We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient Location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Millennium Harbourview Hotel Xiamen
Ranked #15 of 1,264 Hotels in Xiamen
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Convenient Location.”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel looks a little dated but for the location, I will choose to stay here again. Hotel is only 3 mins walk to Zhongshan Road, where you can enjoy lots of street snacks, drinks & dessert. There's also Wal Mart, Carrefour & KFC all within walking distance. Hotel is also near to the ferry terminal to Gulangyu. From the hotel, I took a cab to the ferry terminal which is only a 5 mins taxi ride and cost RMB 16.
Room is ok, what you can expect of a typical 5 star hotel.
Wifi is quite weak, take ages to load photos.
Hotel gym is a disappointment.
No ear phone provided and the equipment are very run-down. The weights are all rusty. I think they need to do a proper up-keep of the gym.
Overall an average hotel in an optimal location (food wise).

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimidichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager1155, Manager at Millennium Harbourview Hotel Xiamen, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment , it is coming to the high season of tourists to Xiamen, people are coming for the best location hotel to have a good rest and recreation , and obviously Millennium Xiamen is the one.

The wifi you have mentioned may come out of rare case, or some world websites not compatible to China region, it happens , maybe VPN will help. We are also considering your suggestion for fitness centre and will work on it.

Guests comments always give us many ideas and feedbacks to improve ourselves.

Thank you again and we wish to see you in Millennium Xiamen,

Millennium Harbourview Hotel Xiamen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    236
    57
    5
    6
See reviews for
58
48
19
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pasig-Ortigas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed in Millenium Harborview Xiamen since its heydays when it was still known by its old name "Holiday Inn Crowne Plaza Xiamen" (if I remember correctly). It is the sister hotel of Manila's Crown Plaza Galleria which also used to be known as Holiday Inn.

As far as I'm concerned, this is just an average so-so business hotel in Xiamen.

Nothing special and probably even inferior to other 5-star hotels I've stayed at in China like Ramada Shanghai.

It was the travel agency who booked our stay here as we often went on our annual pilgrimage to the temples of Mount Putuosan in Zhejiang but our plane often had to make an overnight stopover to Xiamen so in the last 9 years, I've stayed in this hotel at least 10 times if counting other separate trips to China. But each time I only stayed either overnight or at most 2 or 3 nights with my family.

There are only 2 good things about this hotel:

1) The daily Breakfast Buffet is very good and has many many choices to choose from, mostly western dishes like pancakes, waffles and bacon which I like. They also have Chinese and Japanese dishes to choose from and I always look forward to waking up early just to eat the delicious breakfast here.

2) This hotel is right next to the lively and bustling Zhong-Shan Road, which has many many shops, restaurants, bars, etc. to keep you entertained the whole day and night. In fact, Millenium Harborview Xiamen hotel has a rear exit located by the side of the hotel which is directly on Zhong-Shan Road, allowing you easy and convenient access to this very well-lit, secure, safe, and lively district.

But aside from these two good things I mentioned, nothing much to write home about.

Although I cannot judge the suites of this hotel because our travel agent always booked us on ordinary Superior rooms, I'm pretty sure that no matter how nice the suites are here, they cannot be on the same scale as Raffles Makati or Makati Shangri-La or even Radisson Blu Cebu.

The Superior room that we stayed in was clean and fresh, but a bit small and cramped and the bathroom is somewhat old-style in spite of the recent renovations done. We always request for an extra bed as we are 3 people in a family cramped into 1 room. Usually, we have to inform the Front Desk several times just to get the extra bed set up in our room. But in the end, they always follow through by sending a chambermaid to set it up. She usually does a nice job so we give her a handsome tip.

Most hotel staff cannot even speak a word of English and don't even bother trying to especially if they see you're Asian-looking. Hence, I just kept quiet and let my family do the talking as I often get blank stares whenever I converse with any staff in English. Aside from this, most of the staff I encountered were quite helpful and very careful with our luggage. I haven't lost a single piece of luggage since I stayed in this hotel.

Aside from the buffet restaurant, I haven't tried the Japanese or the American restaurants on the ground floor so I cannot judge. But there's now a small patio bar inside the hotel near the Lobby which serves snacks and some drinks, though not very wide selection.

Elevators are smooth and will take you up or down quickly and quietly without much wait. Lobby is not that big but some plant life near the seating area help ease the somber atmosphere. There are some travel agencies located on the 2nd floor of the hotel for those who need to book a flight and a business center on the ground floor where staff is quite helpful and efficient in processing my Mom's request to call long-distance at an affordable rate.

We always arrived by tourist bus so I cannot judge the parking area or if there's basement parking here.

Overall, just an average-Joe so-so business hotel. Good for business meetings or short-term stays but they need to improve their hotel facilities and staff proficiency in English if they want guests like me to stay long-term.

Recommended for business travelers or short-term stays.

Room Tip: Insist on a Non-Smoking room as the people in China have a penchant for smoking in hotel rooms and e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hitoshi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager1155, Manager at Millennium Harbourview Hotel Xiamen, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Sir ,

Thank you very much for your comment,

It is with great honour and being touched to read through your words , that is so detailed and might have taken you quite a lot of time. Our hotel was the Crowne Plaza exactly and rebranded to Millennium since 2008 , as the first International hotel in Xiamen , we really appreciate guests like you to give us so much support .

The two major points you mentioned , Breakfast and good location have always been the key issues for most of the travellers , that is what we care first things first. We never stop serving our guests with our pleasant smile and refreshed ambiance, and international guests can always have least language barrier at Front desk or with senior staff . To educate young people at basic service level to learn English is always a tough issue in China, we are doing hard on it .

Our hotel also provide Japanese cuisine , Italian Food and Traditional Chinese Food , please have a try at you next visit. Our basement parking lot is a convenience for people who travelling with cars.

Guests with us more than 8 years are our treasures , please let us know upon your next visit. Let us have something special for your pleasant stay.

Sincerely yours,

Millennium Harbourview Hotel Xiamen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel doesn't understand privacy. They will hand access to your room without prior authorization. Their claim will be that it is due to group booking yet a claimed 5 star hotel should always check with the guest before handing access to one's room. Sorry will not stay in this chain again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank sanskrit72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager1155, Manager at Millennium Harbourview Hotel Xiamen, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for your Comment, we are so regretful to have seen this mis-understanding happening to your stay, which occurred between your group organizer , you and hotel. Guest satisfaction is always our first concern , there is always something for us to learn to make sure 100% guest comfort and safety. We do believe that our sincerity will assure ever-lasting improvement at the service and we are always offering your our best effort to make your stay perfect.

As a word in Millennium Hotel , ' You are the centre of our world!' We promise and we do !

Truly yours ,

Millennium Harbourview Hotel Xiamen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

After the very pleasant experience at the Grand Millennium in Beijing recently, did not hesitate to book their sister hotel in Xiamen. Was not thrilled at all. Was here 3½ years ago, and it has anything but improved. In fact, not exactly well maintained over the years and reportedly several owners. Room is very average and bathroom is quite small. Internet speed is poor! Place is infested with Chinese tourists, which always spells "Hmmm", especially during bf hours when it is really quite crowded and awfully noisy. Near the popular tourist shopping area and allegedly the oldest part of town; so if you are habitually a late night snack muncher, you may find this hotel very convenient as some of the smaller eateries open until the wee hours. Otherwise, there're lots of better hotels to choose from in this city!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dochenry2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager1155, Manager at Millennium Harbourview Hotel Xiamen, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you very much for your comment,

We read out that you must be a sophisticated traveller with rich experience, who definitely could offer lots of information and advice for us. And as the first international hotel in Xiamen City , we have been always caught up improving our facilities and services to keep up with the everchaning demand and need of guests.

Xiamen is becoming more and more popular , and we are doing everything to maintain big stream of people to live happily in our hotel. We know it is not an easy task , and we trust the best location of our hotel ,which connects Zhongshan Pedestrian Road , Gulangyu Island, South Putuo Temple and The Botanical Garden, will have its unique attraction. Our service and food choices of Italian, Japanese and Chinese flavours will also play an important role for entertaining our guests.

We will take your words, and do our best to make progress. Please return when you have another chance back to Xiamen, we are sure to offer you a very different sense of comfort. 'You are the centre of our world' ,the motto of Millennium will tell you the truth.

Sincerely ,

Millennium Harbourview Hotel Xiamen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
181 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I arrived after midnight. The staff seems to be new and taken quite some time. The room is basic and the bed not particularly comfortable. My room faces the road and it got quite noisy in the morning. The breakfast is basic and there were not enough staff in the restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lau_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager1155, Manager at Millennium Harbourview Hotel Xiamen, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your comment.

The things you mentioned we will improve. We are sorry for the noise from outside. We know, that in these days there is construction what can make our quests not very satisfied.


Thank you again for your comment

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Hotel is one of the older hotels in Xiamen, but offers comfortable accommodation. Bell boys offered little assistance on arrival by taxi. From the airport is a 20 minute ride costing 43RMB. No separate club floor check in offered. Reception staff quite welcoming with a reasonable command of English. Room on 17th club floor was quite spacious and equipped with a south eastern partial view over the harbour. Club lounge nothing to write home about but rate includes for 2 persons. A selection of hot and cold canapés served between 5.30-7.30pm. Alcoholic drinks upon request. Two internet stations available with printer. Breakfast spread quite generous with a wide selection of japanese, chinese and western varieties, including an omelette and noodle station. Another facility is the foot massage centre located on the ground floor with reasonable prices. Hotel is a 15 minute walk to the recommended Gulangyu Island Ferry, Zhongshan Lu is 10 minutes. Try the oyster pancakes. A recommended tour is a visit to the Unesco's Tulous but is a 3 hr coach ride.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TokyoJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager1155, Manager at Millennium Harbourview Hotel Xiamen, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Guest,

we appreciate your really detailed comment.

Our hotel does not belong to the new one, we have long tradition and experience and we are trying to do our best to make our guests satisfied and pleased.

Thank you for staying with us. We are looking forward to see you again in future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. I stayed there twice, once in a double room and once in a single room. I found the room to be great. The bed was perfect, showers great, and everything was impeccably clean. Although, I admit the name is misleading, I found the service to be its best selling point as opposed to the view. The bellhop was friendly and allowed me to store luggage even after checking out. The waiters and waitresses in the hotel were very nice and attentive. I was with a friend who couldn't eat solid food at the time, and they went extra lengths to get him chicken soup. The breakfast buffet was also amazing. If you have time, I would definitely recommend getting a foot massage there as well. The location of the hotel is conveniently located (not next to the harbor), but near one of the most active places in Xiamen, near many great shopping and dining locations, particularly near the pedestrian street that leads to the harbor. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bballdragon5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager1155, Manager at Millennium Harbourview Hotel Xiamen, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for staying in our hotel and for the time you spent to write the comment.

We are very glad, that you were satisfied with Millennium Harbourview Hotel Xiamen. We are trying to do our best to make provide a pleasant stay in our hotel.

Thank you again for such a nice comment.

Hope to see you again in future

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xiamen hotels
Pan Pacific Xiamen
#4 of 1,264 in Xiamen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Xiamen Tegoo Hotel
#20 of 1,264 in Xiamen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Siming District
Swiss Grand Xiamen
Swiss Grand Xiamen
#11 of 1,264 in Xiamen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Indigo Xiamen Harbour
#13 of 1,264 in Xiamen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
The Westin Xiamen
#3 of 1,264 in Xiamen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Marco Polo Xiamen
#5 of 1,264 in Xiamen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Harbourview Hotel Xiamen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Harbourview Hotel Xiamen

Property: Millennium Harbourview Hotel Xiamen
Address: No.12-8 Zhen Hai Road, Xiamen 361001, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Fujian > Xiamen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Xiamen
#19 Business Hotel in Xiamen
#24 Best Value Hotel in Xiamen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Millennium Harbourview Hotel Xiamen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 352
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right next to Line 1 Metro Terminal Station and in the historic port city of Xiamen, this 22-storey luxury hotel fuses modernity and culture, and offers beautiful sea-views from most rooms. The ferry pier to scenic Gulangyu Island is just a short driving distance, while many other attractions such as Nanputuo Temple, the Botanic Garden, and Hulishan Fortress are minutes away as well. Perfectly set up for business, we have many flexible venues with advanced facilities that can be configured to suit your specific requirements for conferences, seminars, celebrations, or other special occasions. When you're done exploring, you can unwind at our restaurants and bars, reinvigorate yourself at the gym or pool, or perhaps, place your tired feet in the care of an expert reflexologist. Step in and experience Xiamen hospitality at its finest.Book here for our Best Price Guarantee promise. Earn and spend loyalty points on all qualifying stays. The level of points, benefits and privileges are subject to availability and may vary at certain participating hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millennium Harbourview Hotel Xiamen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Harbourview Xiamen
Xiamen Millennium Harbourview Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing