We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel. Abysmally Managed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Miryam Boutique Hotel Xiamen
Ranked #87 of 1,166 Xiamen B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Such a disappointment. I visited this place during its renovation and was looking forward, for over a year, for chance to stay here. I booked most expensive "sea view" room. As I remembered, the location is superb. once you fight through the crowds near the ferry pier in Gulangyu.

But, this is a hotel charging (high end) 5-Star Hotel prices for China and the service level, management, ongoing restoration and attention to detail barely merit a 3-star. Whoever the owner is (the staff won't tell you who it is, except that he's Israeli named Eric, who visits rarely) had better find a way to improve management of the property he's clearly invested so much in. This place is a disaster-in-the-making.

I've never stayed anywhere with such a huge gap between price of room (I'm paying USD$250 a night) and quality of place, the service, the amenities. They even asked for a "deposit" of Rmb 100 for the room card. This for a supposedly "5 Star Hotel".

From big things to small, everything here is done (barely) at standards of a cheap chain motel. They had laundry drying on the veranda, poorly-organized check-in, a "management team" of teenagers, rooms that need small repairs and restoration. Even the "welcome gift" of a map and
some cookies was pathetic. Half the cookies were broken. They are in a clear-plastic container so giving such a tawdry thing to a paying guest is both inexcusable, but somehow typical of this place.

I absolutely cannot recommend anyone staying here. For the absentee owner, my advice would be to do everything in his power to improve the management of his property. Without this, my guess is the enormous amount of money he piled into the restoration will be lost.

Nice places on Gulangyu are few. But, far better, less expensive true 5 Star hotels abound in Xiamen -- the Kempinski, Westin, Meridien, Indigo to name a few. All, unlike this place, are professionally and competently managed to the level one would expect and demand when paying this kind of money.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank pfuhrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2011

Our family stayed here for 3 nights in August. Only 2 person allowed per room so we got a 3rd floor seaview suite and a 2nd floor window room with 2 beds for our kids. The seaview suite was very nice equipped with fridge and soaking tub. The bathroom lighting is a bit dark, hard to see yourself in the mirror and we had a bit of shower leaking problem, but all and all we spend most of our time in this suite. The 2nd floor room was dark and uninviting, so the kids only sleeps there at night and spend the rest of the time in our room if we are not out walking around. We had a very relaxing 3 days on the island eating local food and walking around when most of the tourists have gone home. Since it was hot we spend a lot of time in our room from 1-5pm, so it would have been nice to have satellite where we can watch some American movies. I was a bit disappointed with our breakfast since it was highly rated by other tripadivsor members. It wasn't terrible but we were not wow by it. The staff were nice and that made our stay pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank InChina11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Beatuful Hotel in a large renovated villa. Nice, spacious rooms with a very large bathroom/bathtub. Excellent breakfast and friendly staff, although not all of them speak English I think. It lies secluded on a hilltop with the toprooms have a great seaview and large balcony. A lot of outside seating areas to relax have a drink and read a book.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E749b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We stayed for one night in one of the suite with balcony. Great view on the sea, huge room, nice decoration. The cheaper rooms don't have a nice view and can even be in a passing area tough. The breakfast is big, the food at the restaurant is not bad and the drinks quite good.
There is a pool but it wasn't filled up. This was really a big letdown especially given the heat on the island in July.
Also the staff doesn't speak any English and it could be difficult to find, so print a map before going, it's a little walk away from the ferry.
Overall very nice atmosphere and a quiet area in busy Gulangyu.

Room Tip: The suites with balcony
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank voyagistablog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

My husband and I had the privilege to spend some time at the Miryam before its official opening. We are used to luxury, imaginative settings and good service.
The Miryam is in a class by itself. No other hotel looks like this, and caters to you in such ways.
You feel important and cared for.
Just walking up the steps is an invitation to another world,another time.
We are dreaming to return in the summer and lounge around by the pool, enjoying a privacy I have never seen in a public setting.
I wish the hotel every success-it surely deserves it.
But I don't want too many people to make it THE PLACE to go in Xiamen . How will we ever get a reservation again if it gets so popular????
The restaurant,by the way,serves the tastiest food we've ever eaten in China. Yum Yum.
Good luck,Miryam,blessings,Dr. Ellie Henkind Katz, Shoeva, Israel

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellie_blessings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

I attended the great opening of HOUSE 3… I would like to share my opinions to friends and fans of this great corporation… the location, and Miryam Boutique Hotel. It has a delightful entry under an old spreading wisteria vine. Once you get are inside, the feeling is like you are in a western castle in old style of Europe. There is nothing relating to Chinese style, which I think is great because the location is surrounding by China’s greats western coast island “GuLang Island”. You will truly get the sense that the hotel has the same history as if it was a part of China’s friends of the west from the past. This is a very cozy feeling and one I must admit I like and enjoyed.

The food is fresh, flavorful, and cooked perfectly to your desire. I have to mention that all food materials are imported, so you enjoy the true dishes delight. Being Chinese, I know most Chinese people take some time to have a feel for western food and desire to eat it. However, once you try Miryam Boutique Hotel’s food… I am sure you will be like my friends who ate there with me , they now always want to go and have more of the tasty western dishes. While you enjoy the food, you will fall in love with the setting you are surround by nature with the breeze from the Sea that warmly blows across your face and the day or night sky is from heaven. I must say there is nothing that I could ask for or recommend to the owners or staff to make the meal more enjoyable.

It is with pleasure that I would rate the your location with 5 stars
FOOD
STAFF
TASTE
LOCATION
STYLE

So, if you every have a day when you want to get away from the world and its problem there no better place in all of Xiamen… you will come away so relax and refresh.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnniaCao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xiamen hotels
2.7 mi away
Pan Pacific Xiamen
Pan Pacific Xiamen
#4 of 1,298 in Xiamen
653 reviews
1 mi away
Xiamen Tegoo Hotel
Xiamen Tegoo Hotel
#22 of 1,298 in Xiamen
83 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Westin Xiamen
The Westin Xiamen
#2 of 1,298 in Xiamen
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Ibis Xiamen Kaiyuan
Ibis Xiamen Kaiyuan
#511 of 1,298 in Xiamen
241 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lujiang Harborview Hotel
Lujiang Harborview Hotel
#23 of 1,298 in Xiamen
396 reviews
2.6 mi away
Marco Polo Xiamen
Marco Polo Xiamen
#5 of 1,298 in Xiamen
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miryam Boutique Hotel Xiamen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miryam Boutique Hotel Xiamen

Address: No.70 Huangyan Road,Gulangyu, Siming District, Xiamen 361003, China
Region: China > Fujian > Xiamen > Gulangyu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 1,166 B&Bs / Inns in Xiamen
Price Range: £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Miryam Boutique Hotel Xiamen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing