We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent 2-star hotel for a stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Carpa Manzano
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Brooklyn, New York, United States
2 reviews
“Decent 2-star hotel for a stopover”
Reviewed 14 January 2013

For a solo or budget or adventure traveler, it's not a bad place to spend a night en route to somewhere else (e.g., Torres del Paine park). HCM offers spare rooms that are worn but clean; strong internet connection; helpful front desk staff; and store-bought but edible breakfast. The immediate vicinty is indistinct, but it is a fairly short walk to the plaza.

It's far from swank or romantic -- I would not have wanted to stay here with my wife or kids -- but if all you're after is a decent 2-star hotel, it's reasonable value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    75
    51
    23
    10
See reviews for
37
72
19
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

Rooms need a little more attention to maintenance as mine had the bathroom door scrapping the floor to close. The room was spacious though. Breakfast was nothing, no selection or quality. But the desk people were some of the best i have had. Extremely friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STGO_Gringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

This hotel is clean and tidy. Room was very small but functional. Breakfast had a good selection.
We walked everywhere from the hotel. Run mostly by Uni Students, some speaking very little English. Still, OK for what we paid.
No other meals available, needs coffee and tea making facility for guests, this is lacking in Chile.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pequannock, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

I had a wonderful time at Carpa Manzano! The hotel is few blocks from the center of the town. Rooms are spotless and very clean and everyone from the front desk all the way up to General Manager is dedicated to customer service. Complimentary breakfast and wi-fi was fantastic. When you are in the Punta Arenas and looking for the great small hotel this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank US100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harbin, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Very comfortable place,clean with warm-hearted service.Just feel like home.Quite good feeling to live here.The people here smile sweetly and are ready to help the customers all the time.When you have problems,they will help you without hesitation.Punta Arenas is a beautiful city and worthwhile to come.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hong W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We spent two nights in Punta Arenas and were very happy with our choice of hotel. The rooms were very comfortable, roomy and clean. Importantly for this part of the world, they were warm and cosy and there were very good hot showers. The reception was friendly and helpful, with good restaurant tips and booking assistance. It was a short walk to the centre of town and we also found a great restaurant a few blocks away with a lovely ambience and interesting organic, local organic produce with a bit of a Patagonian-French fusion. Doubt we would have found this place staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loui-fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 453 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Located near the Cementerio Municipal (2 blocks) and 5-6 blocks from the center of town, this hotel is a nice enough place to stay for a night, but not much beyond that. I had a standard room on the first floor, which was clean and nicely decorated, but very small and cramped. There was very little room for me to put my bags or get around the bed, which dominated the room. Bed was clean and comfortable. Room had a small TV with cable channels. Bathroom was small, with some mildew in the shower. The hotel is quiet with very little street noise, but foot traffic in the uncarpeted hallway tends to echo. Onsite PC/internet seemed to work only intermittently. Friendly and helpful reception staff. They have gated parking for two cars, otherwise only street parking out front. Breakfast was a meager offering of cereal, toast, ham, cheese, pastries, tea/coffee and some kind of orange drink. Not very hearty or satisfying. Overall, comfortable enough place, but breakfast could use some work.

Room Tip: Consider a room on the second floor, which should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EisBaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Arenas hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Lacolet
Hotel Lacolet
#8 of 25 in Punta Arenas
85 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Finis Terrae
Best Western Hotel Finis Terrae
#11 of 25 in Punta Arenas
255 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Isla Rey Jorge
Hotel Isla Rey Jorge
#13 of 25 in Punta Arenas
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Mercurio
Hotel Restaurant Mercurio
#25 of 25 in Punta Arenas
28 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Cordillera
Hostal Cordillera
#19 of 25 in Punta Arenas
60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Ainil
Hostal Ainil
#24 of 25 in Punta Arenas
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carpa Manzano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carpa Manzano

Property: Hotel Carpa Manzano
Address: Lautaro Navarro 336, Punta Arenas, Chile
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Punta Arenas
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carpa Manzano 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only two blocks away from downtown and from most important highlights,Hotel Carpa Manzano is your best choice in Punta Arenas. Carpa Manzano is a tourist class hotel, and rovide an excellent service, in 10 comfortable rooms (singles, doubles and triples). All our rooms enjoy private bath, Cable TV, telephone and central heating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Carpa Manzano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carpa Manzano Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing