We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“short stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marco Polo Xiamen

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Marco Polo Xiamen
Ranked #6 of 1,251 Hotels in Xiamen
Certificate of Excellence
Katy, tx
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“short stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

I stayed at the Marco Polo Xiamen in April. I did not arrive until after midnight, so all that I did was go staight to bed. I found the room to be very comfortable, dark, and quiet. I will stay again on my next trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julieblsnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teri C, Executive Secretary at Marco Polo Xiamen, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We are so glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us during your recent visit, and thank you very much for your wonderful sharing on your experience with us !

Your valuable compliment has been shared with our team, and please be assured that we will keep refining our products and services to delight your always.

Thank you for your wonderful feedbacks and looking forward to welcoming you back here soon.

Warmest regards.

Millie Tsui
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    279
    53
    15
    9
See reviews for
43
35
46
277
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Everything was perfect - the staff were very helpful and friendly and the bed was one of the more comfortable ones I have slept in recently. The location is perfect as well. I will certainly stay here again next time I am in Xiamen.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teri C, Executive Secretary at Marco Polo Xiamen, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us during your recent visit, and thank you very much for your wonderful sharing on your experience with us !

Marco Polo Xiamen enjoys quiet surroundings with a magnificent view overlooking the lake. We will continue with our best possible efforts to ensure our great hotel stays the best always, to delight you always.

Thank you for your wonderful feedbacks and looking forward to welcoming you back here soon.

Warmest regards.

Millie Tsui
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
210 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Let's get the negative out of the way first...this room was very hot...knowing this may be an issue, at check-in I asked if the AC was running and was told it was not...I asked for a fan but was told that they could not give me on....very odd, considering this is a rather pricey hotel, and since the rooms were sold out, I was paying to stay in a suite on the 5th floor.

As a result, the room is too hot...and there is no relief....which is a shame, because otherwise, this hotel is great.

The room has one of the best decors of any hotel room I have stayed in and the layout is perfect. The sheets and pillows are great (mattress is a little firm for me, but fine), and the drapes blackout the room completely.

Strongly recommend this hotel...as long as the AC is running...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSTSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teri C, Executive Secretary at Marco Polo Xiamen, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at Marco Polo Xiamen recently and spending your valuable time sharing your feedbacks.

Please accept our sincere apology for the A/C problem. Your comment has been forwarded to both Housekeeping and Technical Departments for high attention and improvement. We will definitely enhance monitoring on room temperature to ensure a more pleasure staying environment for our guests. Should you encounter any difficulty on your next visit, please feel free to contact our Duty Manager who will be delighted to assist you.

Thank you once again for your valuable comments and look forward to welcoming you back here again soon.

Warmest regards.

Millie Tsui
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York Mills, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

You have a good hotel, you have a huge restaurant and you try to work it understaffed?
We went yesterday with 2 other friends, sited , the table is comfortable and the chairs are soft.
But thing else will make you reconsider if you will come back.
After we did a rather modest order because the pricing probably is higher than NY or even Beijing 5 star hotels in-house restaurants, we started to undress the place was hot. we asked for aircon use but 3 times they said '' yes i know'', starters came, medium impression. we asked for 3 glasses of wine, white wine. They asked if we want cold or no.!!!!! we said cold. So we got 2 ice-cubes in our glass of white wine .!!!!! non smoking area but , i was smelling cigar. i asked the poor girl that was alone what's this smell . She said it comes from VIP rooms. WTH. trying to serve 25 people with 2 girls is not a good idea. at the end we just payed before all food come to the table. 1h 20 and not all the sushi served. we finish our dinner at the ground floor Starbacks. Coffee and panini . I hope the manager will look to it. i am not staying at this hotel but a lot of foreigners in the dining room were having the same bad experience

Room Tip: did not stay in hotel, just visited the Japanese restaurant at the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 240natalia1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teri C, Executive Secretary at Marco Polo Xiamen, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding our Japanese Restaurant, and please accept our sincere apology for the unpleasant dining experience.

Your comments have been forwarded to our Food & Beverage Manager for immediate review and further necessary actions to improve our service quality. Meanwhile, more relevant training will also be conducted for our staff to enhance their serving skills and efficiency.

Thank you once again as our service could only be improved through valuable customer's feedback like yours. We look forward to welcoming you back to Marco Polo Xiamen in the very near future.

Warmest regards.

Millie Tsui
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

The rooms are well equiped, it has a good sound and light isolation that provised a good night sleep. the every day cleaness is very good, the breakfast has limited options but everything is very tasted. The location is also an advantage. Staff very skilled.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarinaldoCampos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teri C, Executive Secretary at Marco Polo Xiamen, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us during your recent visit, and thank you very much for your wonderful sharing on your experience with us !

Your comments are highly appreciated and will definitely look into the variety of breakfast as mentioned for further improvement.

Thank you for your wonderful feedbacks and looking forward to welcoming you back here soon.

Warmest regards.

Millie Tsui
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herning, Ringkobing, Denmark
Level Contributor
116 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Hotel, which I can only recommend. Stayed in room 549, which was a big appartment and a great view over the river. Good service and nice atmosphere. When I come back to Xiamen again, I want to stay at this hotel

Room Tip: Room 549 - great room and view over the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teri C, Executive Secretary at Marco Polo Xiamen, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very delighted to have you stay with us recently and thank you very much for your wonderful touches on your experience with us!

Marco Polo Xiamen enjoys quiet surroundings with a magnificent view overlooking the lake. We will continue with our best possible efforts to ensure our great hotel stays the best always, to delight you always

Thanks again and looking forward to having you here soon!

Warmest regards

Millie Tsui
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

I recently visited Xiamen on Business. I stayed at the Marco Polo, which is located at the side of the lake. I booked the hotel on the internet and when I arrived, I was given an upgrade to a club room. When booking the hotel, I arranged pick up from the airport through the hotel. The hotel arranged a limousine taxi for me and when I came through from the arrivals, there was a driver waiting, no hassle.
The hotel is of a high standard, well laid out in the reception area, with a large area to meet people and to socialise. The rooms are very well laid out, with a welcome pack of fruit and other goodies.
The hotel has a number of good restaurants at reasonable prices. In addition, outside the hotel, are a number of very good restaurants including Italian and steak.
I would recommend this hotel for anyone who likes nice hotels, which are quite.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Welshman1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teri C, Executive Secretary at Marco Polo Xiamen, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much and it is so nice to receive your wonderful comments!

We are so happy to see you had a great time exploring our hotel facilities and the surrounding attractions. Marco Polo Xiamen is indeed an oasis within this scenic city, and we are looking forward for your next visit as a holiday maker, to discover the many interesting attractions in and around this beautiful city of Xiamen.

Do have a nice week ahead and we will be most happy to arrange your next visit here again.

Warmest regards.

Millie Tsui
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xiamen hotels
Pan Pacific Xiamen
#3 of 1,251 in Xiamen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
The Westin Xiamen
#1 of 1,251 in Xiamen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Siming District
Swiss Grand Xiamen
Swiss Grand Xiamen
#11 of 1,251 in Xiamen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Xiamen
#5 of 1,251 in Xiamen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Pullman Xiamen Powerlong
#7 of 1,251 in Xiamen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Langham Place Xiamen
#4 of 1,251 in Xiamen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Xiamen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Xiamen

Property: Marco Polo Xiamen
Address: No.8 Jianye Road, Hubin North, Xiamen 361012, China
Region: China > Fujian > Xiamen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Xiamen
#6 Luxury Hotel in Xiamen
#7 Business Hotel in Xiamen
#17 Best Value Hotel in Xiamen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Polo Xiamen 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marco Polo Xiamen uniquely blends the grace of ancient China with today's modernity. It is the best address for a business traveller- a home away from home with legendary hospitality and personalised service. With its 300 exquisitely designed rooms and suites, Marco Polo Xiamen enjoys the scenic lake view with the convenience of a city location- 15 minutes drive by car from the international airport. The hotel provides complimentary bus service to and from the airport and also limousine service. The rooms at Marco Polo Xiamen are designed for comfort and privacy for the discerning business travellers. The business and leisure facilities offered in Marco Polo are unparalleled in Xiamen - the Continental Club Floor offers a fully-equipped private Club Lounge with panoramic view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Marco Polo Xiamen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Xiamen Hotel Xiamen
Marco Polo Hotel Xiamen
Xiamen Marco Polo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing