We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lakeside Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Hyatt.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Reviews (259)
Filter reviews
259 results
Traveller rating
65
159
29
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
159
29
5
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 259 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2012

The location is superb with great walking or jogging around the lake to see the non-business side of China. Compared to other Fuzhou hotels it is a 5-star rating from me but would rate 4-stars in Ningbo, Hangzhou, Shanghai, etc., so it gets 4. Gym is pretty bare bones. Older style control console by bed and few outlets for plugging in are on the downside but everything works and the staff is very attentive and considerate. Absolutely my Fuzhou preference.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Briansdca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Location - Poor
Although it is near the lake and a nice view, it is quite far inside and there is problems trying to get a cab to go out from the hotel. There is nothing within 10 mins walk from the hotel
Staff / Service - Average
Average service.
Breakfast - Did not try as I chosed a non breakfast package
Room - Good
Condition of the room is nice, quite comfortable, layout and size of the room is quite nice.

Room Tip: You need to chose a room which you can see the lake. If not, there is nothing special about this hotel. I do think they charge additional for that too!
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PandaMoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2009

At least in our levels, 9, 10 and eleven the rooms had been very clean, the room service did a perfect job. The bed itselves was in perfect condition. Air condition, TV are available. The service personal could have been much more friendly, but remember you are in China. Price had been as described in the internet. Breakfast buffet was perfectly equipped, with everything you can imagine. The price for the diner buffet was with 16,-- EUR still suitable. May the quality of the rooms in different floors are different!
Worth to go.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaSchirnding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2008

I have stayed at the Lakeside numerous times, as it is the hotel my employeee uses, this is thankfully under review, and we are hoping to contract out to te Shangri La.

The last time I stayed at the Lakeside, there was no food ledt at the buffet breakfast at 7am just after it had openned some of us couldn't even get cups and knives and forks.

We decided to bring this up with the assitant manager, who starting complaining that we don't pay enough to saty there with the contract we have and to talk to our employer to see if they will pay more.

We were told something would be done, but as usual nothing was.

I also mentioned this to the so called manager, he didn't seem to understand me but did laugh at me.

On other stays the restaurant has been closed to guests as they have decided to rent it out for private functions, they have a swimming pool but no water in it.

It is nothing like a 5 star hotel, even for China, it is more like what attempts at 5 star hotels were like in CHina in the 80s.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank VMRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2007

The Lakeside was once Fuzhou's crowning glory - being the only 5 star hotel, however several changes of (mis)management and ownership later, the Lakeside is somewhat of a tired old tart now. The rooms, although still quite clean and serviceable are really more up to 31/2 star level than 5 star. You get called by resident prostitutes on your room phone very late at night. The food is little more than very average with an unimaginative and plain menu - Western food, well, maybe Western to Chinese people, but to a Westerner it's simply not good. Not bad either, but so bland and mediocre, if it were served up at a dinner party back home, you may let the host know that it wasn't up to scratch by smothering it in tomato ketchup or simply leaving it at the side of the plate. UNless it is revamped or better, completely overhauled soon, it will have no redeeming factors left to recommend it, I'm afraid - The Shangrila, The Ramada and the Golden Resources all beat the Lakeside into a cocked hat these days without working up a sweat to do so.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank mazhenping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews