We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Custom-made B&B with customized service”
Review of La Casa Escondida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Casa Escondida
Ranked #1 of 31 Punta Arenas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Custom-made B&B with customized service”
Reviewed 29 March 2010

If you're stopping in Punta Arenas, you must stay at La Casa Escondida. Pamela and Luis dial up a great B&B experience, between excellent home-cooked meals (sea bass stuffed with king crab, shrimp, and serrano ham), friendly conversation, and an interesting history (Luis spent time in Houston, TX, where I am from) - you won't be disappointed. Both Pamela and Luis are English teachers and speak fluently and Luis even took us on a little driving tour of Punta Arenas before dropping us off in town.

The main house, cabins, sauna(!), and furniture are hand-built by Luis himself, and inspired by the wooden architecture of San Martin de Los Andes in Argentina. The rooms are very comfortable and have portable radiators, although it can get a little chilly at night. Ask for a heated water bag to help keep the bed warm.

A tip for staying here - if you don't have your own car, make sure to arrange transportation with Pamela and Luis, they can take you to town and pick you up when needed. Pre-arrange your meals if you want them to make something for you. And finally, there is no wifi, but they may have their computer with them that has a wireless modem, or they may loan you the wireless modem (for PC use only).

Overall, a great value and experience - we highly recommend! Estaba "la raja" (thanks for teaching us that Luis!)!

-Tony and Lisa (Rollerbagging.com)

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rollerbagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    15
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
46
169
30
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, FL, USA
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2010

We only had a single overnight in Punta Arenas and we chose Casa Escondida based on a TA review. My oh my, what a delight. Our cabin had a warm, cozy interior (and duvet) and the constant Patagonian wind never seeped in anywhere. The wood burning stoves in the main lodge made even breakfast seem romantic. The inn is set in a copse and the wind in the trees just added to our feeling of well-being indoors. The property has fields as well as woods so before/after dinner walks are easy to do. Leaving this tranquil haven for the nervous bustle of town wasn't easy. We felt welcome and looked after and the rate seems to me an excellent bargain.

Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dicklaroche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york, ny
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2010

My boyfriend and I visited this wonderful B&B in November. Pamela and Luis go out of their way for each and every guest. They exemplify people who earn a living doing what they truly love. This is their dream and make each guest feel like they have contributed to it. Luis built the entire place himself and the rooms are very impressive and cozy. It is a bit away from the center of town but they are more than willing to take you there if you do not have a car. The rates are great as well. Seriously, you cannot go wrong with this!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kris410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2010

It is difficult to add compliments for this perfect B&B with really nice hosts.
I should say; make a reservation , go and have a good time.
We had fun with the little dog walking with us when we went for a walk.
And don't forget to visit the penguins at Seno Otway Colony!

Peter & Caroline from Holland

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2010

We stayed at La Casa Escondida based on the reviews from this site. My husband and I enjoy staying at Bed and Breakfasts during our travels and Pamela and Luis have set a new standard by which we will judge our bed and breakfast stays!

We were greeted upon arrival, our room was ready and we were told to make ourselves at home. We did rent a car which was helpful. We were waiting to take a flight to Antarctica. Because the flight kept getting delayed, Pamela and Luis had so many travel suggestions to offer - they were the perfect hosts. They also took messages for us, translated phone calls and loaned us a cell phone in case of emergencies - how many places do that - amazing. The dinner was the best - the sea bass and king crab! They use local spices and home grown vegetables. The boys are so nice and respectful. And Michelle - the dog - greeted us every night as well. La Casa Escondida has raised the B&B bar. As we described our experience to people that we had met in Punta Arenas - they had wished they were in a place like this instead of the traditional hotel they stayed in.

If we every make it back to Punta Arenas we will stay here again! Thank you Pamela and Luis for helping to make our trip so nice!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoelleJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2010

For people who want to have a quiet stay in Punta Arenas, very nice log cabins and wood style roms in a large forest. All is home made even chairs and tables. All clean and comfortable, very nice and helpful owners, English very well spoken.
Rented car recommended to access but easy to do without. Town center 10min by car, accessible by bus.
Definitely recommend.

Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TofSar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2010

My family of four stayed with Pamela and Luis and their two charming sons in a beautiful house in the forest built by Luis. We felt comfortable immediately and wanted to stay longer. As others have mentioned, the dinner they prepare may well be the best meal on your travels. It was the perfect respite for us after a week of hiking in Torres del Paine. Luis took us a tour of Punta Arenas before dropping us off at the cruise office. The best part was spending relaxing time with a generous, hard-working, thoughtful Chilean family, who all speak excellent English by the way. It was THE BEST!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank africagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Arenas hotels
7.8 mi away
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
#3 of 25 in Punta Arenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
7.5 mi away
Apart Hotel Quillango
Apart Hotel Quillango
#9 of 25 in Punta Arenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
#2 of 25 in Punta Arenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Entre Vientos
Entre Vientos
#1 of 67 in Punta Arenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hostel Keoken
Hostel Keoken
#3 of 67 in Punta Arenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hostal Aventura Austral
Hostal Aventura Austral
#3 of 31 in Punta Arenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Escondida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Escondida

Property: La Casa Escondida
Address: Parcela # 26 A | Ojo Bueno, Punta Arenas 6200000, Chile
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Punta Arenas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Arenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cottage decorated in rustic style run and operated by its owners. Located 7kms south of airport and 15kms north of town. Public transportation close by. Free Wi-Fi in the main house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Casa Escondida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing