We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hardware, Software”
Review of Crowne Plaza Hefei

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hefei
Ranked #4 of 1,031 Hotels in Hefei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2012

The hotel just opened a week ago to receive guests and not surprisingly, there are rough edges in the operations. The fact that there was a major trade show in town only adds to the pressure that the hotel face and staff, like Jimmy Wang, front desk manager put up a valiant front and even smile for the likes of guest like me, who were unfortunate enough to be at the receiving end of some of the shortcomings of the hotel.

In terms of service, as above stated, the staff is not quite polished but you are see the younger ones trying hard at their station. Give them time and I am sure they will come through.

In terms of hardware, superficially, the property carries its namesake well but the issues are really in the details. To begin with, I was given a room where there was an issue with the electicals, such that when you insert the card into its receptor, you did not get power. Wiggle it a bit, power came off and in the next moment, it was off. So, while waiting for a 'service person' that never showed up, you can't help but notice the overall finish of the room, such as the glass panels which the workmen must have wiped excess sealant on the glass outside, leading to smudges; and a window that just would not open (which would help ventilate the smell of solvent in the room). I am hard pressed to imagine how the room had passed inspection, given the state it was in. The most mind boggling aspect in the hotel hardware must be its life. Unlike a typical operation where you press a button and all the system would determine which lift should service you, at this location, you have to look at the floor and direction that the lift is traveling, and press for the lift in a particular shaft.

In terms of location, the place is new and in a somewhat sub-urban part of Hefei, therefore, be ready to travel but I did not find this to be an issue. Do have the hotel name card ready and call the hotel to speak to the cab driver, if necessary.

I really hope this hotel can iron out its hardware issues as there is potential in the property. In a way, this is not untypical of infrastructure in this country where emphasis is placed on the 'WoW' impression but coming short on the details. These shortcomings are perhaps accentuated by the fact that my most recent stay was with Intercon in Shanghai and Tokyo, with the latter really showing what can be done in the face of given facts.

Room Tip: Do note that there is a railway line running along side one side of the hotel and a major thoroughfa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BizTravel218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina T, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hefei, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

First, we are sorry for replying you late. Thank you so much for sharing your experience in the Crowne Plaza Hefei with us and thanks for your comments as well. We have passed these comments to relavent departments. Hope you could continue to support and pay attention to our hotel as a witness to find our improvement in service. If you still have more suggestions, do not hesitate to contact our hotel service center at 86 551 2971888, all of your suggestions are always welcomed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 79 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank zhounator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy G, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hefei, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank aquanixe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy G, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hefei, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Uitzicht is nagenoeg hetzelfde, wel biedt de ene verdieping een beter klimaat en wifi dan de ander...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jur v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy G, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hefei, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank Елена Л
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hefei, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
Thank GaussLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hefei, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tina T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hefei, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hefei hotels
4.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Hefei
Shangri-La Hotel, Hefei
#1 of 1,031 in Hefei
149 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hilton Hefei
Hilton Hefei
#3 of 1,031 in Hefei
1,152 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Westin Hefei Baohe
The Westin Hefei Baohe
#2 of 1,031 in Hefei
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Sheraton Hefei Xinzhan Hotel
1.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Hefei Shushan
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hefei
Holiday Inn Hefei
#11 of 1,031 in Hefei
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hefei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hefei

Address: Building A, No.598 Huangshan Road, Hefei 230088, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Anhui > Hefei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 1,031 Hotels in Hefei
Price Range: £53 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hefei 4.5*
Number of rooms: 523
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the intersection of Huangshan Road and West 2nd Ring, next to the New High-Tech Development Zone, close to the Municipal Administration District and Economic Development Zone, only 9 KM to the International Exhibition Centre and 15 KM to Hefei International Airport. It is within easy walking distance to Wal-Mart supermarket, China Cinema and 1912 Bar Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hefei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing