We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but a few niggles”
Review of Pan Pacific Xiamen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pan Pacific Xiamen
Ranked #4 of 1,298 Hotels in Xiamen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights. All very niceexcept for a few comments:
1 - Sound proofing isn't brilliant and was woken by someone coughing in next room.
2 - Rooms are very nice, they've obviously been refurbished recently and some of the work is a bit dodgy but overall nice.
3 - my bathroom had water stains around some of the marble which detracted slightly from what they've done and the bath plug didn't work (wouldn't drain).
4 - Plumbing was a bit noisy especially the waste pipes.
5 - Some of the design touches are really nice but by the pool you got a feeling for how old the hotel really is by looking at the outside.
6 - Pool area was a nice idea but the surrounding scenary isn't very nice and they're refurbing a tower block opposite which meant lots of noise (couldn't hear the noise in the hotel but outside was not good and that was on a Sunday!!).
7 - Restaurant breakfast and dinner buffets were nice but not as good as the Shangri La if you're familiar?
8 - Spa was a bit of a disaster and lacked professionalism. I won't go into lots of detail but by the time you'd debated what treatments were available and a few other things that just don't happen in high quality Spa facilities you were probably 50% more stressed than if you had stayed in your room which is kinda defeating the object. Management if you read this, get yourselves into the Spa for a treatment and all will become evident; you need to invest more in your people and train them properly so they understand the standards you want to deliver. You've got some nice people but they just haven't been trained adequately.

So all in all I would stay here again for business or whilst in transit to aholiday destination.

Nearly forgot, both my colleague and I were upgraded to a better room so thanks for that it was a nice surprise.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyDeeEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ppxmn, Director of Rooms Operations at Pan Pacific Xiamen, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2010

Dear Sir

Warm greetings from Pan Pacific Xiamen!

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We appreciate that you have also taken the time to write a review of your stay here on TripAdvisor.

We were delighted to receive your star ratings and appreciate your detailed comments and recommendations. It is through continuous feedback from our guests that we are able to objectively review the facilities & services we provide to ensure that they meet expectations.

We are sorry you were awoken by a noisy neighbour and regret the inconvenience this caused. We ask that you please accept our apologies and can only promise to try to better allocate you room for your next stay.

You have made some very valuable comments about your guest room which we are reviewing with our Chief Engineer and Executive Housekeeper. Unfortunately, as yours is an anonymous review, it is proving a little difficult to pin point exactly which one of our 387 guest rooms you were accommodated in. We would like to ask you to contact our hotel directly however that is against the regulations for “management responses” posted on this website.

One of the nice features of our rooms is the many varied designs of our all marble bathrooms. We are now on the look out for the water stained marble area you have described so we can address the issue. Also, as part of our regular room servicing, we will be testing all the bath plugs. We hope that during your future visits you would kindly alert us as soon as possible of anything that would make your stay more comfortable so we may take immediate action.

Your experience with our Spa is way short of the high standards you may expect of our hotel. Your comments and suggestions have been very well noted. Our Resident Manager has been informed and we are working with the management of that area to correct the problems you have detailed. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused.

From time to time, when circumstances allow it is with great pleasure we offer a complimentary room upgrade to our guests. We are unsure of the situation that lead to you and your colleague’s receiving this benefit but are delighted to know you enjoyed the nice surprise!

It will be our pleasure to welcome you and your colleague back to our hotel. We hope to have this opportunity sometime soon.

We would like to end our “management response” with a famous Chinese message of goodwill for your business:

"Shengyi Xinglong!"

Yours Sincerely

Richard Murphy
Director of Rooms Operations
Pan Pacific Xiamen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (653)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

269 - 275 of 653 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2010

The Pan Pacific in Xiamen is good choice considering the value for money. Our room was spacious with a great clean bathroom. The breakfast buffet could be better, especially since they do not replace items that are gone (such as fruits). The ourdoor pool is more like a larger version of a jacuzzi with a construction site right next to it (March 2010). Worst thing, the internet access costs 60RMB (!!!), that is about 9 USD per day. Sorry, but this simply leaves the feeling of being ripped off. Especially when every B&B joint in China offers free wireless...

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nealz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ppxmn, Director of Rooms Operations at Pan Pacific Xiamen, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2010

Dear Sir

Warm greetings from our team at Pan Pacific Xiamen!

Many thanks for your recent stay with our hotel. We also appreciate that you have taken the time to write a review of our hotel for TripAdvisor.

We are glad you enjoyed our spacious rooms and bathroom. Our Executive Housekeeper was delighted to read your comment about the cleanliness. Our housekeeping team work hard to maintain the high standard of our bathrooms and your recognition of their efforts mean a lot – thank you!

It is not clear at which hour you took our breakfast buffet, but you may expect a plentiful spread at all times. Please accept our sincere apologies if some items were not replenished in a timely manner. Your point has been well noted by our Director of Restaurants, Bars and Events and our Executive Chef for their immediate attention and action.

Your description of our 20 metre outdoor leisure lap pool and children’s pool adjacent to our restaurant on the 3rd floor is an interesting one!

We are lucky to have our pool and surrounding alfresco terrace space for outdoor dining. As the weather in Xiamen becomes warmer this area is popular with guests for a meal poolside under the shade of an over-sized sun umbrella or under the night stars and colourful lights of the surrounding CBD. We hope you may have the opportunity to enjoy this space on a future trip to Xiamen.

Our aim as hoteliers is to ensure we meet your expectations to feel welcomed and comfortable, so we are sorry the Internet charge left you with a bad feeling.

Please be assured that we are continually investing in the quality of our wired and wireless Internet which is available all throughout the hotel including every room and suite. Unfortunately this comes at a price from our external provider and for guests who stay with a ‘room only’ package then opt to use this service, we do pass on a charge.

Others may offer “free” Internet access but this is usually reflected in a much higher room rate. Although you were charged, we believe that the amount should appear reasonable when you take into account our international standard hotel product when compared with local bed and breakfast inns, and our better value rates compared with other five star rated hotels.

We feel fortunate to be based in such dynamic place as Xiamen. We genuinely hope that you enjoyed the many attractions of this beautiful city and hope that you may have the opportunity to visit again soon. Indeed it will be our pleasure to welcome you back to Pan Pacific Xiamen!

Yours Sincerely

Richard Murphy
Director of Rooms Operations
Pan Pacific Xiamen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2010

This is a beautiful hotel on par with its Western counterparts, as was evidenced by the many foreigners that were also staying at the hotel. The staff was friendly, helpful, and prompt with service. The fitness center was clean and well-maintained. I cannot comment on the food in the hotel, but overall our experience was excellent. Our only complaint was that internet was not included in the rate. I have read that there are multiple packages available customized to every traveler's needs, however, given that this is 2010 and not 1990, most travelers if not all require access to the internet whether for business or leisure.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShortChang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ppxmn, Director of Rooms Operations at Pan Pacific Xiamen, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2010

Dear Guest

Warm greetings from our team at Pan Pacific Xiamen!

Thank you for choosing us as your accommodation during your visit to Xiamen and we hope you have had a good onward journey. Furthermore, we appreciate that you have taken the time to post your review of our hotel online at TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to learn of your experience and greatly appreciate your kind words about our facilities and service. We will use your comments in our various internal communications around our hotel to share the message that our efforts to offer personalized care to all our guests are making a difference. This is motivating and encouraging for all our associates.

Yes, it is true, as you have highlighted here, most travelers even those on a leisure trip require Internet connectivity. Our business guests and corporate meeting organizers with their guests, who are often traveling on very tight schedules, demand reliable, high quality Internet access.

We understand the importance of these needs and over the years have worked with our external Internet supplier, continually investing in available upgrades to ensure the best possible Internet connectivity for everyone in our hotel. In addition to our in room cable connection, we were among the first hotels in the city to offer the convenience of wireless Internet throughout the entire hotel and in every room and suite.

Others may offer “free” Internet access but this is usually reflected in a much higher room rate. Although you were charged, we believe that the amount should appear reasonable when you take into account our better value rates.

I can confirm that we are already in discussions with our Internet provider seeking their support for an even better, more competitive Internet supply. As such, your opinion is both timely and appreciated as we review the situation with them and our management team.

Xiamen is a truly wonderful city and as the weather becomes warmer her attractions, especially around Bailouzhou Park, Yuandang Lake and the miles of picturesque coastline are even more inviting. We trust that you enjoyed the city and hope to have the pleasure of your company again very soon. Our team looks forward to welcoming you back to Pan Pacific Xiamen!

Yours Sincerely

Richard Murphy
Director of Rooms Operations
Pan Pacific Xiamen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2010

I booked this hotel on the strength of the reviews on Tripadvisor, I wasn't dissapointed.

This was my first visit to China, specifically Xiamen on Business (trade fair) and the Pan Pacific was everything I expected.

The rooms are clean and well presented, the staff very helpful with enough English to help, if they don't understand they immediately find another member of staff to help. Room layout is with the business user in mind, internet access good with a charge of 60RMB per day (£6).

The food was varied and pleasant and covers most tastes, I found the buffet and breakfast both good value for money.

This hotel is not cheap, but it's not expensive either. I usually try to book JW Marroitt whenever I travel but the Pan has exceeded any Marriott I've stayed in to date. This is the best value 5 Star hotel I've ever visited and I would heartily recommend it to any traveller visiting Xiamen on business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ATSSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ppxmn, Director of Rooms Operations at Pan Pacific Xiamen, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2010

Dear Sir

Warm greetings from our team at Pan Pacific Xiamen!

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with a review of our hotel here online at TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate your whole hearted recommendation!

Using our guiding principles of respect and personalized genuine care, our aim each day is to meet and whenever possible, exceed the expectations of our guests. We want to ensure every visitor to Pan Pacific Xiamen is made to feel welcome, recognized, important and comfortable.

We are glad you enjoyed your room. Your favourable words will be shared with our Executive Housekeeper and her hard working team to both acknowledge their efforts and encourage them to continue to do their best to maintain clean and well presented rooms.

Ongoing English as a foreign language training is a top priority for our hotel and as such, we really appreciate your comment about the English level of our staff. Our in house English training programme allows staff associates to improve and upgrade their English language skills to give them the confidence and understanding needed when communicating with our very international customer base.

We were also pleased to learn of the resourcefulness you noticed of associates looking for help from their colleagues when they did not understand. This is a nice example of the “can do” attitude we encourage at throughout our hotel.

Thank you for your comments about our breakfast. This is terrific feedback for our Director of Restaurants, Bars & Events and our Executive Chef to share with their teams.

Under the guidance of our Director of Sales, our sales team work hard to create the very best possible promotions that offer real value to our guests. We appreciate your acknowledgement of good value and we hope you will consider some of our other good value accommodation proposals for your next visit to Pan Pacific Xiamen.

We trust you had a smooth onward journey and look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to Xiamen again very soon.

We would like to finish this “management response” with a Chinese good wish from our team. A good will message for you, your family and your continued business success:

“Wan Shi Ru Yi!”

Yours Sincerely

Richard Murphy
Director of Rooms Operations
Pan Pacific Xiamen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2010

frist stayed at the pan pac 2 years ago, when it was sofitel and now pan pac. i have had no reason to change the venue as the hotel is well located from airport. western food and drinks are always a pleasant break, after doing business, travelling and staying in some remote places. like a goo battery recharge.

front door - concierge are always helpful and courteous.

checkin and out is freindly and courteous as well, but i still find in chinese hotels checkin out is a laborious process.

always seems to be a lot of paper shuffling and double checking but maybe thats me when i am tired.

rooms are great, well appointed and comfortable. always room to work at a good desk and catch up on emails in peace and quite.

i eat at the western buffet as it is quick, easy, well serviced and i like the the wooden floors, decor and service. i am not big on al la carte, local restaurants when travelling.

i esepecailly like the service from your staff, the buffet and rooms.

i dont like checkin out but thats my impatience.

maybe if one is a regular stayer then a copy of current passport be held on file. i find it ludicrous in this day and age that when one is in the country one is continually tracke checked and pasport always being requested but this is china in general..

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murf52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ppxmn, Director of Rooms Operations at Pan Pacific Xiamen, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2010

Dear Guest

Thank you for your long and ongoing support of our hotel.

We appreciate that you choose to stay with us and thank you for taking the time to write a review of Pan Pacific Xiamen here on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your detailed comments about our hotel’s facilities and services.

As hoteliers, our business is looking after people to ensure they feel welcome and comfortable in our hotel. Your compliments about the helpful, friendly and courteous attitude of our team mean a lot and will be shared with our staff associates to acknowledge efforts and help us motivated.

We are glad you enjoy our hotel rooms and design of our restaurants. Pan Pacific Xiamen was designed to offer our guests a very practical yet elegant environment in which to work, relax and play. Thank you for acknowledging this in your review.

Just to clarify, registration procedures in this city are strictly monitored by the local Public Security Bureau. This authority has a zero tolerance policy toward incomplete or incorrect registration of guests and they conduct regular inspections of our hotel to ensure compliance.

This means that for every guest, every time, we need to physically sight and scan relevant identification documents at the point of check in. In addition, for foreign passport holders we need to record the latest entry “chop” with details of the Chinese city of entry. We regret that at times this may delay your arrival experience and thank you for your understanding.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Xiamen to “recharge your batteries” with another stay at Pan Pacific Xiamen.

Wishing you great success in your business for the Chinese New Year of the Tiger!

Yours Sincerely

Richard Murphy
Director of Rooms Operations
Pan Pacific Xiamen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2010

The Pan Pacific Xiamen Hotel, is truly a wonderful experiance. Located in the heart of Xiamen city Fujian province China. It's hotel staff are remarkable, all there to help and please your every desire. The rooms are very clean, well equipped and modern with a most comfortable bed. The food is varied, fresh and delicious. It's like home away from home !!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peterpac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ppxmn, Director of Rooms Operations at Pan Pacific Xiamen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2010

Dear Sir

Warm greetings from our staff associate team here at Pan Pacific Xiamen!

We sincerely thank you for spending the time to share your experiences with our hotel here on TripAdvisor. We are motivated by such positive feedback on our facilities and services.

We appreciate your comments about our prime location and favourable remarks about our rooms and beds. Our Director of Restaurants, Bars& Events, our Executive Chef and their culinary teams were especially delighted to know you enjoy the range of food we offer.

We try to meet then exceed the expectations of all our guests and it is our pleasure to be of service. Thank you for your encouraging words about our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Pan Pacific Xiamen your ‘home away from home’ in this exciting city!

As the Spring approaches, we wish you good health, great happiness and ample prosperity for the Chinese New Year of the Tiger.

Yours Sincerely

Richard Murphy
Director of Rooms Operations
Pan Pacific Xiamen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2010

I've been lucky enough to stay here a couple of times, and it's immense. I've stayed in some nice hotels in Hong Kong, Dubai etc, but this one is my all time favourite. It's funky, modern and the rooms are plush and luxurious - top tip, stay on the top floor. I don't think it's much more (we paid the equivalent of about £100 per night I think) and it's well worth it.

The nightlife in Xiamen is great fun too!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JasminaJasmina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ppxmn, Director of Rooms Operations at Pan Pacific Xiamen, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2010

Dear Tripadvisor member

Warm greetings from our team at Pan Pacific Xiamen!

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our hotel here online at Tripadvisor.

We were delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stays with us while in this exciting city. This gives us great satisfaction and we are encouraged to continue to do our best to ensure the very best possible hotel experience for all our guests every time.

We are glad you like the design of our rooms. In fact, we have rooms and suites in many different configurations, all a tasteful blend of East and West, designed with style and comfort in mind.

Our accommodation and room promotion rates have been created with value in mind and we appreciate that you have acknowledged this here in your review.

We take real pleasure in welcoming guests back to Pan Pacific Xiamen and we hope we will have the opportunity to meet with you again very soon. In the meanwhile, as the Chinese New Year of the Tiger approaches, we would like to wish you, you family and friends a very happy, healthy and prosperous New Year ahead.

Yours Sincerely

Richard Murphy
Director of Rooms Operations
Pan Pacific Xiamen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xiamen hotels
Marco Polo Xiamen
#6 of 1,298 in Xiamen
681 reviews
Crowne Plaza Paragon Xiamen
#10 of 1,298 in Xiamen
531 reviews
Le Meridien Xiamen
#3 of 1,298 in Xiamen
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Xiamen
#1 of 1,298 in Xiamen
463 reviews
Pullman Xiamen Powerlong
#12 of 1,298 in Xiamen
325 reviews
Huli District
C&D Hotel Xiamen
C&D Hotel Xiamen
#18 of 1,298 in Xiamen
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pan Pacific Xiamen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan Pacific Xiamen

Address: No.19 Hubin North Road, Xiamen 361012, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Fujian > Xiamen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Xiamen
#3 Spa Hotel in Xiamen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Xiamen
#4 Luxury Hotel in Xiamen
#6 Best Value Hotel in Xiamen
Price Range: £69 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pan Pacific Xiamen 5*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a five-star luxury hotel and serviced suites experience in Xiamen Indulge in modern luxury in the heart of Xiamen's financial and entertainment district at Pan Pacific Xiamen. Located within a short five-minute walk to Xiamen-Gulang Island Ferry Terminal, 20 minutes away from the international airport and within walking distance from the city's major attractions, our hotel is your gateway to a myriad of enriching experiences amidst the alluring old-world charm of China. At 29 storeys high, our modern hotel affords stunning views of Xiamen's spectacular coastline. The 354 artistically decorated rooms and fully equipped serviced suites and apartments are equipped with thoughtful lighting effects to create a relaxing retreat. Offering well-appointed wellness and meeting facilities and a wide array of superior epicurean options, Pan Pacific Xiamen provides the perfect base for both the discerning business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Pan Pacific Hotels Group, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pan Pacific Xiamen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pan Pacific Xiamen Hotel Xiamen
Xiamen Pan Pacific
Sofitel Xiamen
Xiamen Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing