We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Boutique Hotel”
Review of Xiamen Tegoo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Xiamen Tegoo Hotel
Ranked #21 of 1,283 Hotels in Xiamen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2013

This hotel is nice. Very different in a good way. Comfortable bed, clean room and everything you need is right there in the room. My only problem was, I kept on looking for a refrigerator. There was none!!! Staff was very helpful and breakfast was pretty good. Location is also fantastic. Will stay here again but will try the Swiss International Hotel next door first.

Room Tip: If you are booked in a room with no windows, try to ask for an upgrade. They will give it to you if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 34 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

Ideal spot to holiday - very central to all you need to see and do in central Xiamen. Close to very modern shopping malls, cafes and restaurants. We upgraded our room looking out towrds the ocean - this is must. City views are ok but not the same as the sea. Rooms are spatious and must compliment them on the clean and comfy rooms with a huge open planned bathroom. Buffet breakfast included was sumptious and enjoyable - western and asian style - cater for everyone. My wife and mother-in-law was very pleased. Good value and you won't regret your decision to stay there. Only negative: no swimming pool or gym. Not a huge issue though.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank phillc26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Stayed in April 2013 for 2 nights. From arrival this hotel was a breath of fresh air. Helpful staff and a great room. The rooms was clean and the facilities all excellent. The bed was very comfortable too. This was especially nice after having spent the previous night on a train with just a hard seat <g>.

As we were not leaving Xiamen until the evening the hotel kept our bags and we collected them later in the day. No fee for this service and they locked the bags together and covered them to keep them safer. Given the size of the hotel, I would recommend they set up a room for this purpose rather than leave them in the lobby, but it was certainly no hassle and staff were really good reassuring me my laptop and gear would be fine.

The locations is an easy walk to the pedestrian street and also to the ferry over to the tourist island. There is also a really nice small little family restaurant across the road and up around 200 metres. Excellent local food.

I will be going back to Xiamen again on business and I will be staying at the Tegoo next time. While it may not be the cheapest hotel in Xiamen, for the location and service I think the value is very acceptable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crosis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The hotel is really good located, just in front of Gulangyu islet and nearby the pedestrian street. Rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff is really kind and helpful, always eager to give some hits about your stay in Xiamen.

Room Tip: The deluxe bay view worth the price to pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ale U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We stayed in this hotel during a quick visit to Xiamen back in November. The hotel is an 8 minute walk from the shopping and dining street. It is located in an intersection of two busy streets and there is a hospital and a row of bakeries nearby.

The hotel has modern decor and seems quite imposing. The lobby is bright but the hallways on the room floors are dark (purple/red hues) so it could get confusing on the way to your room. The room we chose did not have a window but it was not claustrophobic at all. Our room had a Venice themed wall decor. Beds were very comfortable! Still can't forget the comfy bed. The wi-fi was not very strong in our room though. We had basic hotel amenities but no safe and refrigerator in the room perhaps to discourage eating in. The bathroom was big with an enclosed shower area and big counter with sink. Glass walls indeed with curtains to give you the privacy you need.

Staff was ok though some were a bit standoffish. We had two staff members who spoke good English assist us when we needed help locating a place of interest but off the beaten track.

Since they do not have other facilities such as a fitness center, the only other area we tried out was the bar at the top floor. We tried their high tea (in our case, coffee) and enjoyed the experience. Pastries and mini sandwiches were served on beautiful trays and they were delightful! The view was great too - Gulangyu island and the water surrounding it.

Still not sure if I would recommend the hotel to my friends/family travelling to Xiamen who want to shop along Zhongshan because there were other hotels closer to it but I would go back for the bar on the top floor.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of Gulangyu.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teachrunfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I've been to China many times and most hotels are passable but the breakfast buffet sucks ... this hotel is an exception! (Actually, Xiamen is an exception (one of the cleanest Chinese cities evah!) ... but that's another story) The rooms are super comfy, spacious and clean, and breakfast is a pretty good spread. The only weird thing is there was no fridge in our room – there was a very very mini bar! The hotel is walking distance from a pedestrian mall and a Food Street with amazing local delights. Our 1st evening, dinner was Spicy Egg Burgers (Ji Dan Han Bao), Fresh Spring Rolls (Bao Bing) and an assortment of Szechuan-spiced BBQ meats – all from friendly street vendors. Cheap n' cheerful. Just wash down with a Tsingtao beer and you're in heaven.

The bar upstairs has cool views over the city (check out both "rooms" to get full 360ish views). Perfect for unwinding with a drink.

Staff were fantastic – most of them spoke English and were incredibly helpful. Kudos to Tony (concierge) and Lisa (front desk) who helped us arrange for a driver and daytrip to the Hakka houses (you haven't seen Xiamen if you haven't experienced this – ask to go to the less touristy houses – Tip: if you go around lunchtime, the residents will be too busy prepping lunch for tourists and won't bother charging you the requisite RMB5 to go upstairs (and anyway, it's just fiver, no biggie). The staff also happily arranged to get train tickets for us to Quanzhou (which is just 40 mins away by fast train) – we thought of going by car but they advised us that the train was much cheaper and faster (and comfier). Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Get a high floor and ask for a non-smoking room (if you're a non smoker, that is). When we staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012 via mobile

Thank you to those who have wrote good review and information for this hotel,thats how I choose to stay here.
When we arrived here we have recieved a very warm welcome from the staff.
While at the reception the staff were really friendly and helpful including the concierge staff too.
I would come and stay here again if I will come to Xiamen again !

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xiamen hotels
Pan Pacific Xiamen
#7 of 1,283 in Xiamen
629 reviews
Huli District
C&D Hotel Xiamen
C&D Hotel Xiamen
#15 of 1,283 in Xiamen
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siming District
Swiss Grand Xiamen
Swiss Grand Xiamen
#14 of 1,283 in Xiamen
829 reviews
Hotel Indigo Xiamen Harbour
#16 of 1,283 in Xiamen
225 reviews
Marco Polo Xiamen
#4 of 1,283 in Xiamen
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xiamen Tegoo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xiamen Tegoo Hotel

Address: No.2 Lujiang Road,East Tower of First Xiamen Square, Xiamen 361001, China
Region: China > Fujian > Xiamen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 1,283 Hotels in Xiamen
Price Range: £45 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Xiamen Tegoo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Xiamen Tegoo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing