We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good transition or quality destination” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jose Nogueira

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jose Nogueira
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Certificate of Excellence
Stockbridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A good transition or quality destination”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We arrived from Patagonia Nat'l Park after a long bus ride across flat dry plains of this region. The hotel was a delightful respite of European aesthetic; an historic property once owned by Sr. Nogueira from the days before the Panama Canal when Punta Arenas was the primary international shipping port between the east and west. The elegant mansion is right on the square where there was a festival going on while we were there. We walked all over amidst busy, active local scene. We found every type of restaurant and a large super market!
Our room was elegant with tall windows that let in the steady breeze; the staff most helpful. Our laundry from days of trekking was nicely done, back in 24 hours. Many guests were en route to or from Antarctica - all nationalities. Breakfast is a feast of sweets and muffins and fruit - which may or may not be your style, so ask for anything you'd like from the kitchen.

Room Tip: Tours by boat to see penguin tours do not run on Mondays. We were glad we didn't have a reservat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewViewTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    78
    32
    8
    3
See reviews for
31
78
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

A fine mansion of late 19 century millionaire farmers and traders. Marble, crystal etc, all apparently from Paris 1àà years ago. We had three rooms; a superb double with large sitting area; a very small double with no room to unpack; a maid's room in the attic ! SO, CHOOSE your room. Breakfast very ordinary. Handsome bar, but hidden and empty, spoiled by vast television.Excellent location in centre.

Room Tip: Visit your roombefore accepting it. Huge variation in rooms, from palatial to paltry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Verdelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We are disposed to like anything even loosely connected with the heroic Sir Ernest Shackleton. Here he sought financial backing from Sarah Braun in what was then her elegant early 20th century mansion, now mostly the Hotel José Nogueira. Shackleton needed money to rescue the stranded crew of his expedition ship the Endurance which had been crushed by Antarctic ice in 1915. Then the villa was located in the former English settlement of Sandy Point, now Punta Arenas. Now, as then, it is well located in the center of town off one corner of the Plaza de Armas. Suffer the buffet breakfast (borders on vile) to enjoy the handsome glassed-in loggia which is now the hotel’s dining room.
-
Note: A part of the original villa is now a museum worth visiting. Enter around corner from hotel entrance, across from Plaza. Also, don’t miss the photo portrait of Sir Shackleton in the hotel’s Shackleton Bar along with some excellent watercolor scenes of Shackleton’s voyage.

Room Tip: Room #310, at back of hotel, is architecturally distinguished, comfortable and was silent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaPeachMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Punta Arenas is more of a stop over point for travellers going north or south but is a historically interesting little city in its own right. This hotel is a huge part of that. It is located on the main square with Magellan's statue and is one of the oldest and most substantial former homes in the city. The bar attached is named for the British explorer Shackleton who launched a series of eventually successful rescue attempts from here for his heroic Antarctic expedition. The hotel itself is good quality but basic with nice rooms and reasonable service. Breakfast was disappointing with no offer of cooked eggs and a small selection of hams and yoghurt. Wifi worked fine through most of the hotel. But for sure the most interesting hotel in town.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Nice building with great variety in size and standard of rooms. Our first room was small but clean, well appointed and comfortable. Second room (same price) was spacious and very large with front street views. Unfortunately the local car geeks and motor cycle club use outside as a drag strip at night. Obviously police don't work nights.

Nice old style Shackleton bar with good historic links.

Breakfast poor with limited buffet. Didn't have dinner as hotel had booked out entire dining room to passing cruise boat. VERY UNPROFESSIONAL.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philekelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Noisy, Noisy, Noisy! If you love tv, this is your place. Lots of channel choice, however even if you turn your tv off, you can still hear all the other tv's through the walls. Bed & pillows are below average. Breakfast is strictly average, all cold items. No gym facilities, no additional services, but historically interesting.
Plumbing seemed to be backed up & quite the issue for several rooms including my business associate, who had the plumber in his room for 3/4's of a day. No discounts, no apologies. There are better hotels in the area to stay.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Four Lone Stars B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

We spent one night here. Happily, there was a problem with the original room we were assigned, which was small. We were upgraded to a lovely suite. The hotel is on the main plaza and just blocks from the wharf area, where some of the better restaurants are located. It is in an historic building and is well decorated with period furniture. Breakfast was acceptable. The receptionists were quite helpful, particularly in finding a place that would do our laundry. (The laundry, however, gouged us.)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Old_guy_and_wife_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Arenas hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
#3 of 25 in Punta Arenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
#2 of 25 in Punta Arenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cabo de Hornos
Hotel Cabo de Hornos
#4 of 25 in Punta Arenas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Diego de Almagro Punta Arenas
Diego de Almagro Punta Arenas
#12 of 25 in Punta Arenas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Finis Terrae
BEST WESTERN Hotel Finis Terrae
#11 of 25 in Punta Arenas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Yegua Loca Hotel Boutique
La Yegua Loca Hotel Boutique
#5 of 25 in Punta Arenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jose Nogueira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jose Nogueira

Property: Jose Nogueira
Address: Bories Street 967, Punta Arenas, Chile
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Punta Arenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jose Nogueira 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in front of the main square, Hotel Jose Nogueira is the first and only boutique hotel in Punta Arenas, main entrance city to the world known Torres del Paine National Park and the closest city to the Chilean Antarctic Peninsula. Originally the building hosted the home of Mr. Jose Nogueira and his wife, Sara Braun. He gathered a great fortune during the second half of the XIX century. In 1890, he ordered the construction of a splendid mansion in the middle of the center of the city, which, with the passing of time, transformed into one of the symbols of Punta Arenas. The building was declared National Monument is 1982 and 10 years later, it became a small and exclusive hotel. Hotel Jose Nogueira has 22 rooms (17 standard and 5 suites). Our guests are welcome to use the on-site business centre or have a drink at the Shackleton Bar, that owns his name to the honorable voyage realized in the year 1916 by the expeditionary Sir Ernest Shackleton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Jose Nogueira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jose Nogueira Hotel Punta Arenas
Jose Nogueira Punta Arenas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing