We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the money”
Review of Gem Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gem Hotel
Ranked #485 of 1,269 Hotels in Xiamen
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth the money”
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

For what I paid for this is an excellent deal. Conveniently located to the busiest street and centrally located to any other locations in the city.

Check in at 2/26 evening only one guy and one girl in the front desk. The girl talked to you like you owed her a million and don't ever bother her, she had the ugliest poker face and coldest voice answering your questions. Everything was perfect except this unprofessional and extremely impolite front desk.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Allen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    68
    44
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
5
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

As mentioned by other travellers, the hotel's location is great! Turning left from the hotel is zhongshan road (walking street). The hotel's stanadard is acceptable though the water pressure was kind of too low. The bathroom is also kibd of small and squeezed. But the beds were acceptable for the price that we are paying. The room is spacious and equipped with the neccessary amenties.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank thinksg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Vernon, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

The Gem Hotel is located at the upper end of Zhong Shan Road pedestrian street in the China coastal city of Xiamen, which goes down to the seacoast. It is a great location for walking, sightseeing, shoping and informal dining. The staff at the reception desk are very friendly and helpful. I was with friends who speak Madarin Chinese, so I do not know if the staff are fluent in English or not. The room was rather small and shows its age. There is a tiny sink in the bedroom, a tiny shower and a tiny water closet. The TV and cable box are old and were complicated to operate. The walls are thin and we were awakened by two guests arguing loudly in the hallway late at night. Breakfast was included, and was a variety of Chinese dishes. Most of the eating available in the vicinity of the hotel is small dishes in very informal dining facilities. We did eat dinner at a buffet restaurant at an adjacent hotel, but the food was not so good and the price was high. We enjoyed the city of Xiamen and visiting the old round homes in Tu Lo about 3 hours away, and the island of Gulangyu in Xiamen. Since we did not spend much time in our room, it served the purpose. If I were to visit there again on my own, I would likely stay at a higher star value hotel, because that is what I am used to.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lao_Shr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Xiamen hotels

Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2010

The hotel's location is excellent- shopping and dining are close by, as is the lovely Zhongshan park. We had a room with french doors that opened onto a large balcony- it was great! The shower had good water pressure and plenty of hot water. The bed was comfortable and surprisingly soft a Chinese hotel in this price range. The carpeting and some of the furnishings were a bit worn and had some cigarette burns. The breakfast buffet was included and had both western and Chinese food- it wasn't great, but it wasn't bad considering the price of the room. Overall I was pleased with this hotel and will probably return- it is an excellent value.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChEcKiTyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
131 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2009

This hotel was recommended by a friend in Xiamen when we asked about a "nice hotel for under 300 RMB/nt". For the price we paid (about 275 RMB) it was quite nice! Located very near shopping, restaurants, and the ferry terminal. My husband and I had a "king room" which was actually a queen bed. The room was a bit small, but was comfortable and still a great value for the money. Interesting room arrangements... sink in the middle of the room, show and toilet separate. It was very contemporary and reminded me of a hotel we once stayed at in Kuala Lumpur that had once been offices and was converted into hotel rooms.

My mom and brother stayed in a room with 2 single beds... and theirs was very nice! We still paid only about 295 RMB for their room, and it was more of a suite. Located on the 2nd floor, there were only 2 rooms like it with a huge balcony where you would basically walk out over the hotel sign. Nice, big bathroom and very spacious. Their only complaint was that their A/C wasn't as cold as ours was (bigger room maybe?).

I would recommend this place for the value and location.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank audjie504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2009

Jan 2009. We had the Deluxe King Room; it had contemporary decor, was tiny - 10 steps from the door to the window, and 8 steps across. A Queen-size bed with about 2 feet clearance all round. There was a short writing table. The TV had 123 channels (!!)
Separated toilet/bath cubicle which were tiny (again !).
Staff were helpful but not too good in English. We asked for extra pillows which were not delivered. Clean/safe/quiet. Breakfast of local food was adequate. Only one electrical point for all your battery -charging needs.
15 mins walk to pedestrianised ZhongShan Rd; the main shopping street.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShuangMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xiamen hotels
WanJia Oriental Hotel
#355 of 1,269 in Xiamen
47 reviews
Railway Station
Seashine Hotel
Seashine Hotel
#31 of 1,269 in Xiamen
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bestel Hotel
#36 of 1,269 in Xiamen
127 reviews
Lujiang Harborview Hotel
#23 of 1,269 in Xiamen
394 reviews
Ibis Xiamen Kaiyuan
#544 of 1,269 in Xiamen
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gem Hotel

Property: Gem Hotel
Address: No.444 Zhongshan Road, Siming District, Xiamen 361003, China
Region: China > Fujian > Xiamen > Zhongshan Road , Bailuzhou Resort , Siming District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #485 of 1,269 Hotels in Xiamen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gem Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and Cancelon so you can book your Gem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gem Hotel Xiamen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing