We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Garnd hotel in a good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dongguan Exhibition International Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dongguan Exhibition International Hotel
Ranked #94 of 1,051 Hotels in Dongguan
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Garnd hotel in a good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed in this hotel 2 times, liked it because of location, it's in a very good safe area of Dongguan city; my local Chinese friends took their children to watch the sharks show in the huge aquarium in the lobby. Actually, if you are on business in Dongguan, it is not necessary to pay extra for staying in this hotel, which pretends to be very luxurious in a very Chinese way, it is just for show-off, if you need it for some reason. Besides, all the other "services" typical for Chinese-owned hotel in Donguan are here - just make a sign to the doorman - any girls at any time are available, so, be prepared that sometimes your neighbours might be noisy, they are not going to inspect 3 factories the next day, they have other plans, - well, it was getting on my nerves; the Western food restaurant at the first floor is unreasonably expensive, as if it was a 3* Michelin stars, I guess it is also for show-off, there were only rich Chinese people there. Overall, could be more decent for its money, and if you are on a budget, better find another hotel in the same area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sailihua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    189
    32
    7
    1
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
2
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Agra, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

A western style modern hotel in Dongguan. The hotel is located near the exhibition center. Rooms are big, clean with free internet connection and English spoke TV (CNN, BBC). The hotel serves an excellent free breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kshitij462000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

The only reason why I stayed here was because my china cousin had business dealing with the hotel. Otherwise frankly I say get another hotel.

Before reaching the hotel we were thought it look majestic but once inside we know this is the typical Chinese owned hotel without much effort to maintain and trying to get away filling it with whatever cheap stuff they can find.

The room sizes was huge but so sparsely furnished you wonder why they bother making it so big. Everything was chipped and smoke literally perfumed the room despite us asking for a non smoking room. It was so bad I have to ask for another room. We booked 3 rooms with them and for the one assigned for me and my husband and my toddler we were given a 2 single bed?! No sense at all in my opinion. Having said that I must say they do provide amenities and cleaning service from chambermaid was good and the bell boy was also prompt.

There is no wifi connection in the room and when I called and ask the counter they offered me a very lame excuse .. that their wifi cannot connect iphone and samsung phone... duh! Like why I can connect in the lobby then!? You dont even want to waste anymore effort talking to the lady after a while...

In the lobby stand a very sad aquarium with some sea turtle. although it entertained my toddler and my niece I find it very sad and that is one reason why I will not return to the hotel. I saw the credit point to shanghai aquarium. I am just wonder if money really can make the world turn in china..

Also the "european" restaurant at the hotel. I say save the effort! Go to starbucks across the street. The cakes were icky and took 30 mins to slice or something. Service sucks and food was lousy.

Seriously.. for the price yoso super not worth it!!! Find another hotel please!

Room Tip: Get another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luxjingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is a huge hotel behind the Conference Center. It is not connected to the Conference Center - and there is another hotel closer to the Conference Center front entrance.

Room looks like a 1990's Sheraton room but they are big and somewhat under furnished.

Usual Chinese hotel issues of insufficient elevators for the size of the room, room fittings not straight - although for a change the pictures on the wall were straight, and hard beds.

Breakfast was a massive selection but probably not totally to the taste of the average westerner. Few dishes were given a name in English. Seating was zoo standard.

Huge lobby with the usual selection of premium Chinese brand shops with names and ranges rather adjacent to premier Western brands - e.g. Aquamotrice = Aquascutum. The huge aquarium in the lobby with giant turtles attracts much criticism in other reviews on the Internet. I have to admit to liking it particularly for the pleasure it gives to all the small children that gather round it.

Room Tip: Near the conference center and well West of downtown - this is a big city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carbine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

I have had a 2-night stay on 22 and 23 April 2013 at CNY650 per night with breakfast - the booking was done by my business contact in Dongguan.

Good points:
1. It is safe.
2. The room is quite big and comfortable (for a couple although am alone) and reasonably well cleaned.
3. The bed and pillow are comfortable.
4. The bathroom is big enough although there is no long bath (not that I need one).
5. It has a 3-storey high lobby that looks quite grand.
6. I suppose it has double-glazed windows as it is rather quiet in spite my room (#2001) faces the main road.

Bad points:
1. The breakfast is modest and lack of varieties.
2. Not so value for money at CNY650 per night.

May consider to stay in this hotel if the rate is better next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LML1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

Another example of a Cinese hotel that has not been maintained. Looks nice on the outside and downhill from there culminating in the bathroom. The internet did not work. The phone was broken and I could only call the operator. The TV looked like it came from an antique shop. No excuse as a local brand flat screen is so cheap now. The shower had black mold. The breakfast buffet was the worst I have seen in China. Some will say the price is goog. It's not low enough for this. There are many outstanding local hotels in mainland China, so again no excuse

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YuYuanDonguuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

The hotel is older and looking dingy and the lobby has the most depressing fish tank that would not be suitable for 1 sea turtle let alone 6. They just sit at the bottom of the tank looking depressed all day, and that's how you will feel too when you stay here.

The hotel in general is looking old and worn. The rooms are "clean" but the carpets are stained and the furniture has seen better days.

The breakfast buffet is ok. The downstairs European restaurant has one vegan dish, the Vegetable Curry.

The beds are hard as a rock, like sleeping on a plywood plank.

Internet connection sucks, it's ethernet in the rooms and the only wireless is in the lobby.

The only positive is that there's a starbucks across the street and a good foot massage place across the street in the same shopping center.

I'd like to put this in terms that a like-minded American lady can understand. If I were to rate a hotel on a scale of Kmart to Neiman Marcus, this hotel would be a Marshall's or Ross. I prefer to stay at a Nordstrom and this ain't it.

Room Tip: book at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessicaLeopard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dongguan hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Silverland
Hotel Silverland
#74 of 1,051 in Dongguan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
1.0 mi away
Haiyatt Garden Hotel-Dongguan
Haiyatt Garden Hotel-Dongguan
#75 of 1,051 in Dongguan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
1.9 mi away
South China International Hotel
South China International Hotel
#20 of 1,051 in Dongguan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kande International Hotel Dongguan
2.0 mi away
Wanda Vista Dongguan
Wanda Vista Dongguan
#7 of 1,051 in Dongguan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
4.0 mi away
Dongguan Ying Hotel
Dongguan Ying Hotel
#52 of 1,051 in Dongguan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dongguan Exhibition International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dongguan Exhibition International Hotel

Property: Dongguan Exhibition International Hotel
Address: North Exhibition Road, New City Center, Dongguan 523071, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Dongguan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 1,051 Hotels in Dongguan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Dongguan Exhibition International Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 790
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Dongguan Exhibition International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing