We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good food good service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of INDIANO JOHN's SAMRAT

INDIANO JOHN's SAMRAT
Ranked #2 of 1,475 Restaurants in Xiamen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: INDIANO JOHN's SAMRAT in its 10th year of operation is XIAMEN's First and Only INDIAN dining which is Owned and Run by Chef/Sommellier John Solomon aka INDIANO JOHN. SAMRAT, specializes in Northern Indian Cuisine, mainly focused on grilled food prepared in the traditional charcoal oven called THE TANDOOR. SAMRAT also takes pride in providing the widest selection of Fine Wines and an unique choice of Gourmet beers from around the World. SAMRAT is a limited 50 seater, so advance bookings are highly recommended.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Good food good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Food is v.good service is also good
Indonesia girl give v.good service
But wifi is not good food is little expansive
All over very nice place for visting

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    51
    22
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
1 review
“Best Restaurant On East Coast China”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Having traveled all over the east coast of China, this is the best food I have found. Typically in my opinion, I am always settling for mediocre food. Not here. It is a bit on the pricy side but well worth it. The fish I had was the freaking bomb! Typically fish in China is mushy and over cooked. This was flakey and perfectly prepared without any bones. The chicken and lamb were extraordinary as well. Two thumbs WAY up!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles_Barley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, CA, USA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Amazing Indian style curries and incredible host”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Found this place through Trip Advisor and it was a mere 3 blocks from major chain hotel. Walk past all the stalls and street vendors to find the place next to the movie house. Marsala is to die for; Nan is particular fine and freshly made in a compact kitchen. John, the host, will actually make some of the dishes himself and bring it out to your table. He's an amazing host: warm and friendly and dressed to the theme of the restaurant: Indiana (Jones) type hat and attire. Well worth the long chats he likes to have with his customers. Amazing creamed spinach (sorry, forgotten the Indian name of the dish), esp. from one who HATES spinach . . . . it was ordered by my business associates. Beer comes in three sizes: Good, Bad, and Ugly, with Ugly about a full liter; Bad approx. 2/3 liter; and Good, the smallest. Asian Beers with a touch of European brands; also hard liquor. Service is exceptional: staff friendly and always attentive to your needs. Gets a bit crazy busy later in the evening, so if you don't want to wait, make a reservation if you can; or come early (by which I mean 7pm or so; earlier if you must)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lives up to the ranking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

The food here is great, but the service is even better.
We took our staff here as a thank you for all of the work that they had done recently. Everyone had a great time. The food was excellent (from an open kitchen) and the service was smooth, non-intrusive and quietly friendly and professional.
Indiano John himself is a great character who understands the meaning of hospitality. He cleared the table, recommended the right foods and at the end of the night made it one of the best restaurant experiences we have had.
We will absolutely be coming back here with both customers and staff in the future.
We will also be sampling some of the fantastic wines that he has on offer. John is very passionate about them and we are looking forward to trying his recommendations.
This is not fine dining - but it is great dining.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidTravellingOften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“The best food in Xiamen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

During my trip last month to Xiamen I eat twice at Indiano John's restaurant. It was the best food I had in Xiamen. It is absolutely a must to go to and eat if you like the Indian kitchen like I do.

Besides the food the atmosphere is also very nice as well as the very entertaining host John.

Do check it out.

Richard (from the Netherlands)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed INDIANO JOHN's SAMRAT also viewed

 

Been to INDIANO JOHN's SAMRAT? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing