We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury at its best at Sofitel Humen Oriental Dongguan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mels Weldon Dongguan Humen
Ranked #17 of 1,059 Hotels in Dongguan
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
2,661 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,038 helpful votes
“Luxury at its best at Sofitel Humen Oriental Dongguan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

Words could barely describe just how wonderful this hotel really is.
We were fortunate enough to stay at the hotel for 2 nights in late April 2011.
Being a 62-story tower, the hotel starts revealing itself even from a long distance, so you know you're in for a treat while still in the taxi.

The hotel is brand new (opened in July 2010) and is located in Humen, which is a city within the city of Dongguan. It took us apx. 90 minutes to get to the hotel by taxi from Guangzhou airport and it's apx. a 25-minute taxi ride to the nearer Shenzhen airport.

While I can give a lot of praise to the hotel itself, I cannot do the same for Humen. It's mostly a business oriented city, not offering too many attractions for tourists. But hey, with such a hotel – you'd prefer to stay indoors and enjoy it, instead, trust me.
In case you do decide to head outside, there are plenty of shops in the hotel's vicinity – clothes, electronics, a nice night market, restaurants etc.

The street level floor of the hotel consists of a very friendly concierge team, who are all fluent in English (which is a really good thing, mind you).

The lobby itself is on the 10th floor, so you have to take a glass elevator to reach it.
The lobby is grand, both in height and in beauty. You reach it by walking on a beautiful passage from the elevators to where the receptionists await your arrival. It immediately gives a feeling of French sophistication, but in a rather modern way.
The lobby opens up to a beautifully decorated bar with a lot of French motives – sofas, chairs, stools, chick lights and so on.

We were fortunate enough to have a private check-in in our room, so I cannot comment on the lobby check-in process, but if it's anything like the check-out process, which we had at the lobby – you can be sure it'd be quick and professional. Be sure to present your A|Club card upon check-in, since it will almost certainly give you a nice room upgrade. More about what our A|Club Platinum card got us – later in the review.

We were escorted to our room.
Well, "room" would be an understatement. More of a realm!
Our room was the 200 square meters (over 2100 square feet) Opera Suite on the 56th floor, which included the following: an entrance hall, a kitchenette, guests' bathroom, a huge living room, a working area consisting of a desk, a computer and internet, a 6-person dining table, a master bedroom with a king-size bed, a huge walk-in closet and one of the biggest bathroom I've ever seen – a huge bath tub with a great view of the city and mountains, 2 sinks, a toilet, a shower and a private wet sauna. The suite also included a second bedroom with 2 single beds, a bathroom (bath tub, shower, sink and toilet) and another walk-in closet.
All the bath toiletries were Hermés, but we preferred the L'Occitane ones instead and the housekeeping staff changed them in no time.

The suite included 3 big LCD's (47" in the living room and 42" in both bedrooms), 2 small LCD's in the bathrooms and 2 Bose sound systems. There were over a dozen flower arrangements in the suite when we checked in and the room's décor was amazing.

The suite also came with Club access and our welcome gift consisted of a bottle of wine, a bowl of fruit and some really tasty cookies.
The room was kept spotless throughout our stay – cleaned twice a day plus a nice turn-down service (who can say "no" to yummy macaroons before going to sleep?).

The hotel had a wonderful pool (which we had to ourselves most of the time) and a great gym (nicely called "SoFit").
We had our breakfasts and dinners at the Western restaurant (on the 60th floor) and it was absolutely stunning – both the views and the food. The dinner buffet were very rich with local dishes along Western dishes to match, with a great selection of French cheese, cakes, fruits etc. .

The Club lounge was a truly amazing. Located on the 59th floor, it consists of the entire floor – 360 degrees of views and apx. 700 square meters. All the staff at the club floor were super nice and professional and gave us absolutely impeccable service – cold and hot drinks, freshly squeezed juice, nibbles, food, alcohol during the great happy hour and more. The Club also offers WI-FI and internet as well.
Most of the time, we were the only ones at the club, so be sure to book a Club room if you want a private experience.

What makes this hotel unique, other than its luxurious look and feel, is the fact that all the staff is trained to be fluent in English. I cannot emphasize just how important this fact is in China, where a lot of 5-stars hotel do not make sure their staff can communicate in English. This was not the case in this hotel – everyone was fluent in English, at least to the extent of an idle chat. The staff's level of professionalism didn't prevent them from being extra nice, too, and this goes for both the staff and the management.

If you're ever in southern China, make sure you check this hotel out. I'm tempted to say that it is worth the ride to Humen even if you are in Hong Kong! It really is.

This was, by far, one of the most wonderful hotel experiences I've had in China, and I am certain you will feel the same once you've stayed at the hotel.

Room Tip: Get a Club room or a suite - you'd love it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheShis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    66
    29
    5
    5
See reviews for
19
18
12
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

Room is clean, Location is great in the center of the city, Pillow is soft and sxcellent, Service is no complaint and fantastic, too crowded and noisy during the weekend due to groups of tours, Princes resturant the food delivered sometimes too slow, the hotel front dest people are nice warm and kind.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2011

Nice Hotel, well kept and convenient location. Great views from rooms and restaurant. Front office staff, while willing to help, were not able to handle too many check-ins at the same time (we had 4 rooms checking in at the same time). All 4 of us were charged different deposits ranging from RMB 1500 - 3500 at the same check in time. Seems like they don't have a set deposit value. Overall, good experience and will stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YinChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

Sofitel Humen Dongguan is the tallest Sofitel in China for sure; probably even the tallest Sofitel around the world.
Around it is the largest budget fashion mall in the province and the long-distance bus terminal is nearby (though upon arrival by the bus, it stopped only in another bus terminal 1km away).
I consider the standard room allocated to me as large. The bathroom is spacous with an oval bath tub. There is even a small TV there to watch while you bath.
Small problem: no Uk standard power socket and need to borrow an adapter.
You can look for a very good advance purchase rate, for about CNY300++ which is a bargain for a 5-star opened less than 1 year.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2011

The Room are big and elegant, the swimming-pool is nice.
The food is very good in the Chinese Restaurent.

Why my Accor Advantage Plus Card cannot be used in the hotel Chinese Restaurent??????????????????????????????????????

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dongguan hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Dongguan Humen by ACCOR
15.1 mi away
TANGLA Dongguan
TANGLA Dongguan
#1 of 1,059 in Dongguan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#14 of 1,059 in Dongguan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Pullman Dongguan Chang'an
Pullman Dongguan Chang'an
#12 of 1,059 in Dongguan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
8.3 mi away
HJ International Hotel
HJ International Hotel
#16 of 1,059 in Dongguan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
8.1 mi away
Sheraton Dongguan Hotel
Sheraton Dongguan Hotel
#9 of 1,059 in Dongguan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mels Weldon Dongguan Humen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mels Weldon Dongguan Humen

Property: Mels Weldon Dongguan Humen
Address: Humen Avenue, Humen Town, Huanghe Commercial Tower, Dongguan 523900, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Dongguan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Dongguan
#10 Best Value Hotel in Dongguan
#17 Luxury Hotel in Dongguan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mels Weldon Dongguan Humen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mels Weldon Dongguan Humen, is a superior Five-Star hotel Positioned on historic town Humen, the 62-floor tower of Mels Weldon Dongguan Humen raises elegantly in the corridor of Guangzhou and Shenzhen.The hotel boasts 409 spacious rooms,Start from 29th floor and a generous 53 square meters, all guest rooms are featured with standard amenities including feather bedding, duvet, pillow menu, LCD TV, free Internet access, free-standing bathtub and separate shower, embedded bathroom TV and floor to ceiling window with panoramic views of the city.The restaurants and bars provide perfect setting for relaxing and socializing, all refined cuisines as well as latest fusion dishes from all over the world can be found here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mels Weldon Dongguan Humen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Dongguan Humen Oriental Hotel Dongguan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing