stayed in this hotel as a part of a tour group for one night in Punta Arenas while visiting Southern Patagonia . The hotel is very centrally located just off the main historic plaza. Our room at the 6th floor had magnificent views of the Strait of Magellan. The room had very comfortable beds, nice furniture with contemporary décor, ample lighting and clean bathroom. The breakfast was superb with variety of quality spreads and prompt and attentive service.

Room Tip: I would recommend the higher floor romms facing teh Strait of Magellan
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharu123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Located just on the main square of Punta arenas, this is a modernly decorated hotel - the inside is all dark and moody with extensive stone walls and flooring. It resembles a bit of a dungeon when you first enter. However, my room overlooked the square, was bright and was appointed, spacious though the bathroom was a bit cramped. Breakfast buffet was good with a small hot selection and all the usual other trimmings (pastries, bread, yoghurt, fruit, cold meats, cheese)

I had dinner in the restaurant one night and was impressed. Good service and reasonable food. The prices weren't that bad either.

I was let down my the front desk staff - there's no concierge and I wanted some information about what to do in Punta Arenas as I had a free day (for me, it was a stop off on the way home from hiking in patagonia). I read on tripadvisor about hiking in Magellan Nature Reserve. The lady at the front desk didn't have much idea and just suggested I get a taxi there - when questioned about how I get back, she shrugged her shoulders. I asked about cell phone reception up there to call a taxi back and she said she didn't know. Considering that this trip is highly recommended on tripadvisor and on the tourist brochures, I would have thought the front desk should know a little more. Similarly, when I asked about other things to do, the only suggestion she had was to visit the penguins (I've spent 3 weeks in Antarctica so more penguins were not high on my list)

It is not as if the check-in desk was busy and there was a line of people waiting for check-in- I was the only one there. For a upmarket hotel, one usually expects a concierge, or at least staff who know and can advise tourists about the major tourist attractions.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank ynperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trieste
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel has a nice location just on the main square. Our room had a view on a side of the square and on the sea, it was nice, clean and comfortable.
The staff was very very kind in every moment, they also arranged a very early breakfast for us at 4.15 am... (thanks LAN for early departures).

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Masins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesAustralisLtda, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cabo de Hornos, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear guest:

Thank you very much. We appreciate every single comment. They are the best way to hear some feedback about our hotel and services.

Regards,

The Hoteles Australis Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The hotel is centrally located in the down town across from a historic square. The lobby and dining areas are attractive and the breakfast superb. The rooms are large and clean with first rate bedding. The rooms either look over the beautiful Strait of Magellan or the attractive tree lined square. Hotel is walking distance to restaurants and a grocery.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbquayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesAustralisLtda, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cabo de Hornos, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Google Translation
Estimado pasajero:

Le escribimos para agradecer el que haya escrito comentarios acerca de nuestro hotel. Hacemos lo mejor que podemos para tener un buen servicio, confortables habitaciones y, en resumen, un buen hotel. Nos gusta saber que eso lo perciben nuestros huéspedes.
Muchas gracias nuevamente y esperamos verlo cuando regrese a la Patagonia.

El equipo de Hoteles Australis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vannes
Level Contributor
420 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 438 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Last night before back to Santiago.
The hotel is on the central plaza and so all is feasible walking.
We had a room on the topfloor so, nice view on Magellan's detroit.
It's quiet, large and clean.
Nice bathroom.
Friedndly staff, excellent buffet's breakfast.

Room Tip: top floor and view on the Magellan's detroit far from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monpetit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesAustralisLtda, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cabo de Hornos, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Google Translation
Estimado huésped:

Agradecemos profundamente el haberse tomado un tiempo para escribir comentarios acerca de su estadía. Estos nos ayudan a mejorar nuestro servicio cada día.
Esperamos verlos próximamente por la Patagonia. Estaremos gustosos de recibirlos nuevamente.

El equipo de Hoteles Australis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Arenas hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
#3 of 25 in Punta Arenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
#2 of 25 in Punta Arenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.4 mi away
Diego de Almagro Punta Arenas
Diego de Almagro Punta Arenas
#12 of 25 in Punta Arenas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Finis Terrae
Best Western Hotel Finis Terrae
#10 of 25 in Punta Arenas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Yegua Loca Hotel Boutique
La Yegua Loca Hotel Boutique
#4 of 25 in Punta Arenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jose Nogueira
Jose Nogueira
#11 of 25 in Punta Arenas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cabo de Hornos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cabo de Hornos

Property: Hotel Cabo de Hornos
Address: Plaza Gobernador Benjamin Munoz Gamero 1039, Punta Arenas 6200965, Chile
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Punta Arenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cabo de Hornos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cabo de Hornos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing