We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kempinski Hotel Xiamen
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$42
US$39
ibis
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Le Meridien Xiamen(Xiamen)
US$179
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
US$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
US$103
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
US$50
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness centre
US$64
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveller rating
97
69
15
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
69
15
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgerman restaurantgerman beerpaulaner brauhausduring weekendsnice hotelsleep qualitybreakfast buffet isexcellent staystayed for nightsthe ground floorspacious roomwater pressureswimming poolrain showerclub loungelobbybusiness
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 190 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The hotel is abt 25 mins from airport. Go for their Grand Deluxe room at just a reasonable markup. Very spacious, new, and with lake view. The restaurants and lobby were huge. Very spacious. Services generally good. The only disadvantage is that there is no nearby decent convenient store / dept store within walking distance plus you need to travel to attraction points.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HKWIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny P, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Xiamen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest:

It is indeed my pleasure to have you stay in Kempinski Hotel Xiamen and truly appreicate your valued comment.

I sincerely look forward to welcoming you back once again upon your next visit to Xiamen.

Best regards,

Nick Eeles
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Rooms and amenities excellent. Unlike many Chinese hotels they have a lobby bar which is useful if you are waiting to meet people.
They have a sports/music bar which is good to go to if you are on your own for just drinks or meals. Menu could be better as it lacks many staple dishes.
Staff are generally very good, very friendly and try to be helpful. However their knowledge of where to find things ( shop for briefcase, golf course) needs improving. Their willingness to help is impressive, they sent someone out to buy a phone charger rather than letting me go myself.

Room Tip: Try to get away from the lifts to avoid late night revellers going past your door.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BestFarang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronique H, Manager at Kempinski Hotel Xiamen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

It is indeed my pleasure to have you stay in Kempinski Hotel Xiamen and truly appreicate your valued comment regarding hotel address card, and we shall address it accordingly.

I sincerely look forward to welcoming you back once again upon your next visit to Xiamen.

Best regards,

Nick Eeles
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed here as a treat for our anniversary and I booked a grand suite. The suite didn't disappoint, very spacious with separate lounge, toilet, and enormous bathroom. The free mini bar was good but only offered one coke, one tsing Tao etc and we are two people. Lovely flowers on arrival in the room. A big comfy bed. A few small whinges - we were asked which newspaper we wanted in checkin but we never got one. The bath leaked when draining. The shower door didn't close properly so water everywhere again. Not things you expect when paying 2200RMB a night, but not things to get too worried about either.
The staff are really good in this hotel and we were pleasantly surprised. Very friendly, smiling, and eager to please. We commented on several occasions that they must have been trained very well. The doormen/women were helpful and smiling. We ate in the Chinese restaurant (delicious) and Daisy was a great waitress, keeping our wine glasses topped up and very polite with it. I had some spa treatments and was a little surprised at a male therapist to start (I am female) but went with it and what healing hands he had. Peter was discreet, polite and friendly although spoke very little English. Generally the level of English in the hotel is better than expected, considering that very few people outside the hotel speak it.
We also spent an evening in the Bavarian bar next door. The band was great fun, and incredibly friendly. The beer was excellent. The staff were also really polite and spoke good English. We didn't eat there.
Overall this hotel exceeded our expectations. We didn't use the pool so can't comment on that. Breakfast was ok, a good selection but not brilliant. The fresh egg station was good, although a few people pushed in when we waited patiently for the busy chef to attend to us. The food has been sitting around for a bit so wasn't amazing, especially on the second day (Sunday) when it had either run out or looked distinctly old. Not good for a hotel of this standard.
They didn't tell us about our ability to use the executive lounge either, as we had a suite. We found this out just before we left the hotel. A shame as we would have liked to have used it.
You won't go wrong with this hotel, if you can stomach the room rates. We had a great, relaxing stay.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Coleyach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronique H, Manager at Kempinski Hotel Xiamen, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear Valued Guest:

It was indeed our pleasure to have you stay with us at Kempinski Hotel Xiamen and I truly appreciate your valued comments which are very much appreciated.

May I take this opportunity to apologise for the inconvenience you encountered regarding the minibar and not informing your access to the Executive Lounge upon check-in that we shall address this point you mentioned appropriately and I sincerely trust you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back to Kempinski Xiamen during which time you may experience the standard of service commensurate with Kempinski.

Once again I thank you for choosing Kempinski Xiamen during your recent visit and for your valued comments.

With my best personal regards

Nick Eeles
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

This is a great hotel and very majestic. The lobby is gigantic and very open with a nice sitting area to have a drink and relax. Their is a decent restaurant on the 2nd floor and a Paulaner beer hall on the 1st floor. The rooms have a very scenic view overlooking the lake. The room layout and amenities are nice. The soft drinks and most beers in the refrigerator are free. A little on the high side for cost, $160, but would be much more expensive in the states or most other places. I think a great place if you are on business or like staying at great hotels. The staff are extremely friendly and I had no problem communicating with them in English. The breakfast is really nice and came with the room.

Room Tip: Chose rooms overlooking the lake
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronique H, Manager at Kempinski Hotel Xiamen, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear Valued Guest:

It is indeed our pleasure to have you stay in Kempinski Hotel Xiamen and glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back once again upon your next visit to Xiamen.

Best regards,
Nick Eeles
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Before my Family and I departed on our trip , we had decided to have a couple of days in a flash hotel to finish our vacation , we choose to stay in the Kempinski after it had been highly recommended by German friend who is a resident in Xiamen . We were not disappointed , absolutely fabulous . The rooms ( were amazing ) , the service , everything . Location is fine , a walk down the lake at night to the Marco polo area is really nice . A great dumpling shop around the corner too . if you fancy a little bit luxury I would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Romblondavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronique H, Manager at Kempinski Hotel Xiamen, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear Valued Guest:

It is indeed our pleasure to have you stay in Kempinski Hotel Xiamen and glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back once again upon your next visit to Xiamen.

Best regards,
Nick Eeles
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews