We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad”
Review of Legend Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Legend Hotel
Ranked #5 of 447 Hotels in Lanzhou
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not Bad”
Reviewed 29 June 2012

It's the best hotel in Lanzhou, which makes sense since the hotel is centrally located and the lobby is spacious and grand. The breakfast area serves pretty good food, but when I was there a few tour groups were staying there too, and they ran out of food the first day. Plus, there were crazy lines to get eggs and noodles. The restaurant manager did come by to apologize, which is always nice.

The rooms are old, but still rather comfortable. Internet was free, which is always a plus (I'm young and I need my internet to function). But the bizarre thing was that I left the room to go sightseeing and when I came back in the evening, someone (I guess the maids?) had taken all my bathroom garbage and tried to flush it down the toilet. Obviously this clogged the toilet and since I got back pretty late and only realized my toilet issue at 11 PM, I didn't think to call housekeeping (in retrospect I should've called). So basically I had to go downstairs to the lobby to use the restroom in the morning.

Overall my experience wasn't too bad. And at least I have something to talk about when sharing quirky experiences in China.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lavvy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    120
    40
    9
    2
See reviews for
5
9
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

stayed 1 night and enjoyed that it was clean and comfy - compared to my horrible stay at xilan hotel -

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bengrenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Angeles, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Our deluxe standard room room with a view was nice. The location was good; next to a bank, across from the post office, and near a department store where we bought items for the train trip to Lhasa. We heard the buffet dinner was good, but after paying, we discovered many empty serving dishes and lots of food mislabeled in English (lost in translation?). After eating a weird dinner, we let the front desk know. We saw a massage ad in the elevator, so we went to the fourth floor. Several eager women greeted us when we stepped from the elevator. Rooms visible down the hall had open doors. Back at the front desk, after a quick retreat, the concierge responded to my husband's inquiry, and directed us to the hotel health club for his massage, telling us they have nothing to do with the business on the fourth floor. En route to the health club, we passed a noodle restaurant where we should have eaten. With few westerners checking in, you won't find CNN or any English TV channels, and if you do, reception is very poor. We had lots of laughs over pretty good cocktails in the lounge overlooking the lobby.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indrablanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently located in the city centre, and is generally well equipped and clean. The standard of hotels in China is different from what we might be used to in Europe. The rooms are a good size, with furniture in a good state of repair. The bathroom was ok, but could do with some refurbishment. The shower worked fine though. Atmosphere in the room was very dry, but a humidifier is supplied..use it, it helps.
The restaurant serves a mixture of western and Chinese food, with a buffet breakfast that includes molest made to order. The evening buffet is "ok", but the steaks we had were black on the outside and raw on the inside.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel, but know what to expect.

Stayed February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AJMTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Overall the hotel is OK.
BUT needs some refurbishment, carpet needs help, toilet was not flushing properly and it is better not to look at details (shower curtains, silicon joints etc.). My room was on 19th floor, windows to the main road, giving a nice view on the crazy traffic, can be noisy from early in the morning.
Lanzhou is very very polluted (at least in February) adding to this the heavy Chinese smokers in the hotel: eyes, throat and lungs are suffering.
Don't expect a nice continental breakfast, you better convert to noodles, rice, meat and soup...
The location is fine, not too far from a nice walk along the yellow river. Avoid shopping malls but go to small markets instead.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomuchfrills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

No complaints about this hotel. For China, it is clean, everything is working although the air condition is suspect and very moody! The Chinese breakfast is excellent. The staff in general very helpful although I had problems getting stamps for my postcards. Yes, everything is very dated and the hotel needs a refurbishment but this is China and you are very lucky to get a clean room! Some of the communal areas need a good clean but remember that 4-5 stars in China is really 2-3 stars in the rest of the world. The hotel is perfectly acceptable if you don't set your standards too high.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vbm6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rome
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

this hotel is conveniently located, near shops, restaurants and in the centre of the city. Is one of th few hotel in this area of china where you can get a western breakfast, believe me it is NOT that easy. If you do not feel going out for dinner there is a chinese restaurant with a very good mongolian hotpot and noodles made before you by a very expert cook or next to the hall an all you can eat buffet with various kind of food (if I remember well is 180 rmb per person, very expensive for china but remember you are in a 4 star hotel)

Room Tip: rooms facing the front can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lacicalamaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lanzhou hotels
Crowne Plaza Lanzhou
#1 of 447 in Lanzhou
80 reviews
Sunshine Plaza Hotel
#6 of 447 in Lanzhou
220 reviews
Wanda Vista Lanzhou
#2 of 447 in Lanzhou
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ningwozhuang Hotel
#7 of 447 in Lanzhou
47 reviews
Downtown
Lanzhou Hotel
Lanzhou Hotel
#102 of 447 in Lanzhou
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legend Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legend Hotel

Property: Legend Hotel
Address: No.529 Tianshui South Road, Chengguan District, Lanzhou 730000, China
Region: China > Gansu > Lanzhou
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 447 Hotels in Lanzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Legend Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 361
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Legend Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legend Hotel Lanzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing