We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly but in need of refurb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Los Navegantes
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Friendly but in need of refurb”
Reviewed 22 May 2011

This hotel is def in need pf an upgrade but our room was spacious by South American standards, breakfast was great and the hotel ran a free shuttle to the hotel. Price was reasonable and free wifi made up for the somewhat tired decor. Not far from the bus station which was ideal for us after a long trip.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevd112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    23
    43
    13
    15
See reviews for
27
38
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2010

Although we specifically reserved a non-smoking room well in advance, we were told at check-in that a large group was being housed on the non-smoking floor and we would have smoking rooms. We were adament that we had reserved non-smoking due to allergies and asthma. I don't know if the room that we ended up with (#209) was considered smoking or non-smoking; however, the room was unfortunately on the second floor directly above the smoke-filled bar which was almost the same as sleeping IN the smoke-filled bar. Therefore, we ended up with respiratory problems for several days after staying at Hotel Los Navegantes. Additionally, my husband woke up in the middle of the night to a roach-like bug crawling across his stomach in the bed under the covers. Under no circumstances would we stay at Hotel Los Navegantes again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Undrwtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Punta Arenas hotels

Santiago, Chile
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2008

I spent one night in this hotel, it's old fashioned and certainly needs some maintenance, but the food is awsome.
I'd recommend it for a short stay.

  • Liked — The Food
  • Disliked — The facilities
  • Stayed February 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank vbarrazal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2008

This hotel has definitely seen better days. I stayed in room 210, at the rear of the property, for three nights. (Unfortunately it was booked by my client.) It was configured with 2 sinlgle beds and a small bathroom with a shower over the bath. The buffet breakfast was limited in choice and late and the coffee terrible. The only good things that I can really say about the hotel are that it is very centrally located and the room was very quiet- even though you could see into the hall through the gap between the door and the jamb with the door closed. I paid about 65USD per night and feel that this was poor value. There are much better options close by- Punta Arenas buisiness center is quite small so most of the hotels are within a few blocks of each other.

  • Liked — The room was quiet.
  • Disliked — It was tired and dated.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TaldoraTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2008

We stayed here for 2 x 1 night (a 7 hr stay and 6hr stay) either side of transfers to Explora with difficult flight times.

A complete rip off for £75 per night. The hotel has seen better days and should be avoided if possible. Its tired and dirty.

  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Funky_travel_junky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2007

A time warp. 1970's hotel. Free broadband though downstairs. Friendly staff. Window had no view. Spotted far superior modern hotel on the main square. Acceptable for 1 night only, but certainly not for any longer.

An after thought - I walked straight past entrance on arrival in PA as it just didnt look like a hotel

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Groncho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buntingford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2007

We stayed 2 nights (one night either side of a visit to Torres del Paine) and paid a little extra for one of their larger rooms - room 309 in both cases.
Whilst the bedroom was slightly shabby it was clean and had the benefit of large windows which allowed the sun to come through which brightened everything up. Small bathroom but the bed was comfortable.
Breakfast was probably the least palatable we had on our entire trip - a basic selection of tired offerings.
Generally the Hotel has a faded/dated atmosphere and needs some investment to improve its quality.
However, at an internet rate of $125 we felt the hotel was just about adequate for our requirements.

  • Liked — Comfortable bed and sunshine in room
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Arenas hotels
0.1 mi away
Chalet Chapital Hotel
Chalet Chapital Hotel
#15 of 25 in Punta Arenas
127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Isla Rey Jorge
Hotel Isla Rey Jorge
#13 of 25 in Punta Arenas
155 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lacolet
Hotel Lacolet
#7 of 25 in Punta Arenas
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#20 of 25 in Punta Arenas
177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
#4 of 25 in Punta Arenas
709 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Finis Terrae
Best Western Hotel Finis Terrae
#11 of 25 in Punta Arenas
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Navegantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Navegantes

Property: Hotel Los Navegantes
Address: Jose Menendez 647, Punta Arenas 1207, Chile
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Punta Arenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Los Navegantes 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel located in the centre of Punta Arenas. The main city of Patagonia, near to all main services. The Hotel has 50 climatized, CATV, Telephone, WI-FI. Warmnes and more than 20 years working with Patagonia visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Los Navegantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Navegantes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing