We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not read this review.”
Review of Legend Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Legend Hotel
Ranked #5 of 447 Hotels in Lanzhou
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Do not read this review.”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Overall the hotel is OK.
BUT needs some refurbishment, carpet needs help, toilet was not flushing properly and it is better not to look at details (shower curtains, silicon joints etc.). My room was on 19th floor, windows to the main road, giving a nice view on the crazy traffic, can be noisy from early in the morning.
Lanzhou is very very polluted (at least in February) adding to this the heavy Chinese smokers in the hotel: eyes, throat and lungs are suffering.
Don't expect a nice continental breakfast, you better convert to noodles, rice, meat and soup...
The location is fine, not too far from a nice walk along the yellow river. Avoid shopping malls but go to small markets instead.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomuchfrills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    120
    40
    9
    2
See reviews for
5
9
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

No complaints about this hotel. For China, it is clean, everything is working although the air condition is suspect and very moody! The Chinese breakfast is excellent. The staff in general very helpful although I had problems getting stamps for my postcards. Yes, everything is very dated and the hotel needs a refurbishment but this is China and you are very lucky to get a clean room! Some of the communal areas need a good clean but remember that 4-5 stars in China is really 2-3 stars in the rest of the world. The hotel is perfectly acceptable if you don't set your standards too high.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vbm6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rome
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

this hotel is conveniently located, near shops, restaurants and in the centre of the city. Is one of th few hotel in this area of china where you can get a western breakfast, believe me it is NOT that easy. If you do not feel going out for dinner there is a chinese restaurant with a very good mongolian hotpot and noodles made before you by a very expert cook or next to the hall an all you can eat buffet with various kind of food (if I remember well is 180 rmb per person, very expensive for china but remember you are in a 4 star hotel)

Room Tip: rooms facing the front can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lacicalamaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

The location of the hotel is fine. The lobby is spacious and grand. The cafe and restaurants serve very good food. However the rooms are badly needed an upgrading. The carpet needs more regular vacuuming and steam cleaning. The bathroom is dated. Few of us had sinks that have cracked lines on them. The only nice touches in the rooms that I can think of are the 2 bottles complementary mineral water, free internet access and the not so hard beds in this part of China.

Room Tip: Check with the check in staff if they have better rooms on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pony66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tampa florida
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2010

I am put up here on business and would on my own choose a more modest place with more locals. In any event it is a three star hotel in NYC or Hong Kong but a 5 star for Lanzhou. The location is ok but the food is excellent. Also of all things the "disco" is fun and the drinks very inexpensive.. Be sure to have your SIM card well charged in this part of China or you will need your passport and probably a translator. Also be sure to see the Magao caves. An amzing place. Give yourself a full day in comfortable shoes. It is seemingly not that famous but the caves are the equal of Agenta and Ellora..[SP?] in India. If you can take a few days and see the area. I am eager to return. Dont ignore my SIM card suggestion or you will have some headaches.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redariel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zhangye
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2010

The room was nice and had everything we needed. Two free bottles of water daily, HBO movie channel as well as CCTV 9 English news. Free daily Enlgish newspapers as well as small plate of fruit delivered free of charge without being asked for. Humidifier included in the room was great as necessary to combat the excellent heating. (Close to 0% humidity) Heating could be adjusted in your own room. The shower was high pressure and spectacular. (With bath tub) The furnishings were nice and bed comfortable with great pillows, but some paint peeling in the bathroom reminds you its a Western China 5 star, not quite international five star! The view out overlooking smoke stacks was not spectacular but that wasn't a big concern to us, and it would be the same in most places in Lanzhou as there are a lot of factories, and smoke stacks for residential heating. The location is very central 15 mins up on the main street leading up from the train station. All taxis will know this hotel immediately ( Be sure to use the "Feitian Dajiudian" Chinese name or grab a card to show them the written version) and several buses stop near by. The check in staff and bell hop all spoke great English. Not all waiters spoke English, but at a buffet breakfast its not really necessary! It was nice to have a combination of Western and Chinese food at the buffet breakfast. Including fresh handpulled noodles or western omlettes made while you wait. (Enlgish instructions OK.)
We chose not to eat dinner at the hotel, because although average prices by Western standards, we could always get much more, and probably tastier food outside for at the very most a quater of the price. All round a very easy stay with no problems. If I was looking for comfort over character and price I would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen28China
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2010

I was told it was the only international hotel in Lanzhou, I must confesse it is of a good overall standard.When I check-in the staff warmly welcome me, in a fluent English, the check-in was very efficient, I was surprise by the good quality of the room. I stayed on the top floor. The American breakfast was of good quality, all I usually have on my business trip were available. A great hotel, only the location is an issue for me.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michel2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lanzhou hotels
Crowne Plaza Lanzhou
#1 of 447 in Lanzhou
80 reviews
Sunshine Plaza Hotel
#6 of 447 in Lanzhou
221 reviews
Wanda Vista Lanzhou
#2 of 447 in Lanzhou
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ningwozhuang Hotel
#7 of 447 in Lanzhou
47 reviews
Downtown
Lanzhou Hotel
Lanzhou Hotel
#103 of 447 in Lanzhou
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legend Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legend Hotel

Property: Legend Hotel
Address: No.529 Tianshui South Road, Chengguan District, Lanzhou 730000, China
Region: China > Gansu > Lanzhou
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 447 Hotels in Lanzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Legend Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 361
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Legend Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legend Hotel Lanzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing