We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hospitality”
Review of La Casa Escondida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Casa Escondida
Ranked #1 of 37 Punta Arenas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Thank you Pamela and Louis, it was a great pleasure staying at La Casa Escondida.

The handbuilt log home and the property it sits on were beautiful, and rooms were warm, bright and comfortable, and the dinner that Louis prepared was delicious. However the best thing about our experience was that Pamela and Louis went the extra mile to make sure that we got off to a great start on our trip. Pamela picked us up from the airport (we were delayed in Santiago), organized tickets for the penguin trip to Isla Magdalena, and bus tickets to Puerto Natales. Then helped with last minute shopping (I lost an important bit of gear on the flight), driving us to pick up the tickets. They helped wake us up and Louis made us delicious scrambled eggs breakfast at the last minute at 6 am, and again dropped us off and picked us up for our Penguin excursion and the bus trip towards Torres Del Paine.

And all that in one day and night. I wish we could have stayed a bit longer, but it couldn't have been a better welcome.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trippyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2013

Our flight was late, putting us past midnight. Nevertheless Mauricio from Casa Escondida was waiting with my name on a large paper. Then of course our baggage was lost. Not getting it took another hour. Mauricio patiently waited and then took us to Casa Escondida. He brought us back to the airport in the morning to retrieve our baggage. What could have been a disaster for the first day of a 3 week trekking vacation was averted! A little later Pamela was kind enough to allow us to join her on a trip to the grocery store. The hostel is located near the airport in a quiet forest. It is a unique wood building with a large living room where guests can share stories. The breakfast was great. I had hoped to return on our last day to have dinner. Unfortunately the bus schedule did not allow that. I would gladly return on my next trip.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SonnyLawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

The place is very clean and cozy, a very welcoming feeling. The hosts are wonderful and go extra mile to help us to track down our delayed luggage, to get us bus tickets to Puerto Natales and took us to the store to get food and camping fuel for our Torre De Plaine circuit. I highly recommend La Casa Escondida.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baldwc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013 via mobile

I love this place. It seems my B&B's in Patagonia are all fantastic!

Luis and Pamela are the owners and they really put their heart into the place. The cabins are beautiful and clean, breakfast is the best I had in my three week trip (the salami Luis uses in the omelette is just tasty!)

Luis promptly picked me up at the airport with all smiles even at 10pm! A far cry from my hotel in Easter Island (see my review on Tupa Hotel). The place is set in a beautiful forest. It's not close to town but I've been there and there's nothing much. Your time is better spent enjoying nature and tranquility.

Wifi is great so are the shower and heating!

Nothing to fault at all!

Pire Mapu in Puerto Natales and La Casa Escondida in Punta Arenas is the Patagonia combo to beat! I wish I stayed longer in both places!

Great place and fantastic value! Not to mention superior service :)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bankergirl1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We really really enjoyed our stay at La Casa Escondida. The hosts are so kind and helpful! The breakfast is good. We also had a wonderful dinner that Luis cooked (una parilla!). We were there with our kids. They enjoyed the playground and the fresh air! They were feeling like home. The cabin was clean and we slept well.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avermette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

I don't know what else I could add to the glowing reviews for La Casa Escondida and its warm, welcoming hosts. Form the moment Mauricio picked us up at the airport, tlll the moment Luis dropped us off, we enjoyed every moment of our stay. Between their senses of humour, willingness to help in any way they can, and relaxed, easy manner with their guests, Pamela and Luis bring out the best in everyone staying there. My husband, who as a rule does not enjoy B and B's, wants to go back and 'intern' with Luis, tease Pamela, keep Mauricio company in Terra Del Fuego, and have BBQ ever night! I wish I could give 10 stars. We loved this place and the people who run it! A big thanks to our friends Pamela, Luis, Mauricio and Edida (Pam and Mauricio's mom, probably not spelled correctly) for a wonderful beginning and end to our first visit to Punta Arenas. So glad to have shared the penguin experience with you and the boys!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Tehgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

After 4 days stuck in San Pedro trying to pass the border (it was closed due to bad snow!) it was such a relief to find such a nice place like last casa Escondida! ...One of the owners Pamela collected us from the airport (just less than 10 minutes away). After staying in as good few dodgy places throughout South America it was such a comfort to have cosy beds, WARM power showers and a fire to sit around at night. Pamela cooked us a lovely dinner and even gave us some wine on arrival. The following day she went out if her way to drive us into the town even after we said we could get taxis. I would 100% recommend staying there if your in punta arenas..its more than we expected for the cost and Pamela was so helpful even with booking penguin tours etc. .....a BIG thumbs up!! :)

Room Tip: ...all the wooden cabins are fan it just depends on how many people you want in each.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie_Kavanagh6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Arenas hotels
7.8 mi away
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
#4 of 25 in Punta Arenas
746 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel Lacolet
Hotel Lacolet
#10 of 25 in Punta Arenas
104 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
#2 of 25 in Punta Arenas
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Apart Hotel Quillango
Apart Hotel Quillango
#9 of 25 in Punta Arenas
121 reviews
7.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Finis Terrae
Best Western Hotel Finis Terrae
#8 of 25 in Punta Arenas
326 reviews
7.7 mi away
Innata Patagonia Hostal B&B
Innata Patagonia Hostal B&B
#2 of 37 in Punta Arenas
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Escondida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Escondida

Address: Parcela # 26 A | Ojo Bueno, Punta Arenas 6200000, Chile
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Punta Arenas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Arenas
Price Range: £70 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cottage decorated in rustic style run and operated by its owners. Located 7kms south of airport and 15kms north of town. Public transportation close by. Free Wi-Fi in the main house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your La Casa Escondida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing