We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is a dump. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Yue Lai Garden Hotel
Ranked #467 of 1,072 Hotels in Dongguan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This place is a dump. ”
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

I booked this place by recommendation of local factory, since it was supposed to be the best hotel this side of dongguan. I arrived at a freezing room where the heating didn't work. When I called the desk, people there told me no rooms in the hotel have heating, and offered me an extra blanket. I found that strange, since the A/C clearly had a heat option, it just didn't work well. I froze my butt off the whole night since it was 10c.
To add insult to injury, breakfast is simply appalling, and this comes from someone who's already lived in China for 3 years.
The hotel area has nothing to offer, not even a mall or lousy KFC in sight.
For a hotel that charges over 400 RMB, this place is a complete dump.

P. S. Yes rooms are big, hence 2 points and not one.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Leko12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    65
    13
    6
    1
See reviews for
1
1
1
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Rooms very large, clean, good wifi and TV with western channels.

The food in the Chinese Restaurant on the ground floor was excellent - just insist to sit where you want and away from the smokers. The staff have a good knowledge of English.

Breakfast is awful. Some guy fries a big mountain of congealed fried eggs, the bacon is under cooked, the tea and coffee taste of chlorine. They use horrible plastic plates and tumblers that are worse than I remember using for school dinners. The plates are placed in big piles that are dripping wet.

If you avoid breakfast then the hotel is good. The front desk staff are polite and speak English.

Room Tip: Go to breakfast early before the smokers arrive
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank p1g1scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

I have had a "without booking" 1-night stay on 7 March 2013 after a business outing in Shenzhen.

Good points:
1. It is safe.
2. Value for money if "a roof over the head" is the chief aim - just about CNY450 per night.
2. The room is quite big and reasonably well cleaned.
3. The bathroom is fine.

Bad points:
1. The building is old and not too well maintained.
2. The breakfast is modest and lack of varieties.

Overall:
Other than its attractive rate, I did not discover any other attractiveness. However, it is indeed value for money for a "local 4-star" rating.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LML1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013 via mobile

Good chinese business hotel. Large room. Breakfast / lunch buffet on groundfloor is so so. Wifi in the rooms. You can try 28 over par western restaurant across the street for food if this is more your style.

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank andreleroychina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

The hotel is beautiful inside and out; huge lobby, large swimming pool, lush landscape. My room is clean and comfortable. Strong LAN but no WIFI; A/C take hours to cool the room. When you leave the room and pull the key, as in all Asian hotels, the A/C and lights go off. Upon returning after all day work, the room is over 90 degrees...and humid. WOW!

Agree with other posters; the western breakfast offering is terrible. Lots of smokers and tooth picking all over in the restaurant; so gross to watch a guy pick clean his teeth...ugh.

First night, I was hungry and looked at the Room Service menu. It had the old reliable club sandwich available. So I called, being that the menu stated 24 hour service. After being transferred three times and being hung up on once, I finally got someone who said 'closed'...so much for 24 hour room service.

I would stay here again simply because it is close to my factory and not too expensive. But if there were another choice, I would try.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank greenfin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Front desk speaks English, but the bare minimum. Chinese people can be very, very rude. If you're in line at breakfast, make no mistake the lady standing next to you is trying to cut you at all cost. Some rooms are dirtier than others... but nonetheless, you can't expect American "5-Star" standards at this Chinese "5-Star" hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a clean room! If it's not clean, ask for another. Try to avoid the rooms closest to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schweinfurt, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2010

not a really good breakfast, a lot of chinese rude businesspeople were there smoking at the buffet. i have asked a waiter to ask the guy to stop smoking on the buffet, but he didnt understood and not even tried to help me. the rooms are quite ok, but not even one western tv channel

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank floaction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dongguan hotels
6.3 mi away
Wanda Vista Dongguan
Wanda Vista Dongguan
#3 of 1,072 in Dongguan
89 reviews
8.1 mi away
Haiyatt Garden Hotel-Dongguan
Haiyatt Garden Hotel-Dongguan
#87 of 1,072 in Dongguan
58 reviews
16.3 mi away
Pullman Dongguan Chang'an
Pullman Dongguan Chang'an
#10 of 1,072 in Dongguan
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Haiyatt Garden Hotel
Haiyatt Garden Hotel
#62 of 1,072 in Dongguan
103 reviews
15.5 mi away
Well Garden Hotel
Well Garden Hotel
#589 of 1,072 in Dongguan
23 reviews
8.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Dongguan Shijie
Grand Mercure Dongguan Shijie
#139 of 1,072 in Dongguan
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yue Lai Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yue Lai Garden Hotel

Property: Yue Lai Garden Hotel
Address: No.8 Xiangshi Road, Liaobu Town, Dongguan 523400, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Dongguan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #467 of 1,072 Hotels in Dongguan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Yue Lai Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 561
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cancelon and Ctrip TA so you can book your Yue Lai Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing