We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent time at La Casa Escondida” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Casa Escondida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Casa Escondida
Ranked #1 of 29 Punta Arenas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent time at La Casa Escondida”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

My boyfriend and I spent a night at La Casa Escondida at the beginning of our month long trip to Patagonia. Our experience was so great that we made time to stay for 3 more nights at the end of our trip as well! Pamela, Luis, Mauricio and "Nana" provided excellent customer service. They picked us up from the airport, gave us a ride to and from town, gave good recommendations on things to do in Punta Arenas, and even arranged our bus tickets to our next destination for us before we even arrived. They were the nicest hosts we could imagine, and were so personable and we felt like family friends by the time we left. It was great to get to know them and how they have built their business over the years. Luis handcrafted all of the beautiful rustic cabins himself, in a beautiful forested setting just outside of the town. This place really gives you that rare feeling that the family has put their heart and soul into the entire operation, including the buildings and services they provide.

Our cabin (#2) was very nice with a cozy wood stove and a comfy bed with lots of warm comforters. We also liked to hang out in the main building by the fireplace and meet fellow travellers over a glass of wine (Pamela, Luis and Mauricio are constantly asking if they can get you anything, tea, coffee, etc). There is a computer for guests to use there, and dinner is served there as well. The bbq dinner was absolutely delicious, and included steak, sausages, baked potatoes and salad. We also had wine with all our dinners. We ate the bbq 3 times and also tried the fish dinner one night, which was incredible as well. The only thing I would add is a dessert option. Breakfast is also really good, with a personal pan of scrambeled eggs with ham, fruit salad and toast.

The property also has a sauna and outdoor shower tucked away in the woods, which was a great treat after our hiking trip through the mountains.

The place is a little outside of the main town (outside of walking distance), so it is nice and quiet and easy to get a good night's sleep. Also, Pamela or the other hosts are more than willing to give guests a ride to and from town.

Part of our trip was for birding and wildlife viewing, and we were pleasantly surprised to see lots of species around the property! They have had woodpeckers, owls and many other bird species there. I even saw a flock of about 12 Austral Parakeets fly by on our last day there!

The value for money is excellent here, and you can't beat the hospitality. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
46
167
29
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima Region, Peru
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

We went on vacations with my husband and parents in law. We arrived at the airport at 2am and were received by Mauricio (with a big smile on his face),one of the owners of this cute place. Mauricio and his family are the nicest people that we´ve ever met in a trip. His mom, Mrs Edita is so charming, thoughtful and an amazing woman who is in charge of making some delicious breakfast at the very nice decorated dining room.
The place is fully handbuilt with 03 charming cabins (private) very well equiped with a wood heater, very comfortable beds, hot water and the nicest decoration.
I have no words to express how grateful we are with Luis, Mauricio, Pamela and Mrs Edita...a wonderful family that offers an outstanding service and experience.
The place itself looks like the end of the world (which is amazing ), and the warmth of these people, makes you feel at home.
You won´t regret it AT ALL.

Room Tip: You can ask for cabins if it´s a group and a double bedroom for couples. Either way, is a good choic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pieri_Peru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

Pamela, Louis and Mauricio were fabulous hosts! The handbuilt log homes are just gorgeous and the nice quite location can't be beat! Our hosts picked us up from the airport, toured us around town and picked us up after our tour to Magdalena Island. I could never have imagined this would be included in the price!! Louis also made us a terrific dinner on our first night and recommended many good restaurants to dine at. This was such a special place for us, we wish we had more than two nights to spend here.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TDuque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed here after a few nights in different hostals and hotels in downtown Punta Arenas, which charged the same for a double room as La Casa Escondida - but the value for money is so much better here! The rooms are rustic with very comfy beds and duvets (not something you get a lot), a lovely living room with roaring fire and genuinely 5* service. I honestly can't think about what they could do differently to make it better. As other commentators have pointed out, this place is about 5km from the Airport a bit outside PA, but Mauricio drove us in and picked us up for free and we didn't feel uncomfortable about asking. Stay here!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LenaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

Thank you Pamela and Louis, it was a great pleasure staying at La Casa Escondida.

The handbuilt log home and the property it sits on were beautiful, and rooms were warm, bright and comfortable, and the dinner that Louis prepared was delicious. However the best thing about our experience was that Pamela and Louis went the extra mile to make sure that we got off to a great start on our trip. Pamela picked us up from the airport (we were delayed in Santiago), organized tickets for the penguin trip to Isla Magdalena, and bus tickets to Puerto Natales. Then helped with last minute shopping (I lost an important bit of gear on the flight), driving us to pick up the tickets. They helped wake us up and Louis made us delicious scrambled eggs breakfast at the last minute at 6 am, and again dropped us off and picked us up for our Penguin excursion and the bus trip towards Torres Del Paine.

And all that in one day and night. I wish we could have stayed a bit longer, but it couldn't have been a better welcome.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trippyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redlands, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

Our flight was late, putting us past midnight. Nevertheless Mauricio from Casa Escondida was waiting with my name on a large paper. Then of course our baggage was lost. Not getting it took another hour. Mauricio patiently waited and then took us to Casa Escondida. He brought us back to the airport in the morning to retrieve our baggage. What could have been a disaster for the first day of a 3 week trekking vacation was averted! A little later Pamela was kind enough to allow us to join her on a trip to the grocery store. The hostel is located near the airport in a quiet forest. It is a unique wood building with a large living room where guests can share stories. The breakfast was great. I had hoped to return on our last day to have dinner. Unfortunately the bus schedule did not allow that. I would gladly return on my next trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SonnyLawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redlands, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

The place is very clean and cozy, a very welcoming feeling. The hosts are wonderful and go extra mile to help us to track down our delayed luggage, to get us bus tickets to Puerto Natales and took us to the store to get food and camping fuel for our Torre De Plaine circuit. I highly recommend La Casa Escondida.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baldwc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Arenas hotels
7.8 mi away
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
#3 of 25 in Punta Arenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
#2 of 25 in Punta Arenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
7.5 mi away
Apart Hotel Quillango
Apart Hotel Quillango
#8 of 25 in Punta Arenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Hostal Ainil
Hostal Ainil
#23 of 25 in Punta Arenas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
6.9 mi away
Entre Vientos
Entre Vientos
#2 of 70 in Punta Arenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hostal Aventura Austral
Hostal Aventura Austral
#3 of 29 in Punta Arenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Escondida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Escondida

Property: La Casa Escondida
Address: Parcela # 26 A | Ojo Bueno, Punta Arenas 6200000, Chile
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Punta Arenas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Arenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cottage decorated in rustic style run and operated by its owners. Located 7kms south of airport and 15kms north of town. Public transportation close by. Free Wi-Fi in the main house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Casa Escondida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing