We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is outstanding”
Review of Xiamen Tegoo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Xiamen Tegoo Hotel
Ranked #19 of 1,271 Hotels in Xiamen
Certificate of Excellence
Racine, WI
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“This place is outstanding”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

From both a cost and quality perspective, this place is EXCELLENT!!!

I booked the Tegoo for our night of arrival from Shenzhen. I reserved a Deluxe King with no Window. The main room was a big square (12' x 12') and had a ton of room...easily meets US size standards...the entire room was maybe 12' x 20' including the bathroom and entryway. The bathroom is all glass as is becoming the tradition in China. However, the Tegoo provided for a bit of privacy during those certain personal moments (hehe) by providing a floor-to-ceiling wrap-around curtain to partition off the entire bathroom.

The room decoration was very modern and the TV was a large-sized flat-panel Toshiba. The bed was extremely comfortable with all white linens and duvet-style comforter.

Additional back-story...we stayed at Tegoo for the first night with the intention of staying on Gulangyu Island for the following three nights. Anyway, we lugged our bags onto the island and all the way to other property (rated a top ten on TripAdvisor), checked in, and found the rooms to be small and the bathroom dirty. We were so upset at our decision to leave the wonderful Tegoo for the inferior hotel on the island. After a brief dinner and a bit of rest from the long walk with our luggage, we decided that we just couldn't bear to stay at the G-island property. We went back, checked out (thankfully receiving a full refund) and headed back to the Tegoo in Xiamen. We actually made the new reservation while sitting in the Tegoo lobby and paid even less than the night before...this time we booked for the next three nights (Fri, Sat, Sun). They even gave us our previous room back. Loved the Tegoo!

Room Tip: In spite of a little uncertainty about getting a room without a window, it turned out to be awesome...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jffc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
泰谷酒店, Manager at Xiamen Tegoo Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your stayed with us and your positive comments, we are trying best to create a Xiamen local style boutique hotel with fashion deco, it seems that our boutique rooms without window might be a challenge to the guests, however we are trying to set up the room with a private, unique and comfort experience with very competitive rate meanwhile we are providing the different room categories to meet the different needs. You are more than welcome to the hotel again. Happy new year!

Tony Lin
Director of Sales & Marketing
tony.lin@tegoohotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    35
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
19
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed for 4 nights while visiting Xiamen and nearby Gulangyu island in October 2013. We wanted to be near the ferry terminal, which is why we chose the Tegoo.
Location – less than 500m walk to the ferry terminal to Gulangyu island, Zhongshan Rd pedestrian street, a number of restaurants and coffee shops (Starbucks / Pacific Coffee / Caffe Bene). Buses stopping nearby, many taxis.
Room – we stayed in a double Cityview room, which was fine. Clean and comfortable, although a little dark. Bathroom very clean, but only separated from the main room by a curtain (no door on the toilet!). I guess tolerable if you’re not shy, but not to my liking! Free wifi in the room worked well. AC worked well - a relief in humid Xiamen!
The hotel bar was great, with beautiful views of the city and the water.
Overall it was a nice, comfortable stay in a good location, the main downfall for us was not having a proper door on the bathroom. Also no fitness centre/pool.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaraAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The hotel is very central and convenient for the town and GulangLu. The room I had (with a window) was large, clean and comfortable. The bathroom has glass walls which, for some reason, is quite common in Chinese hotels but there is a curtain to cover the wall. The staff I found very friendly and helpful e.g for writing destinations in Chinese characters for taxi drivers. The food in the restaurant was good but I thought a bit expensive. Get a deal with breakfast included if possible. Make sure you pay the bill in RMB not foreign currency.
Overall this is a nice hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrahamWelwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Stayed one night mid-August because of a flight schedule change and wanted something convenient to Nanputuo and Zhongshan Lu. Did not request but was upgraded to a 16th floor suite and enjoyed the opportunity to soak in a full-size bath. Clean and comfortable room. Wi-fi throughout at no extra charge and no annoying log-in. Staff can speak rudimentary English, but perhaps because they are not comfortable in the language were not terribly friendly or welcoming. Breakfast buffet including a huge selection covering western and Chinese tastes. Would stay again when visiting Xiamen.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheloniousRinpoche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
411 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

we stayed in a room without windows, which sounded very dubious initially, but after spending our first night there we were sold. the blackout effect creates the perfect sleeping cocoon, its completely quiet and the bed was extremely comfortable.

the room has plenty of internal lighting, so its not dark or dingy during the day.

the bathroom was large and clean and modern. i was a little put off by the glass doors and the curtains, instead of 'proper' walls and doors for the bathroom.

overall good comfort, easy and convenient location, and good value.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thistravelingdesignr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

This hotel is nice. Very different in a good way. Comfortable bed, clean room and everything you need is right there in the room. My only problem was, I kept on looking for a refrigerator. There was none!!! Staff was very helpful and breakfast was pretty good. Location is also fantastic. Will stay here again but will try the Swiss International Hotel next door first.

Room Tip: If you are booked in a room with no windows, try to ask for an upgrade. They will give it to you if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Ideal spot to holiday - very central to all you need to see and do in central Xiamen. Close to very modern shopping malls, cafes and restaurants. We upgraded our room looking out towrds the ocean - this is must. City views are ok but not the same as the sea. Rooms are spatious and must compliment them on the clean and comfy rooms with a huge open planned bathroom. Buffet breakfast included was sumptious and enjoyable - western and asian style - cater for everyone. My wife and mother-in-law was very pleased. Good value and you won't regret your decision to stay there. Only negative: no swimming pool or gym. Not a huge issue though.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phillc26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xiamen hotels
Pan Pacific Xiamen
#5 of 1,271 in Xiamen
618 reviews
Lujiang Harborview Hotel
#23 of 1,271 in Xiamen
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Xiamen
#2 of 1,271 in Xiamen
531 reviews
Siming District
Swiss Grand Xiamen
Swiss Grand Xiamen
#13 of 1,271 in Xiamen
825 reviews
Huli District
C&D Hotel Xiamen
C&D Hotel Xiamen
#16 of 1,271 in Xiamen
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xiamen Tegoo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xiamen Tegoo Hotel

Property: Xiamen Tegoo Hotel
Address: No.2 Lujiang Road,East Tower of First Xiamen Square, Xiamen 361001, China
Region: China > Fujian > Xiamen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 1,271 Hotels in Xiamen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Xiamen Tegoo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Xiamen Tegoo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing