We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We liked it so much, we moved there!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Remy's Garden Hotel
Ranked #181 of 1,317 Hotels in Xiamen
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Stayed at Remy's with my partner, Lorelei, for three days a month or so ago and loved the place. The staff, including Remy and his wife, are friendly and very helpful and the hotel is located in a beautiful part of the island, full of sleepy, winding lanes filled to the brim with quaint art and trinket shops, colonial buildings, restaurants and coffee houses. The place positively oozes charm, as does the hotel itself.

We stayed in a lovely room...can't remember exactly which one....with an unbelievably large, comfortable bed overlooking the gardens at the back. I happened to mention, in passing, that I like the odd beer and Remy immediately sent out for some to accommodate my need, though exploring the town itself meant that I never actually took him up on this act of hospitality. A menu was also available with plenty of good food options though, once again, the temptations of Gulangyu itself meant that this option was never taken up. At the front of the building there is a delightful flower and plant-filled courtyard area with room for numerous tables enabling the hotel's patrons to while away the hours sipping a cool beer or nibbling away on the various snacks available.

We left the island feeling thoroughly relaxed and refreshed. The purpose of my visit was to assess Xiamen as a place to live and work as I have been offered a teaching job there. As a result of our stay at Remy's (and Gulangyu itself) we vowed to try to find an apartment on the island. I really didn't hold out much hope as I know that apartments on the island are like gold dust. I am very pleased to say, however, that I have just signed a contract on an apartment just round the corner from Remy's and am moving in on Monday. A return visit to the hotel is very much on the cards. Can't really say much more than that. An excellent place to stay. Heartily recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paddywaks1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 27 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2012

Excellent choice of guest house. Location was great, in a quieter more atmospheric part of the island. With in a few minutes walks of loads of cafes, bars and restaurants as well as the sea. Hospitality and service was fantastic. Very helpful. Its a good place to hang out in the courtyard. He also organised an excellent trip to see and stay in the tolou in Fujian. Gulang yu is a fantastic place to spend a few days (or preferably longer) and Remy's was an ideal choice. Whole- heartedly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for the big room, if available - has a great little balcony overlooking local streets .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Remy and his wife were very welcoming and gave us lots of good advice about visiting Gulangyu and Xiamen. In addition, a tasty local breakfast and very comfortable beds make this hotel an excellent choice.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cse52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We really enjoyed our stay with XiaoLi and Remy.
Courteous staff, nice large room and an authentic location in charming Gulangyu.
The local breakfast was great and the sight seeing tips very helpful.
Thanks guys!

Room Tip: Garden rooms are tranquil indoor rooms are homey
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Located in a lovely part of the island, more locals than tourists, quiet, charming. From the terrace a nice view on a small square. Very helpfull and friendly staff. Owner Remy even came to fetch us when we were lost. Clean.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beenderhaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

I very much enjoyed my stay at Remy's and was especially impressed by his hospitality and helpfulness. He really made me feel like a valued customer. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

It's a lovely small family hotel. Family is the key word because you feel like you are living with a family rather than just a typical hotel. Remy (owner) was a very engaging, informative and helpful, making our stay relaxing and comfortable. The place itself was clean, cosy and had a homey feel. It's also situated away from the hustle and bustle main tourist area. Highly recommended and will definatly return in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moccabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xiamen hotels
2.5 mi away
Pan Pacific Xiamen
Pan Pacific Xiamen
#6 of 1,317 in Xiamen
667 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Westin Xiamen
The Westin Xiamen
#2 of 1,317 in Xiamen
491 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lujiang Harborview Hotel
Lujiang Harborview Hotel
#23 of 1,317 in Xiamen
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Xiamen Harbour
Hotel Indigo Xiamen Harbour
#17 of 1,317 in Xiamen
232 reviews
8.3 mi away
Langham Place Xiamen
Langham Place Xiamen
#10 of 1,317 in Xiamen
250 reviews
4.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Paragon Xiamen
Crowne Plaza Paragon Xiamen
#11 of 1,317 in Xiamen
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Remy's Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Remy's Garden Hotel

Address: No.65 Kantai Road, Gulangyu, Xiamen, China
Region: China > Fujian > Xiamen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 1,317 Hotels in Xiamen
Price Range: £25 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We receive you in Family atmosphere, we speak English, German, French and Chineseour Villa has 8 rooms, fully equipped.we have a Restaurant reserved for our Hotel clients we provide high class Service Our motto is the customer is King ... even if we only have Queen size beds ...we can assist you in booking of trips in Fujian province : we have connection with a private driver to visit Toulo and even Chongwu ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing