We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kayaking Magellan Strait”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chalet Chapital Hotel
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kayaking Magellan Strait”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Great location, close to the train station. Very friendly staff and clean comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fracord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    57
    20
    9
    3
See reviews for
31
43
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
puerto williams
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We found Chalet Chapital in the web and took a chance with our reservation...
We were suprised about their services and nice room, very confortable! the most important is that it stays a few block from everything...
If you are looking for a nice and warmful place, you found it there!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turismoakainij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
145 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

I really liked the hotel and the staff was gracious. The room was nicely appointed and cozy, and the price was great for what you get. The problem was the group staying in the hotel that was super loud, acting like they owned the place. They were singing and dancing or something right outside my room early in the morning. The layout of the hotel is both intriguing and frustrating. I think it used to be an old mansion so the rooms are somewhat haphazard, at least on the first floor. My room was right off the lounge where the group congregated, so not only could I not use the lounge but I could hear them in the afternoon when I was back in my room. While it is not exactly the hotel's fault the group was rude, it did mar my stay. The rooms are great, but beware loud groups! The location is close to where my bus stop was--Buses Pacheco--and I think others were nearby too. The free internet was good.

Room Tip: try to avoid a room right off the lounge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skyeport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2011

We didnt have a lot of choice in punta arenas this hotel was close to most things and walking distance to the buses and center of town. The room was ok there was alot of light coming in from a security light near our the door that led outside. The hosts spoke no english but were accommodating and helpful.
We had got there after a long long bus ride and wanted a good nights sleep before another day of travel.
However there was a group staying there that all woke up at 4-5am and started making alot of noise seemed like they were havin breakfast well alot of talking in corridors and stomping up the stairs abnd banging doors. Tried calling reception but no one answered. The host was aware of the noise but did nothing to stop it. If not for this it would have been an ok nights sleep

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cavecaudex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2011

We stayed there two nights on our way into and out of Patagonia. Both rooms were comfortable, had a TV, and were very clean. It is also very easy to walk to several restaurants, the grocery, and Buses Fernandez, which has buses to Puerto Natales. However, the shower was a bit difficult to use and not that great and both rooms were very bright at night, making it somewhat difficult to sleep. WiFi is available and they have a sitting area that you can use if waiting for a bus or taxi after you have already checked out. Breakfast was very simplistic. The staff were very helpful in setting up excursions and taxis/buses. A few tips: taxis are cheaper than transfers if there are more than two people going to the airport, reservations are recommended during high season as the hotel (and most others in the area) was full the entire time we were there, and doing laundry at the hotel is very expensive, there are much cheaper options in town.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lexky123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maceio,brazil
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2010

Good location. The staff was very kind and eficient.
The room is confortable and bathroom has a very good shower.
You can believe!!! We have breakfast at 5:00 am before leaving to the airport.
Excellent cost benefit relation

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2009

We stayed here one night before leaving for Torres Del Paine, and then two nights to see the Penguins on Magellanes Island, and then to tour the town. We being my wife, and two adult children. The staff is wonderful and friendly, and the rooms are clean, and some small. Some of the rooms have a high tech shower with six jets which makes for a soothing and refreshing shower. It is about three blocks from the city center. The Internet on the first floor is the strongest and weak on the second floor

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StateEmployee1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Arenas hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
#3 of 25 in Punta Arenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
0.6 mi away
Diego de Almagro Punta Arenas
Diego de Almagro Punta Arenas
#12 of 25 in Punta Arenas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apart Hotel Quillango
Apart Hotel Quillango
#8 of 25 in Punta Arenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Finis Terrae
Best Western Hotel Finis Terrae
#10 of 25 in Punta Arenas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Isla Rey Jorge
Hotel Isla Rey Jorge
#13 of 25 in Punta Arenas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal Ainil
Hostal Ainil
#22 of 25 in Punta Arenas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Chapital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Chapital Hotel

Property: Chalet Chapital Hotel
Address: Armando Sanhueza 974 | Torres del Paine, Punta Arenas 6200622, Chile
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Punta Arenas
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalet Chapital Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Chalet Chapital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chalet Chapital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing