We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair”
Review of Tierra Del Fuego

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tierra Del Fuego
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel does the job but will not be impressing anybody. It is located in a good area and provides you with a restaurant and bar service.

The cleaning is good, the bed is nice but unfortunately is full of little details such as the curtains not closing, the hair drier being broken, etc.

The staff is helpful although they miss details (ex. Order of early breakfast).

In the end I would suggest it if you can get a deal on the price since full price is not justified.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ignacio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 20 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2013

Cosy Hotel and very professional staff. They really helped us make the most of our short visit in Punta Arenas. Rooms very clean and spacious. Particularly, staff at reception seem to enjoy talking to customers.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claude020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Spent four nights here and enjoyed our spacious room that had three windows looking directly onto the main shopping street. Quiet and lovely and warm sitting by the window, watching the world go by. Patricio on reception during the day spoke excellent English, always had time for a chat and willing to help with any requests such as arranging transport for us and our boxed bikes to the airport at 4.00am. Night porter even got us coffee at 3.30am as we waited for our airport transport. Great location in the centre of town and breakfast was also very good.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

My party and I arrived in Punta Arenas after traveling 24 hours from Washington, D.C. to find that the hotel I booked in August had been closed for 3 months. Pacarama (STAY AWAY!!), the booking agent, took my deposit and never told me about the closing. I am trying to get a refund ... but apparently it will take some doing.

Stranded without a hotel, I found Hotel Tierra del Fuego. We were greeted warmly and accommodated right away. The rooms are not the most updated, but service made up for what the rooms lacked. Our rental vehicle had been misrepresented -- we were told that all documents were in place to travel to Argentina. Not so. Several different Hertz representatives lied to us about the documents, and we faced having to forfeit half of our trip. The hotel manager knew the car rental business, and tried to resolve the problem. After spending more than half a day trying to get the correct documents, listening to excuse after bull** excuse, we finally went to another car company, thanks to a contact from the hotel. The whole time, the hotel staff was concerned and did everything they could to help.

Good hotel location. Everything was walkable. Staff were very good at providing driving directions for us to see a nearby national park where there were penguins. Since we were here before official penguin boat trip season, we had to do it on our own.

Weighing service against rooms, I give this hotel four stars for hospitality.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Athena222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We stayed for one week in a long trip through Patagonia. This Hotel is very well located, in the center of the city, being the perfect base to explore Punta Arenas. It is at walking distance of many important points, and you can book trips to penguin colonies, zodiac boat trips, and walk to very nice restaurants and other city points.
This hotel has a history, and was used by Nasa personnel during some Nasa atmospheric scientific mission to Antarctica.
The Hotel is small, but has spacious and comfortable rooms. We got a corner room, with a small kitchen, an office space, and 2 very good beds. They have blackout curtains, because the sun can be up after 10pm in the summer. The restaurant is excellent, and you will even find a decent crème brulée.
We took a flight to Puerto Williams at the limits of the inhabited world. There is a small local aviation company, DAP, with an office close to the hotel, which operates flights to Antarctica and Puerto Williams.

We loved it and will be back.

Room Tip: Get a room that has a corner view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonny_Doin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2010

The rooms are pleasant and clean if a little drab. The restaurant was empty but ok. The location is quite good being right in the centre of Punta Arenas but then again there is no real advantage of being in the centre as the town has few attractions. Overall a reasonable choice if you have to stay in Punta Arenas but not exceptional.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Location
Thank Stratt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2010

We stayed for a week because of the earthquake in central Chile and the limited air service from Punta Arenas thereafter. The hotel is built like a castle with thick walls. Hence it was really quiet despite the fact tat we were in the front of the hotel on one of the main shopping streets. The staff was quite friendly and helpful during a difficult time after the major earthquake. Its central location was very good and it was indeed just down the street from a wonderful chocolate shop!! The only negative was the smal adjacent parking lot which would be difficult to park a large vehicle in. Rooms were impeccably clean and the included brealfast was wonderful.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank exquebecois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Arenas hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
#3 of 26 in Punta Arenas
715 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
#2 of 26 in Punta Arenas
854 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cabo de Hornos
Hotel Cabo de Hornos
#5 of 26 in Punta Arenas
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Finis Terrae
Best Western Hotel Finis Terrae
#11 of 26 in Punta Arenas
283 reviews
0.5 mi away
Diego de Almagro Punta Arenas
Diego de Almagro Punta Arenas
#12 of 26 in Punta Arenas
445 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Yegua Loca Hotel Boutique
La Yegua Loca Hotel Boutique
#1 of 26 in Punta Arenas
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierra Del Fuego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Del Fuego

Address: Avenida Colon 716, Punta Arenas -, Chile
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Punta Arenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Price Range: £83 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tierra Del Fuego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tierra Del Fuego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing