We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally Located Decent Business Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Paragon Xiamen
Ranked #11 of 1,311 Hotels in Xiamen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2014

A decent hotel for business travellers, its a no frill, quiet, clean place for a few nights. There are no nice views. There are buildings and apartments all round. However the staff tried to do their best to maintain the standards expected of an IHG-Crowne Plaza hotel. Need more training. There is a luxury shopping arcade next door, and connected to the hotel. The prices though are not as fantastic as that at duty-free. Nice café, wine bar, European-style restaurants, starbucks. Was here for 2 N. I did not have any complaints generally. I can't say it is the best Crowne Plaza, but this is better than those in other Chinese cities. I had stayed at another Xiamen hotel that I had helped built near the lake side in the 90s, but I still prefer this. ATMs and banks are aplenty around the vicinity. The ground floor restaurant treated me well and even gave a discount. The western breakfast is a little oily. I cannot say Xiamen is a city for great sightseeing. For business purposes to zip in and out, I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: In every part of Xiamen there is construction going on. I note buildings being built around Paragon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Edmund K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations_XMNPG, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Paragon Xiamen, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2014

Dear guest, Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Paragon Xiamen. We appreciate your comment and extend our sincere apology for your dissatisfaction. The problem in our service you referred has been reflected to relevant departments, and we believe you will see our improvement on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

Good things:
Nice bar, decent fitness center (less than the five star Asian standard buy waaaay better than most Americans), convenient to airport and businesses nearby. ATM in lobby. Breakfast was exceptionally varied.

Less good things:
All of the pillows were too soft, hallways a bit dingy.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fe_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations_XMNPG, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Paragon Xiamen, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2015

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Paragon Xiamen. We appreciate your comment and extend our sincere apology for your dissatisfaction. The problem in our service you referred has been reflected to relevant departments, and we believe you will see our improvement on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Great hotel and always a great stay. Nice restaurants on or near the property, even a Baskin Robbins and Starbucks right there. Who could ask for more?

The only negatives are that the hotel, and the surrounding area, seem to be constantly under construction. Still, this did not diminish the quality of my multiple stays In Xiamen.

I've stayed at this property a dozen different times over the past 5 years and every single time time has been great.

Highly recommended! - See you there!

Room Tip: The front of the hotel is undergoing a major expansion. Ask for a room away from the ruckus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GermanSean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations_XMNPG, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Paragon Xiamen, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel. And we will keep developing our service and product, to ensure everyone leave feeling better,we sincerely hope when you plan your next trip to Xiamen. The Crowne Plaza Paragon Xiamen would still be your first choice, looking forward to welcoming back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Very comfortable and clean. Noting can complain during our stay. Good location and it's easy to get around. The only thing is due to china block some websites or app, like BF, line, yahoo and so on, so it's not able to get though these sites as well but we though an international hotel shall be able to improve this. Cuz we stayed at the same hotel which located in guang-dong. They don't have such kind of issue.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Rita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations_XMNPG, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Paragon Xiamen, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing our hotel. Thank you for your advice and we will convey it to our colleagues.We will keep developing our service and product, to ensure everyone leave feeling better,we sincerely hope when you plan your next trip to Xiamen.
We appreciate your comment and extend our sincere apology for your dissatisfaction. The problem in our service effectiveness you referred has been reflected to relevant departments, and we believe you will see our improvement on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Lovely rooms, friendly staff, good location...In the neighbourhood you find all kind of restaurants,massage salons,small and larger shops.15 minute taxiride takes you to the SM mall where you can find all kind of shops ..check the cyber department.

Room Tip: 15 th floor was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Robbertjan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations_XMNPG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Paragon Xiamen, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing Crowne Plaza Paragon Xiamen and share your valuable feedback. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our location and qualified service made your stay experience more memorable. We will continue to strive in delivering quality services and keep on serving guests with the most attentive attitude, allowing our guests' to indulge in the best they deserve.
Once again, we look forward to your next stay with us and continuous support in the near future. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

It has been more than a year since I stayed Crowne Plaza Paragon at Xiamen for 4 days 3 nights. I have stayed in many top hotels from international brands like Pullman and Mandarin. This has to be one of the best hotels I have stayed so far. Here are the pros and cons of it:

Pros:
1. The service is excellent. The staff are friendly and always ready to help. During buffet breakfast, the staff will come to me and ask how was the meal and if I need any juice or coffee. When my taxi reaches the lobby, the attendants are quick to open to car door. More importantly, they will be smiling and courteous for simple tasks like this that they might have to do many times a day. That is highly commendable. They also pay attention to the small details. I recall a morning where I went out for a run before breakfast. The lady who opened the entrance door smiled and asked how was my run after I finished running and to take care not to catch a cold as weather was cool after rain the night before. I have done similar jogging before breakfast in other hotels. But none of them have ever showed that care and concern. This goes an extra mile to make customers feel valued and happy. The counter staff are well-versed on the area too. They are able to recommend me good areas for sightseeing, shopping and even the sport stadium to play tennis.
2. There is a nice scent in the hotel. I feel peace whenever I enter the hotel and smell the scent. Most top hotels don't do go to that extra mile to please the customers. It may be a small gesture, but it really means a lot to customer satisfaction.
3. The hotel is connected to a posh shopping centre with brands like DKNY and Armani. But there are also pleasant eateries like Papa John Pizza, Starbucks and Haagen Dazs. One of my favourite late afternoon pleasure is to read a book and drink coffee at Starbucks. I also had a good meal at Papa John Pizza. Full marks for well thought planning of hotel shops.
4. I enjoyed the area surrounding the hotel too. A short 5 to 8 mins walk will bring you to a row of tea shops. As there is a whole row of shops selling tea, prices are competitive and quality is good. I bought quite a few packs of tea there back to Singapore. Further down is a KFC which is a good budget dining area. The area around the hotel is also safe. I will wake up every morning to jog around the hotel and I did not encounter any unpleasant or safe moments. Xiamen is a safe city but the hotel should also be credited for building a safe environment.
5. The room was clean and it has international cable channels. This is highly appreciated for international travellers like myself who prefer English channels.
6. Pricing is competitive. The prices are comparable or slightly cheaper than some other top hotels in the area. More importantly the online booking website is easy to use and informative compared to some international brands.

Cons:
1. There are 2 gyms in the hotel. One is a hotel gym and the other is a paid fitness centre in Paragon. As someone new to Xiamen and the hotel, I was unaware there are 2 gyms and went to the paid one and paid one day use of the gym, not knowing there is another free one. Perhaps the staff might want to inform customers at check in that there are 2 gyms. Cause some customers may not know and will go to the wrong gym and end up paying.

Other than this, I am very happy with Crowne Plaza Paragon Xiamen and it is my favourite hotel in China. Crowne Plaza is hence a brand I will always look for whenever I am overseas and need a hotel. It has not disappoint so far based on my experience in Crowne Plaza Changi Airport Singapore too. I look forward to my Crowne Plaza Kunming stay later in September this year.

Room Tip: High floors are quieter due to the busy shopping and business activities around the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JonasCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations_XMNPG, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Paragon Xiamen, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for choosing us. We believe that you will see a significant improvement in our services and products after we finish the Enhancement Program to ensure everyone leave feeling better,we sincerely hope when you plan your next trip to Xiamen, the Crowne Plaza Paragon Xiamen would still be your first choice, looking forward to welcoming back in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Very good hotel, I'd a commercial and technical seminar this week. The conference hall is very good, the service of the conference area in very good.
The rooms are very good, the restaurant has a great service and a very good food selection.
I recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salvatore_giammaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations_XMNPG, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Paragon Xiamen, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for choosing us. We will keep developing our service and product, to ensure everyone leave feeling better,we sincerely hope when you plan your next trip to Xiamen, the Crowne Plaza Paragon Xiamen would still be your first choice, looking forward to welcoming back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xiamen hotels
Pan Pacific Xiamen
#6 of 1,311 in Xiamen
665 reviews
The Westin Xiamen
#2 of 1,311 in Xiamen
477 reviews
Langham Place Xiamen
#10 of 1,311 in Xiamen
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Indigo Xiamen Harbour
#17 of 1,311 in Xiamen
230 reviews
Le Meridien Xiamen
#3 of 1,311 in Xiamen
576 reviews
New Downtown
Sheraton Xiamen Hotel
Sheraton Xiamen Hotel
#13 of 1,311 in Xiamen
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Paragon Xiamen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Paragon Xiamen

Address: No.199 Jiahe Road, Siming District, Xiamen 361012, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Fujian > Xiamen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Xiamen
#9 Spa Hotel in Xiamen
#11 Luxury Hotel in Xiamen
#20 Best Value Hotel in Xiamen
Price Range: £81 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Paragon Xiamen 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Paragon Xiamen is located in the geometric center of Xiamen, which is sitting at Lianban interchange. It is assured most convenient point to island and the surrounding area. Hotel is only 8 minutes driving from High-speed Railway Station (Xiamen Railway Station), 20 minutes driving from airport, exhibition center, Nanputuo Temple, Gulangyu Ferry, Golf court, Xiang'an tunnel. Located in Paragon commercial district, the International luxury brand, domestic brand, Bona Cinema and Utopz supermarket are close at hand. The exclusive Garden Restaurant sweeps up a variety of cuisine, such as Starbucks, Haagen-Dazs, Xuliushan, Grace dishes. The surrounding encompasses a wide range of Xiamen popular restaurants. Within 5 minutes walking distance to Mingfa Commercial Plaza, KTV, IMAX, Video Game Center, Ferris Wheel and other recreational activities become the best choice to spend leisure time. Besides providing the usual comforts in 327 luxurious rooms and suites, the pillar-free Grand Ballroom-which is over 1, 000 sqm and a soaring 6.8 m high and the other eight meeting rooms can accommodate from 10 up to 1000 persons. Above Café provides different theme everyday by local specialties. Chinese Restaurant provides Teochew cuisine and local seafood. The Royal Bar is the perfect place to enjoy cocktails, wines and other favorites. All you featuring are a perfect venue to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Paragon Xiamen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Xiamen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing