We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional service from reception”
Review of Jose Nogueira

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jose Nogueira
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Exceptional service from reception”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

The reception manager went out of his way to track down our transfer provider for the next section of our trip. Our phone numbers out of date, he made 6 calls finally tracking them down. The room was small but fine for our one night stay. Try a snack in the Shackleton bar & visit the museum attached. In the centre of town perfect for a stroll.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gungadin3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    82
    33
    11
    4
See reviews for
33
82
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2012

we spent a couple of nights for business and vacations. Very good location, just on main square and in front of indian typical statue. Walking distance to Estrecho de Magallanes.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enzo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penarth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Great location right in the middle of town. Staff can be very helpful as we found with reception/bar but breakfast lacked a little TLC with basics proving difficult.
We had a suite which was well appointed and had character. This was also true of the hotel which has a very atmospheric decor with plenty of historic memorabilia/pictures.
We only stayed for one night but we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimtheVale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Our room was small but we only stayed one night. The hotel is centrally located and has quite a bit of character.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimSY2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2011

nice, old style hotel at the main place of Punta Arenas. Big rooms, hot water, free WiFi, nice restaurant/breakfast room in wintergarden. Food and drinks at bar okay but nothing special. Reception desk not very competent. We were not able to pay our stay with credit card because they had not phone line and they were not willing accept it off-line.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seetal69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
218 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

We weren't expecting it but this is a really lovely hotel. Our room was great - although we hadn't booked anything special, we were given a large comfortable suite with a huge jacuzzi. The staff were helpful even though their English wasn't much better than my Spanish. The location is perfect just metres from the main plaza.

The whole ambiance is surprisingly stylish and comfortable and it has bags of character being a former palace (or perhaps grand residence). We were able to park in the small car park behind the hotel which was handy in the centre of town.

There is an excellent pub, la Taberna, in the basement (entrance from the plaza) which is a good place to meet fellow travellers and locals. They also serve reasonable bar snacks. Not sure if it is owned by the hotel.

Our only disappointment was that the hotel was very quiet - we wanted to eat in the elegant restaurant which is in the atrium but it was empty both nights we were there.

If you are in Punta Arenas, I would have no hesitation in recommending the Jose Nogueira.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spineynorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol Stream, IL
Level Contributor
72 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2010

Stayed here for 1 night but spent 2 whole days in town. Our room was not ready upon arrival, which was ok, as we were there before check in. I can understand Spanish however, the front desk was very hard to understand and they really did not know English at all. Tried to get directions to an Internet Cafe, as the business center in hotel was not functional (think it was being used for storage). Bellman pointed down the street and said to turn. We did that and walked in a huge circle not finding the internet cafe. Finally we decided to walk straight down the street and we found one. When we returned to hotel, bellman showed us to our room and when we walked in the shower curtain with rod and all was laying on one of the beds, he showed us the room and somehow completely missed this. He went down to get our bags, came back and we were laughing and then he saw it. He left and then the manager called and said he was sorry and moved us next door. Room was very nice and completely adequate for us. Next morning had breakfast early before Penguin trip. Restaurant was supposed to be open and really was not. They sort of tried to hurry and get things ready for us and another couple but, they didn't seem to get that we had to get out of there to make our trip.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Arenas hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
#3 of 25 in Punta Arenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
#2 of 25 in Punta Arenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cabo de Hornos
Hotel Cabo de Hornos
#5 of 25 in Punta Arenas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Diego de Almagro Punta Arenas
Diego de Almagro Punta Arenas
#12 of 25 in Punta Arenas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Yegua Loca Hotel Boutique
La Yegua Loca Hotel Boutique
#4 of 25 in Punta Arenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Finis Terrae
Best Western Hotel Finis Terrae
#10 of 25 in Punta Arenas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jose Nogueira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jose Nogueira

Property: Jose Nogueira
Address: Bories Street 967, Punta Arenas, Chile
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Punta Arenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jose Nogueira 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in front of the main square, Hotel Jose Nogueira is the first and only boutique hotel in Punta Arenas, main entrance city to the world known Torres del Paine National Park and the closest city to the Chilean Antarctic Peninsula. Originally the building hosted the home of Mr. Jose Nogueira and his wife, Sara Braun. He gathered a great fortune during the second half of the XIX century. In 1890, he ordered the construction of a splendid mansion in the middle of the center of the city, which, with the passing of time, transformed into one of the symbols of Punta Arenas. The building was declared National Monument is 1982 and 10 years later, it became a small and exclusive hotel. Hotel Jose Nogueira has 22 rooms (17 standard and 5 suites). Our guests are welcome to use the on-site business centre or have a drink at the Shackleton Bar, that owns his name to the honorable voyage realized in the year 1916 by the expeditionary Sir Ernest Shackleton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jose Nogueira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jose Nogueira Hotel Punta Arenas
Jose Nogueira Punta Arenas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing