We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly good and characterful hotel”
Review of Jose Nogueira

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jose Nogueira
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Our room was small but we only stayed one night. The hotel is centrally located and has quite a bit of character.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimSY2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 58 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2011

nice, old style hotel at the main place of Punta Arenas. Big rooms, hot water, free WiFi, nice restaurant/breakfast room in wintergarden. Food and drinks at bar okay but nothing special. Reception desk not very competent. We were not able to pay our stay with credit card because they had not phone line and they were not willing accept it off-line.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seetal69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

We weren't expecting it but this is a really lovely hotel. Our room was great - although we hadn't booked anything special, we were given a large comfortable suite with a huge jacuzzi. The staff were helpful even though their English wasn't much better than my Spanish. The location is perfect just metres from the main plaza.

The whole ambiance is surprisingly stylish and comfortable and it has bags of character being a former palace (or perhaps grand residence). We were able to park in the small car park behind the hotel which was handy in the centre of town.

There is an excellent pub, la Taberna, in the basement (entrance from the plaza) which is a good place to meet fellow travellers and locals. They also serve reasonable bar snacks. Not sure if it is owned by the hotel.

Our only disappointment was that the hotel was very quiet - we wanted to eat in the elegant restaurant which is in the atrium but it was empty both nights we were there.

If you are in Punta Arenas, I would have no hesitation in recommending the Jose Nogueira.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spineynorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2010

Stayed here for 1 night but spent 2 whole days in town. Our room was not ready upon arrival, which was ok, as we were there before check in. I can understand Spanish however, the front desk was very hard to understand and they really did not know English at all. Tried to get directions to an Internet Cafe, as the business center in hotel was not functional (think it was being used for storage). Bellman pointed down the street and said to turn. We did that and walked in a huge circle not finding the internet cafe. Finally we decided to walk straight down the street and we found one. When we returned to hotel, bellman showed us to our room and when we walked in the shower curtain with rod and all was laying on one of the beds, he showed us the room and somehow completely missed this. He went down to get our bags, came back and we were laughing and then he saw it. He left and then the manager called and said he was sorry and moved us next door. Room was very nice and completely adequate for us. Next morning had breakfast early before Penguin trip. Restaurant was supposed to be open and really was not. They sort of tried to hurry and get things ready for us and another couple but, they didn't seem to get that we had to get out of there to make our trip.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2010

Punta Arenas is a fascinating town with a lot of history and relatively free of the tourist bustle found in other major Patagonian centres. This hotel is perfectly placed on the main square, which is surrounded by 19th century mansions built by sheep farming barons. The Nogueira is in one of these mansions and would look more at home in the centre of London or Paris than Patagonia.

Check-in was surprisingly underwhelming for such a grand hotel, consisting of a plain-looking desk in a dark corner of the downstairs lobby area. The hotel had managed to mess up our reservation so by way of apology we were first of all offered a free pisco sour (yum) and then given the best room in the house, the regal looking suite which features in the header photo in this Trip Advisor section. Elsewhere this room would be hundreds of Euros per night, in Punta Arenas its a fraction of that price. Being at the back of the hotel we had no issues with noise. The location is certainly handy, no more than 10 minutes walk from any of the main sights (the cemetery and Museo Regional Salesiano) are about 25 minutes walk, less than 1 minute walk to the central post office and 5 minutes walk to the arrival/departure point for buses to Ushuaia and Puerto Natales.

The restaurant is located in the conservatory, it was block-booked by a private party on the first night, but open as usual on the second night. I found the food and service to be pretty much in keeping with a four-star hotel in Patagonia, their pisco sours are delicious. Breakfast buffet was also more than OK, with a heavy leaning towards cakes and pastries.

Ask politely and the staff will open the side door to let you into the Sara Braun palace next door to take a few quick photos.

The hotel recommended we eat in a restaurant called Puerto Viejo on O'Higgins, down by the port, this was a really good and quite stylish fish/meat grill, in an area where all the high quality restaurants are located. Worth a try as an alternative to the hotel restaurant, which seems to be highly rated locally too.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Casualist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2010

It's hard to put my finger on it but the hotel does not have alot of atmosphere and although professionally run, it was somewhat unfriendly. The hotel was warm and clean but the rooms are a bit small. Also the restaurant staff became a bit stressed when the room was busy at breakfast time.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bezzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2009

I arranged this hotel direct via emails for our two night stay in early March 2009. They had a taxi waiting for us at the airport. This hotel right in the middle of Punta Arenas is perfectly located to take in the town. Just steps away from the town square.
Desk personnel were not very helpful. And I don’t believe this was due to language problems. (This was the only hotel we stayed in during our three week trip to South America, where my limited Spanish was inadequate.) On departure day, they sent some of our luggage off with another group to the airport. Fortunately we caught it in time, and a call to the taxi driver resulted in a timely return of the piece of luggage. They just seemed lethargic and uncaring.
The breakfast was excellent served in a cozy atrium dining room. Lots of conversation with different people, in this case some scientists ready to sail on an expedition studying global warming.
The computer room was well used and the computers seemed somewhat reliable.
The room itself was very European in feel. Comfortable bed and a large modern bathroom with all the accoutrements. Very pleasant. Street noise was a bit of a problem due to some city workers that worked on the street til midnight, after that it was ok. But since we were dining until about then, no problem.
Downtown Punta Arenas is very small, so easy to walk to restaurants and to the port. We also got a walking guide as there are several notable buildings around the square area. In the basement of the hotel, by entry around the corner, is a wonderful bar with excellent food.
I would stay here again if ever in Punta Arenas, though I think of this hotel as unremarkable but totally adequate.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CaliforniaBillJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Arenas hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
#2 of 26 in Punta Arenas
848 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
#3 of 26 in Punta Arenas
714 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cabo de Hornos
Hotel Cabo de Hornos
#5 of 26 in Punta Arenas
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Yegua Loca Hotel Boutique
La Yegua Loca Hotel Boutique
#1 of 26 in Punta Arenas
175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Finis Terrae
Best Western Hotel Finis Terrae
#11 of 26 in Punta Arenas
282 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lacolet
Hotel Lacolet
#8 of 26 in Punta Arenas
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jose Nogueira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jose Nogueira

Address: Bories Street 967, Punta Arenas, Chile
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Punta Arenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Price Range: £117 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jose Nogueira 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in front of the main square, Hotel Jose Nogueira is the first and only boutique hotel in Punta Arenas, main entrance city to the world known Torres del Paine National Park and the closest city to the Chilean Antarctic Peninsula. Originally the building hosted the home of Mr. Jose Nogueira and his wife, Sara Braun. He gathered a great fortune during the second half of the XIX century. In 1890, he ordered the construction of a splendid mansion in the middle of the center of the city, which, with the passing of time, transformed into one of the symbols of Punta Arenas. The building was declared National Monument is 1982 and 10 years later, it became a small and exclusive hotel. Hotel Jose Nogueira has 22 rooms (17 standard and 5 suites). Our guests are welcome to use the on-site business centre or have a drink at the Shackleton Bar, that owns his name to the honorable voyage realized in the year 1916 by the expeditionary Sir Ernest Shackleton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Jose Nogueira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jose Nogueira Hotel Punta Arenas
Jose Nogueira Punta Arenas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing