We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location but it is a very Chinese 3 star at best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Minnan Hotel Xiamen
Ranked #35 of 1,311 Hotels in Xiamen
Reviewed 17 December 2013

It is located in the older part of Xiamen. It will cost about 10 RMB to get to Zhong Shan Road or Gulangyu Island.

It's a huge property with a KTV in the lower floors. Highly recommend you get rooms in the higher floors because you can feel the pounding of the music during the middle of the night.

Rooms are clean enough, nothing is high end.

Breakfast was very Chinese. Congee, noodles - coffee is the instant automatic type which is horrible. Fruit, toast and cereals with the green salad.

The cost of the hotel is only about $60 USD per night which includes breakfast so I couldn't complain too much.

For business, it would be adequate.
For pleasure, would go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Do not get any room that is located on the 4th floor or lower. The KTV will keep you awake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanuckJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 11 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

Definitely do not worth the stars...
Only good stuff:
1) Free shuttle to airport
2) Concierge - can leave your shopping there

Others:
1) Location - poor - many cab driver says the traffic is bad and difficult to drop us directly at the hotel, small eateries at the back of the hotel
2) Request for high floor not given, as a result no lake view and when I asked, I was turned down.
3) Too many rooms, rooms assigned far away from lobby
4) No breakfast
5) On the last day, wanted to try revolving restarant dim sum. Only buffet style for breakfast. Told manager I was heading back to Singapore and only wanted tea and a few dim sum, was turned down again.

A good hotel doesn't turn down its guests for for than once and when little exceptions are required. Not worth what was paid for a 4-star.

Room Tip: Choose high floors... many of the business owners/cab drivers here told me this hotel's too cost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fishysharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

During my stay recently, the staff and services they provide are still go good as I'm here 3 years ago. It feels so warm over here as XIAMEN are a nice place, consider the hotel pricing, services they provided, how much can u ask for comparing others or other countries? The food are still ok consider to other hotels as all are aware hotel food normally are not so fancy isn't it?

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NICEBOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

By far the worst hotel I have experienced in China.
Totally dated, filthy, incompetent staff, poorly situated, falsely advertised, ie: no coffee shop, no swimming pool, no shops in hotel, and the so called business centre is a total disaster!!!
The Front Desk/Reception is a total disaster. The foyer is not air-conditioned and very uncomfortable in the recent 30 degree heat. The coffee shop has been removed from the foyer area, so whilst one is waiting for companions or clients there are no facilities for hot or cold beverages to offer your clients or friend on their arrival at the hotel! Absolute lunacy!!
Room service ceases at 8.00pm from memory, housekeeping is a joke, and the room service/cleaner people are nothing short of slovenly.
No matter how often I asked the front desk, housekeeping, various assistant managers (apparently there is not a Manager) for Black coffee, sugar or tea, tea spoon, extra towel or razor, coat hangers etc, these were delivered to my room in their own sweet time by the staff who invariably got it wrong anyway!.
On my departure, the Bell Boy insisted in carrying my luggage, which is fitted with WHEELS and HANDLES to his Trolly!
He inevitably DROPPED both Suitcase from the trolley, thus depriving the baggage handlers at the Airport from breaking the fragile contents!!
Never again!!!
George Grace.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere! Try the JingMin Hotel! You shall have a very comfortable stay, with grey staff, clea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stonemason1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

I love our rooms at the 23rd floor. The windows were wall to wall, ceiling to floor. We had 2 rooms. One had a view of the lake. One had a view of the main road of the Central Business District. I appreciate both views.

The staff were very nice and even if their English was limited, that did not stop them from trying really hard to assist us. When the reception staff cannot understand us, their Assistant Manager is quick to approach us to assist us herself. They would not board a taxi without talking to the driver to ensure we go to the right direction and the driver to not charge us more.

Buffet breakfast at the 3rd floor was good but it is the same thing everyday. Since we stayed for 5 days, it was a little boring but still satisfying. As Asians, we appreciate the rice, vegetables, meat entrees, and congee in the morning. If you are a westerner, you are limited to eggs, bacon and bread but the bacon was not crispy.

The hotel turned off the aircon because they said it was cold outside. When we went there in November it was not that cold and it was not as cool in the afternoon as I wanted but not really uncomfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 23rd floor onwards have a very good view of the city. One side of the room is the glas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camilletravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

This hotel is located in heart of the city but has lot of problem with regard to food as we Indian dont eat pork mostly here pork is served in almost all the dishes nearby you have KFC where you can eat chicken but stil you have to be very cautious as peple here hardly knows chicken. As far as property is concerned its good having nice rooms the best of it being centrally located is you have many airline offices nearby to book your ticket and its only 15-20 minutes from airport. Here the staff can speak bit of English as you have to be very slow to make them understand what we want there is assistant manager here named Maggie who can uderstand english bit better than other and other is sunny maggie is very helpful as she also helped me in getting chinese sim card to call india. The only problem here is having food rest is ok. I have to spend 10 yuan one way to got o Indian hotel for having food but it was these co-operative hotel staff who foud out Indian hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrfarhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

The location is good. It is very close to the park and that little expat area with all the coffee shops near the Marco Polo hotel. The central train station is a bit of a walk, but an easy bus or taxi ride. The harbor area with all the tourist sites and the ferry to Gulangyu is farther away in the opposite direction, but also an easy bus ride.

Taxis and buses are very easy to use if you speak at least some Chinese, but cars can only enter the hotel from a small side street and many taxi drivers are not aware of this. It can be a challenge. There are bus stops on either side of the hotel.

The hotel itself is not very good. The beds were very hard, even by Chinese standards, and the pillows were almost as hard. Housekeeping had an issue with toilet paper. We had to specifically request it. There was no refrigerator in the room, even though all the websites say it is standard, and indeed it is standard throughout east Asia. The walls are very thin. We could hear every conversation in every room around us. The couple to our left was especially verbal during their sexual encounters.

And every room is a smoking room. If you ask for a non-smoking room, they will happily oblige, but what makes it smoking or non-smoking is whether or not you smoke in it.

Most people do not care about television shows while they travel, but if you do, this is not the hotel for you. Unless you like Chinese game shows with plenty of static.

The revolving restaurant that gives the hotel its unique appearance has mediocre food. There is much better food all around the hotel. The view is very good, but would have been better had the restaurant actually revolved. It did not move at all while we were there.

The better restaurants are on the other side of the lake/river. Most of the massage parlors with special service are on the hotel's side.

Room Tip: As in most large cities in China, there is constant construction. Higher floors have less noise. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pichilaogong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xiamen hotels
Xiamen Tegoo Hotel
#22 of 1,311 in Xiamen
85 reviews
Railway Station
Seashine Hotel
Seashine Hotel
#34 of 1,311 in Xiamen
74 reviews
Ibis Xiamen Kaiyuan
#441 of 1,311 in Xiamen
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bestel Hotel
#44 of 1,311 in Xiamen
130 reviews
Pullman Xiamen Powerlong
#11 of 1,311 in Xiamen
326 reviews
Pan Pacific Xiamen
#5 of 1,311 in Xiamen
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minnan Hotel Xiamen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minnan Hotel Xiamen

Address: No.26-34 Yi Li, Hubin South Road , Siming District, Xiamen 361001, China
Region: China > Fujian > Xiamen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 1,311 Hotels in Xiamen
Price Range: £33 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Minnan Hotel Xiamen 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Minnan Hotel Xiamen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing