We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK for a 4 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Fuzhou Fortune Hotel
Ranked #39 of 523 Hotels in Fuzhou
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
224 reviews
196 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 599 helpful votes
“OK for a 4 star hotel”
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Rooms on the small side, some of the furniture new, but most are old, just one a step away from worn out.
Room lighting is not sufficient, heating is not good, and there’s no fridge in the room.
Amenities are fine.
Shower pressure is fine.

Internet is free (cable only), and bandwidth was acceptable most of the time.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomad6022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    131
    21
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
3
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moab
Level Contributor
206 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

I was there in March 2012, going back to the Fuzhou airport and due to departure time settle down for one nite in the Best Western.
It is much more than you expect with Best Western, but unfortunately we had to leave early, hence no idea about breaky.
Dinner we had in a steakhouse nearby and that was great.
Anyway, the receptionist looked professional (yes we had chinese company), the rooms are very spacey, big beds and a chaiselongue. Although there were street works just in front of the hotel, I slept wondefully. Every equipment worked well, there was a big window so with dayight it was a wonderfuly light hotel room. Bath was also clean and nice, only point to think about are the two valves for adjusting water temperature, but this also worked well.
All in all, it was a short stay and nothing found to complain about, contrary it looked like I could stay for a longer time there !

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksg48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2012

My wife and I live in a nearby town and come to Fuzhou every now and then to relax. We rarely get good sleep in our home so staying in a hotel is always a treat. We chose Best Western because it is cheaper than the top ones - Shangri La, etc. - and other ones were booked up. The lobby is nice, but that's pretty much where it ends. The room was small and the A/C was broke. Both of us can't sleep if it's hot in the room. There was construction going on until midnight and then began again at 7a. We called the front desk about the hammering and they said "Oh, construction on 3rd floor, sorry." It was a big disappointment. Also, there is construction outside on the new Fuzhou metro rail so that added to the noise. Do not stay here until at least that is finished.

Oh well, back to our rat hole...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chuckd83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1,809 reviews
330 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 672 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I heard this was a new hotel built in 2010, but i saw a 2008 review, regardless, it's a fairly new hotel worth considering in this city. Newness has some advantages:
1. 21st century design with standing shower
2. fresh carpet

Newness can't compensate for these however:
1. tardy service at check-in . we checked-in at 1am in the morning and there was hardly any other guest around and yet our process took 15-20mins
2. dodgy room service. i asked for fried rice out of their tiny menu of 10 items and they said they "maybe" have it
3. i asked for check-out extension from 1 to 2pm and they insisted on charging an extra half day
4. the room is about 20-30 feet from an apartment next door i.e. really close and keep your curtains closed at all times

Short of staying at the Shang or Westin however, this is probably a good choice here in Fuzhou

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehovot
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Very good hotel, Free internet in rooms, rich buffet breakfast included.
Rooms spacious and comfortable.
Service is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uri36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2011

I was in a business trip last January and I need to change 100 euros. Well they gave me back 500RMB (around 60€) in fake notes. At the time I realized about the fraud, i was already in Beijing. I contacted Best Western to explain them the situation and I sent them the invoice from the Hotel. They just said it was not their business. I contacted the Hotel directly too and they answered me the same.
Don't try to phone Fuzhou Police! They won't help you either!!!

In any case, Fortune Hotel it doesn't worth. Breakfast are terrible! Only location is OK.

Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank navapamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2010

Although Best Western has a lot of motels in the US, most of its properties are branded as 4-star hotels in China. So don't be fooled by it's name and the hotel is quite inviting based on my recent experience. I believe the staffs work hard and the rooms are well appointed. Lack of some amenities is a big problem, no pool and fitness center. However, the onsite dining is excellent overall. At least they served something you can eat and not horribly expensive. Unlike the negative comments form another traveller, I felt Chinese and Korean quite acceptable. Who would want to eat American cheese burgers or McDonald's in China? lol. For guests not familar with this city, Fuzhou has a lots of seafood twists and not very challenging to your stomachs.

What I've expected from the hotel is room quality, cleanliness, and personal attention to hotel guests. Best Western meets my standard. A 4-star hotel really doesn't have to upscaled to 5-star in China and jack up the price tag.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dxboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fuzhou hotels
Wuyi Square
Shangri-La Hotel Fuzhou
Shangri-La Hotel Fuzhou
#1 of 523 in Fuzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
InterContinental Fuzhou
#2 of 523 in Fuzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Empark Grand Hotel
#14 of 523 in Fuzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Muse City Hotel
#226 of 523 in Fuzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Fuzhou Fortune Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Fuzhou Fortune Hotel

Property: Best Western Fuzhou Fortune Hotel
Address: No.220 Hualin Road, Gulou District, Fuzhou 350003, China
Region: China > Fujian > Fuzhou
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Fuzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Fuzhou Fortune Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Best Western Fuzhou Fortune Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Fuzhou
Fuzhou Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing