We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not the best Holiday Inn I've stayed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express South Hefei
Ranked #82 of 990 Hotels in Hefei
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“not the best Holiday Inn I've stayed”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

It's far away from everything and it could be difficult to get a cab.

Cracking wall and not-so-clean carpet, other than that,the room is fairly clean. Bed is comfy and the shower is great(good water pressure and stable temperature ).Doubled window keeps the room quiet; there's no fitness center but there's a coin laundry room which was convenient. Free internet(not wifi) in room,but no fridge.Breakfast is not very good.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianChiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    66
    22
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
3
4
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2012

I have chosen an HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS instead off a more convenient one in the city center, because of my previous experience on hangzhou of a fresh place.
Despite the memoris, here's a list of things that made me decide to do not come back next time:

- the restaurant is terrible in many ways.
Breakfast was only acceptable, but dinner and lunch were exceptionally not inline with the standards I expect in an HI hotel.
Beside the ridiculous menu, the fact that I have to deliver the food to my table (like McDonald's), the terrible food (club sandwich with uncooked eggs???) and the fact that many customer smoked on the table(nobody of the staff complained), not even the local people enjoyed so that the restaurant was basically empty.

By the way the hotel is in a very inconvenient location and now in January, the only alternative is to catch a cab to the city center.

- the room is ok, tough no wifi in the room and no router available

The towels were dirty (old stain, to be exact) and broken. Probably because the long usage terminated them.

The business center is a joke: to print and copy a document it has taken 3 receptioner and 20 minutes ...

Service is nice, everyone is warmly smiling and really welcoming: I am quite sure the lack of professionalism lies in the management.

It needs immediate improvements .

Either you want to run an hostel (than your rate is too high) or you run a light business hotel and you work to arrange one.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saul3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

bedroom and bath rooms are small but correct.
Bed is soft
Be careful as there is a bridge construction right in front of hotel and works carry 24/7
In the morning there was no electricity except in lift and lobby, apparently it happens frequently.
breakfast is uneatable for westerners.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hkfrenchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2011

I stayed at this hotel 3 nights after the days we were there I think this is a good hotel for the tourists who want to come there to rest, to go sightseeing, and shopping.The staff is very helpful and quite friendly. The room is not very big but very clean. In our room is decorated modern facilities very convenient to contact informations with relatives at home. The service is quite good . The price is suitable,too. I will come back this hotel if I have a chance.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Filixeber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2008

Although a bit out of the hustle and bustle of the city centre the Express by Holiday Inn South Hefei is clean, modern, well appointed and relatvely cheap. My room was wonderful with a soft matress (rare in China) and excellent bathroom facilites. Express hotels are about the basics and they do it very well, Hefei is no exception. Free internet, coin operated laundry facilites and a free shuttle bus pick up from the airport make getting there and staying there a breeze. The hotel is located in the new economic zone about 15mins from the city centre and does not have a lot of immediate attractions within walking distance. Food is about the only dissapointment as the meals are very basic (though good) and a night out in a good restaraunt is a taxi ride away. Overall, for the price, comfort and proximity to the airport it is highly recommended.

  • Liked — modern and well appointed
  • Disliked — lack of restaraunts
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jaycoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hefei hotels
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hefei
Holiday Inn Hefei
#5 of 990 in Hefei
324 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Westin Hefei Baohe
The Westin Hefei Baohe
#3 of 990 in Hefei
187 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hefei Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hilton Hefei
Hilton Hefei
#2 of 990 in Hefei
1,127 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hefei Downtown
2.7 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Hefei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express South Hefei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express South Hefei

Property: Holiday Inn Express South Hefei
Address: No.157 Jinzhai South Road, Hefei 230022, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Anhui > Hefei
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Best Value Hotel in Hefei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express South Hefei 3*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express South Hefei conveniently located in the Economic and Technological Development Area in south Hefei, with close proximity to the Olympic Sports Center, the Anhui International Exhibition & Conference Center, and the Jinzhai exit of Hening Highway. The hotel is at 5 minutes drive from the Economic and Technological Development Area and the New City Government, and is 2 minutes away from the Jinzhai exit of Hening Highway and Anhui International Exhibition & Conference Center. And to some companies in the Economic and Technological Development Area, such as Unilever, JAC, Hitachi, Haier, Gititire, Uni-President, only cost 5-8 minutes. And the hotel is 15 minutes away from the centre city. The international hotel managed by famous Intercontinental Hotels Group that offers a fresh, comfortable and uncomplicated accommodation choice to travelers who value time and money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express South Hefei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hefei
Hefei Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing