We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location & great value”
Review of Gem Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gem Hotel
Ranked #502 of 1,311 Hotels in Xiamen
Reviewed 13 March 2010

The hotel's location is excellent- shopping and dining are close by, as is the lovely Zhongshan park. We had a room with french doors that opened onto a large balcony- it was great! The shower had good water pressure and plenty of hot water. The bed was comfortable and surprisingly soft a Chinese hotel in this price range. The carpeting and some of the furnishings were a bit worn and had some cigarette burns. The breakfast buffet was included and had both western and Chinese food- it wasn't great, but it wasn't bad considering the price of the room. Overall I was pleased with this hotel and will probably return- it is an excellent value.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChEcKiTyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 13 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2009

This hotel was recommended by a friend in Xiamen when we asked about a "nice hotel for under 300 RMB/nt". For the price we paid (about 275 RMB) it was quite nice! Located very near shopping, restaurants, and the ferry terminal. My husband and I had a "king room" which was actually a queen bed. The room was a bit small, but was comfortable and still a great value for the money. Interesting room arrangements... sink in the middle of the room, show and toilet separate. It was very contemporary and reminded me of a hotel we once stayed at in Kuala Lumpur that had once been offices and was converted into hotel rooms.

My mom and brother stayed in a room with 2 single beds... and theirs was very nice! We still paid only about 295 RMB for their room, and it was more of a suite. Located on the 2nd floor, there were only 2 rooms like it with a huge balcony where you would basically walk out over the hotel sign. Nice, big bathroom and very spacious. Their only complaint was that their A/C wasn't as cold as ours was (bigger room maybe?).

I would recommend this place for the value and location.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank audjie504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2009

Jan 2009. We had the Deluxe King Room; it had contemporary decor, was tiny - 10 steps from the door to the window, and 8 steps across. A Queen-size bed with about 2 feet clearance all round. There was a short writing table. The TV had 123 channels (!!)
Separated toilet/bath cubicle which were tiny (again !).
Staff were helpful but not too good in English. We asked for extra pillows which were not delivered. Clean/safe/quiet. Breakfast of local food was adequate. Only one electrical point for all your battery -charging needs.
15 mins walk to pedestrianised ZhongShan Rd; the main shopping street.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShuangMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 October 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Kuo-Chih T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank alicelin0383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 8 January 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xiamen hotels
0.4 mi away
Jinwei Hotel
Jinwei Hotel
#447 of 1,311 in Xiamen
53 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bestel Hotel
Bestel Hotel
#44 of 1,311 in Xiamen
130 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ibis Xiamen Kaiyuan
Ibis Xiamen Kaiyuan
#443 of 1,311 in Xiamen
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Xiamen Tegoo Hotel
Xiamen Tegoo Hotel
#22 of 1,311 in Xiamen
85 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pan Pacific Xiamen
Pan Pacific Xiamen
#5 of 1,311 in Xiamen
663 reviews
3 mi away
The Westin Xiamen
The Westin Xiamen
#2 of 1,311 in Xiamen
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gem Hotel

Address: No.444 Zhongshan Road, Siming District, Xiamen 361003, China
Region: China > Fujian > Xiamen > Zhongshan Road , Bailuzhou Resort , Siming District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #502 of 1,311 Hotels in Xiamen
Price Range: £24 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gem Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA so you can book your Gem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gem Hotel Xiamen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing