We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location downtown and close to park”
Review of Empark Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Empark Grand Hotel
Ranked #28 of 534 Hotels in Fuzhou
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed an overnight at em park hotel. The room was a little old as well as the bathroom but still all were very clean and looked fresh.the hotel is typical Chinese standard with gigantic reception and many rooms. The price quality was good and personal guidance from the concierge and his team were really nice on where to go and what to see in the evening.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank CatherineR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 13 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2013

Stayed here for one night, it is located beside the Hot Spring park and is a few minutes taxi ride from the Fuzhou railway station. The hotel is big and has a grand lobby but that's the only grand thing about it. The room is of right size for Asian people with beds comfortable enough for a good night sleep. Our room was located on the 12th floor with the view of the empty swimming pool (probably because the weather is quite cool and no one would dare to swim in an open air cold water pool) and the Hot Spring Park, the room though needs to have a better air conditioning, despite putting the temperature to 17C, it still felt warm, we had to open the window and asked for an electric fan (we were told that since it's winter, they had set a certain temperature for all rooms) but the lobby still stayed cool, i feel like sleeping in the lobby because of the cooler temperature. The hotel is a typical chinese managed hotel, with staff having little or no english knowledge so communication was a bit of a challenge. Another let down of this hotel are the slow elevators, considering that the property is big they should have at least have an efficient elevator system, makes me think if I'm just being impatient or the elevators are really slow.

Our room comes with a breakfast buffet. The food includes some western style food but mostly chinese selection, i have no problem with it and find some of the dishes taste good.

Overall, hotel is good but it could do better

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbtgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Stayed here for two nights - absolutely wonderful location next to Hot Springs Park with a good range of restaurants nearby. The reception and dining areas of the hotel are spectacular! We were initially allocated a room up high as requested but not facing the Park. We requested a change, which was organised by the helpful staff after some ringing around. This may have explained minor issues with the room (hairline crack in bathroom basin, no Hotel information in room) but these were worth tolerating for the terrific view looking down on the Park. The room was older style but fully renovated and spacious with a very comfortable king size bed. There could have been more drawers for storage and almost every spare surface was displaying merchandise for sale, phone books and goodness knows what else. Once we put most of it on the floor, we had plenty of room. There is a small bar fridge and a jug. Toiletries were fairly minimal but adequate. Robes and slippers were provided. The breakfast buffet was extensive and mainly Chinese, but there was enough for us (the only Westerners). We found the staff to be helpful albeit quite tentative - still learning I suspect, but they are on the right track. English generally limited, but enough to get by. So overall a very pleasant experience and would stay here again. Oh, and the pool and health club were both fully functional and pretty good!

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the park - "a garden view" and up high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

As part of a family tour of china we stayed here for 3 nights, we didn't go out in the city but it was very centrally located. There was initially a mix up with our reservations and the staff on reception were not very helpful. But once it was solved, it was sorted out very quickly. The rooms felt small- a lot crammed in, big bed etc. the lobby has a very grand entrance, and a live pianist in the evening whilst we were there, the pianist was exquisite. Breakfast was mostly Asian style but also had fruit and cereal. The family had booked a large room for a gathering on our last night and the food -Chinese banquet was delicious.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abigail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I have stayed here three or four times, due primarily to its location (close to my work, and beside a lovely park to take a walk, go running, or watch the locals do their exercies and dance in the mornings and evenings). The property is old and tired, but is slowly being renovated. They finally removed the ancient computers from the rooms on the executive floor, replacing them with somewhat better ones. Frankly fast Internet, or better yet WiFi, would be a better investment. The restaurant in the basement is bustling and has a good selection of foods (I have had several lunches there). The breakfast buffet is okay, but don't expect any service (getting seated, clearing dirty plates away, bringing coffee/tea). Everybody is nice enough here, but as you would expect in Fuzhou, English is not very common. But there is enough to be understood, and I've never had any major problems on any of my stays other than the odd air conditioner malfunction. Oh yes, the health club is under renovation (again). I don't think it has ever been open when I've visited, nor has the swimming pool.

Room Tip: The elevators are small and very slow, so the ride is long up to the top floors (26-27). My room (26...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

My husband and I stayed in this Hotel for the traditional Chinese New Year's Eve when we went back to Fuzhou visiting our grandma.
I could've given it a "Average" grade to this hotel if they had much hotter shower water; sewer was not that clogged in the shower room, which makes me sick. I don't expect a 5-star facilities and services, all I ask for is basic cleaness. The breakfast is just OK although the restaurant staff doesn't know how to make the Omlet.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sissiwei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights at the beginning of December as we were attending a Wedding there.
This hotel is also known as the Golden Resources International Hotel (which is the name that we booked it under using C-TRIP).
First let me start by saying that Fuzhou is NOT a tourist destination, so it did not surprise me at all that only two people at this hotel spoke English.
The foyer of the hotel is magnificent as you walk in, with chandeliers and marble everywhere.
We were checked into our rooms on the top (27th) floor very quickly. The rooms were a decent size and were clean, they even gave you a free computer with internet to use in your room. The bathroom was ok too, with the shower over bath combo you don’t see in many five star hotels anymore.
The beds however, we as hard as………marble. The carpet was softer than the beds. Even after we got extra padding put on the beds by housekeeping, I still ended up with bruises on my hips.
The breakfasts at the hotel were very good, with lots of choices and fresh juice. We also ate the lunch buffet one day and it was excellent, with lots of yummy Eastern foods.
The gym was ok, with quite a few treadmills, and lots of semi working weights, but the ping pong was a nice touch. Shame you have to pay to use the table, even if you are a hotel guest.
The hotel is not really close to anything except the Hot Spring Park (which was very pretty), but taxi’s are really cheap anyway.
On our last night there was a Giant Rat cleaning itself outside the hotel, but it didn’t really put us off.
Overall, decent hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadSci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fuzhou hotels
Wuyi Square
Shangri-La Hotel Fuzhou
Sheraton Fuzhou Hotel
#6 of 534 in Fuzhou
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
InterContinental Fuzhou
#3 of 534 in Fuzhou
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empark Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empark Grand Hotel

Address: No.59 Wenquan Gongyuan Road, Gulou District, Fuzhou 350003, China
Region: China > Fujian > Fuzhou
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 534 Hotels in Fuzhou
Price Range: £55 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Empark Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 384
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Empark Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing