We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Services but Well Hardware”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pullman Dongguan Chang'an
Ranked #7 of 1,085 Hotels in Dongguan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We traveled there in mid may. The room was not ready upon our arrival and they still give us key cards to enter the room. What we saw was that the room was in a state of chaos, rubbish, cigarettes, towels... were scattered on the floor, what a mess! We called the Lobby Manager and they just need us to wait for an hour to get all our 7 rooms tidied. We were angry and just could not imagine why this situation could happen in a Pullman Hotel. If they could not tidy the room before we arrive, they should not give us key cards and let us see all those rubbish staying on the floor, it's ridiculous!
Rooms were neat and tidy with wide bathroom, swimming pool is fine and clean. Actually, hardware of this hotel is well but services could be further improved.
The buffet was full of people with ordinary dishes, no surprise at all! Desserts were limited, hot dishes were ordinary..... Just a buffet full of people....
I was satisfied with the facilities, gym, pool was alright, but the room management and services must be improved.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mr T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff H, Front Office Manager at Pullman Dongguan Chang'an, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We are sorry to hear that you had a not pleasant time during your stay with us ,thank you for your comments and we will investigate the reason about that. we believe that will give you a happy experience in the future. at the same time,we look forward to seeing you at the Pullman Dongguan Changan again soon.

Pullman Dongguan Changan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37 - 43 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

We arrived at the hotel after booking on Travelocity. Unfortunately they couldn't find our reservation, but that did not stop them from proceeding with our check-in. They gave us a room and said they were going to look into it and talk to us in the morning. This is exactly how I wanted it handled, nothing worse than traveling all day going from business meeting to business meeting and then having to wait in the lobby of the hotel, in order for them to figure out a glitch. The room is priced very well for the size and the comfort. The food is also very affordable and well proportioned...they have a nice variety...not just "noodle".

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jmenaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guo P, Manager at Pullman Dongguan Chang'an, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant time during your stay with us , we appreciate your comment and look forward to seeing you at the Pullman Dongguan Changan again soon.

Pullman Dongguan Changan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Great hotel. Most staff I spoke to had excellent English. Stayed in a Delux room which was large and comfortable overlooking the front of the hotel. Free wifi was a great advantage and the breakfast catered for all tastes. Even the coffee was acceptable which I find hard to obtain in China. The setting is quite tranquil with hills around and trees. It was a pleasure to stay there and recharge. Will definitely be back

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wood777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guo P, Manager at Pullman Dongguan Chang'an, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant time during your stay with us , we appreciate your comment and look forward to seeing you at the Pullman Dongguan Changan again soon.

Pullman Dongguan Changan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We are currently staying at this hotel and I have nothing bad to say about this hotel except that there is no heat anywhere in the hotel. I am being told that this is the case with ALL upscale hotels here in the region during the winter months so as to conserve energy. We did get a space heater for our room but the restaurants and anywhere else in the hotel are absolutely freezing. Well, yesterday we took a thirty minute taxi to another five star hotel here in the area to eat in the hotel restaurant and it was warm inside that particular hotel.
We would move to another hotel if it wasn't for the fact that this location is very convenient to the factory for business and this is, after all, a business trip for my friend.

Room Tip: Don't travel during the winter months especially if you expect to spend time in the hotel during...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hykergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guo P, Manager at Pullman Dongguan Chang'an, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Guest ,
We are pleased to hear that you shared your value comments, concerning the hotel heater system, we will decide turn on the central heater or not according the local weather situation . eg ,we already have opened the hotel heater system from 10/Feb to 15/Feb and 18-19/Feb druing these days. anyway we appreciate your comment and look forward to seeing you at the Pullman Dongguan Changan again soon.

Pullman Dongguan Changan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This is the newest and nicest hotel in town but it is a bit far from center of town and also very hard to get taxis there.

Service was very good and they do have a nice Chinese and Western restaurant there. A bit expensive though.

There is also a Spa in the hotel but also expensive compare to the places outside of the hotel.

For business stay, it is good.

Room Tip: It is beside a very busy street where Big container trucks goes pass all the time so getting a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guo P, Manager at Pullman Dongguan Chang'an, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant time during your stay with us , regarding hard to get taxis , we kindly recommend you contact our concierge who will may help you about this , at the same time ,we will feedback your comment concerning F&B and SPA to our hotel management . Finally,we appreciate your valuable comment and look forward to seeing you at the Pullman Dongguan Changan again soon.

Pullman Dongguan Changan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I was a regular visitor at the 60 floor Sofitel for years but moved over to the Pullman last year. As mentioned in other reviews the hotel is new with many modern amenities. The hotel is large but has a smaller (good) feel. The rooms are what you would expect from a modern 4/5 star hotel. The gym is adequate and there is even a nice outdoor lap pool. There are several good dining options. The western restaurant is excellent but I also like the atmosphere and food at the Japanese restaurant. Yes. There are not many restaurant options outside the hotel but if you are a westerner that travels to this area you know what to expect. The hotel staff is professional and courteous - especially Queenie at the front desk who always helps expedite my checkin/checkout. I have not tried the spa yet but plan to on my next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biztravel136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guo P, Manager at Pullman Dongguan Chang'an, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant time during your stay with us , we appreciate your comment and look forward to seeing you at the Pullman Dongguan Changan again soon,also enjoy hotel SPA Service on your next visit .

Pullman Dongguan Changan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This hotel deserves to be Green Hotel of Dongguan.

The hotel does not contribute to depletion of the ozone layers. Central heater is not turned on during the winter months of December and January. This applies to the room, the lobby and rooms in spa. If you freeze, put on more clothes. Apparently I was told by front desk this is the norm for upscale hotels in Changan Dongguan.

The hotel is a specialist in water conservation. When I turned on the tap in Rm 1601, muddy water came out (refer to exhibit) and I was on the impression that a serpent would fall out from the tap to bite my head off.

Spa on 5th floor is the highlight of the hotel. If you visit, ask for masseur 206 that provides the best chinese massage in Changan Dongguan. It certainly smoothed my aching back from hours at the desk.

Accor Platinum benefits honored i.e. late checkout and I believe a complimentary upgrade to studio style room was provided by Mike the frontdesk supervisor.

I would like to thank Mike at front desk and Chunli, the supervisor at Level 5 spa for the great services provided.

Room Tip: If you get cold in your room, avoid turning on the heater coz it's merely blowing cool air. Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raymondteh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guo P, Manager at Pullman Dongguan Chang'an, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Mr.Teh,

We are pleased to hear that you shared your value comments, firstly , according the local weather situation , we will decide turn on the central heater or not. secondly we shall strengthen the guest room inspection refered the muddy water from the tap , we appreciate your comment and look forward to seeing you at the Pullman Dongguan Changan again soon.

Pullman Dongguan Changan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dongguan hotels
15.8 mi away
TANGLA Dongguan
TANGLA Dongguan
#2 of 1,085 in Dongguan
491 reviews
6.3 mi away
Mels Weldon Dongguan Humen
Mels Weldon Dongguan Humen
#18 of 1,085 in Dongguan
172 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dongguan
Hyatt Regency Dongguan
#1 of 1,085 in Dongguan
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Kande International Hotel Dongguan
17.7 mi away
Wanda Vista Dongguan
Wanda Vista Dongguan
#3 of 1,085 in Dongguan
95 reviews
3.4 mi away
Parklane Chang'an International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Dongguan Chang'an? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Dongguan Chang'an

Address: No.38 Jinghai Middle Road, Shatou Community, Chang'an Town, Dongguan 523862, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Guangdong > Dongguan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 1,085 Hotels in Dongguan
Price Range: £61 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pullman Dongguan Chang'an 4.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman Dongguan Chang'an reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing