We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big hotel, large rooms but poor service due to language problem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Yue Lai Garden Hotel
Ranked #471 of 1,077 Hotels in Dongguan
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The property was good, spaciousl, large room and everything under one roof except the breakfast. I preferred to take english breakfast as i find other choices not worth. According to me service level is low because of language problem. Its close to Industrial area so I preferred it this time. I paid 400 CNY/night ( all included).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsoodmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
There are newer reviews for Yue Lai Garden Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 15 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed in the hotel for almost 8 weeks
the rooms are big and kept clean the tv Sucks the wifi is hit and miss the western restaurant is a joke the breakfast is not western and the bacon is cold there is no Bar in The Hotel So its a trip down town or across the road to 28 over par if you want a drink when using the laundry service it shrinks your clothes .Most of the staff DON'T SPEAK ENGLISH

Room Tip: roms on 25th floor are ok
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darrenscott1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

I booked this place by recommendation of local factory, since it was supposed to be the best hotel this side of dongguan. I arrived at a freezing room where the heating didn't work. When I called the desk, people there told me no rooms in the hotel have heating, and offered me an extra blanket. I found that strange, since the A/C clearly had a heat option, it just didn't work well. I froze my butt off the whole night since it was 10c.
To add insult to injury, breakfast is simply appalling, and this comes from someone who's already lived in China for 3 years.
The hotel area has nothing to offer, not even a mall or lousy KFC in sight.
For a hotel that charges over 400 RMB, this place is a complete dump.

P. S. Yes rooms are big, hence 2 points and not one.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Leko12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Rooms very large, clean, good wifi and TV with western channels.

The food in the Chinese Restaurant on the ground floor was excellent - just insist to sit where you want and away from the smokers. The staff have a good knowledge of English.

Breakfast is awful. Some guy fries a big mountain of congealed fried eggs, the bacon is under cooked, the tea and coffee taste of chlorine. They use horrible plastic plates and tumblers that are worse than I remember using for school dinners. The plates are placed in big piles that are dripping wet.

If you avoid breakfast then the hotel is good. The front desk staff are polite and speak English.

Room Tip: Go to breakfast early before the smokers arrive
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank p1g1scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

I have had a "without booking" 1-night stay on 7 March 2013 after a business outing in Shenzhen.

Good points:
1. It is safe.
2. Value for money if "a roof over the head" is the chief aim - just about CNY450 per night.
2. The room is quite big and reasonably well cleaned.
3. The bathroom is fine.

Bad points:
1. The building is old and not too well maintained.
2. The breakfast is modest and lack of varieties.

Overall:
Other than its attractive rate, I did not discover any other attractiveness. However, it is indeed value for money for a "local 4-star" rating.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LML1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Good chinese business hotel. Large room. Breakfast / lunch buffet on groundfloor is so so. Wifi in the rooms. You can try 28 over par western restaurant across the street for food if this is more your style.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
3  Thank andreleroychina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

The hotel is beautiful inside and out; huge lobby, large swimming pool, lush landscape. My room is clean and comfortable. Strong LAN but no WIFI; A/C take hours to cool the room. When you leave the room and pull the key, as in all Asian hotels, the A/C and lights go off. Upon returning after all day work, the room is over 90 degrees...and humid. WOW!

Agree with other posters; the western breakfast offering is terrible. Lots of smokers and tooth picking all over in the restaurant; so gross to watch a guy pick clean his teeth...ugh.

First night, I was hungry and looked at the Room Service menu. It had the old reliable club sandwich available. So I called, being that the menu stated 24 hour service. After being transferred three times and being hung up on once, I finally got someone who said 'closed'...so much for 24 hour room service.

I would stay here again simply because it is close to my factory and not too expensive. But if there were another choice, I would try.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank greenfin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dongguan hotels
8.1 mi away
Haiyatt Garden Hotel-Dongguan
Haiyatt Garden Hotel-Dongguan
#87 of 1,077 in Dongguan
58 reviews
6.3 mi away
Wanda Vista Dongguan
Wanda Vista Dongguan
#3 of 1,077 in Dongguan
91 reviews
16.5 mi away
Pullman Dongguan Chang'an
Pullman Dongguan Chang'an
#10 of 1,077 in Dongguan
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Haiyatt Garden Hotel
Haiyatt Garden Hotel
#67 of 1,077 in Dongguan
103 reviews
4.9 mi away
TANGLA Dongguan
TANGLA Dongguan
#2 of 1,077 in Dongguan
488 reviews
10.5 mi away
Wahtong Cheng Hotel
Wahtong Cheng Hotel
#429 of 1,077 in Dongguan
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yue Lai Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yue Lai Garden Hotel

Address: No.8 Xiangshi Road, Liaobu Town, Dongguan 523400, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Dongguan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #471 of 1,077 Hotels in Dongguan
Price Range: £43 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Yue Lai Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 561
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Ctrip TA so you can book your Yue Lai Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing