We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TANGLA Dongguan
Nearby Hotels
US$93
US$84
Pullman
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
US$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kande Club Hotel(Dongguan)(Great Value!)
US$30
US$28
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$66
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
US$75
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (513)
Filter reviews
513 results
Traveller rating
283
179
39
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
283
179
39
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal lagoonjazz barpool partybrazilian barbecuequiet hotelgolf coursecanton fairoutdoor poolan oasisspecial thanksreception staffjapanese restauranthotel is greatgolf resortbar streetrooms are largebreakfast buffet is
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
201 - 206 of 513 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

Returning to this hotel for the umpteenth time now, it's still good. As a matter of fact it has improved further with better food in the Cafe breakfast and the Italian Garden Bistro. The new chef has come out with some exciting food . The staff , as usual , remembers you by name. Every outlet i feel at home with them recognizing me.It's good to have some chat after a long lonely business trip . The entertainment by the friendly crooning lobby pianist and the Jazz bar young energetic trio are amazing. A Feel good feeling day and night

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dankittraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Dongguan, Manager at TANGLA Dongguan, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2013

Thank you for your comments with regards to your recent stay at the Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon. We are glad to note the satisfaction of your stay with us again. We are lucky to have some reliable consistent management staff who have been with us , some for at least 10 years (since their student days), and they do recognize returning guests and give them their due recognition, remembering all their likes and dislikes. This is also part of our Sofitel culture of Cousu Main service where we serve our guests from our heart. Thank you for extolling on the great food available in our restaurants, as well as our friendly entertainers who not just sing well or play the piano, they also take the time to know and chat with our guests, making friends and to make sure they have a relaxing time with us. We look forward to your return soon and enjoy a feel-good feeling with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Food in Japanese restaurant is nice!!
Location is good and all the staff are cheerful and nice.

Coffee in breakfast area is tasty with lot of choices of food, I also like their homemade yogurts and 5 different choices of mixed juice with different health purposes.

They have 2 tooth brush in washroom with two different colour, which is really brilliant! I don't need to mark which one is mine and which one is my bf!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hellopolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Dongguan, Manager at TANGLA Dongguan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2013

Thank you for describing your stay in such simple words as "Comfy ", at the Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon.
We are happy to note you that besides the comfortable stay, you also like the unique location of the hotel which is "away" from the city and yet it's just 10 minutes down by car if you need to do your shopping and move around the noisy bar street.
Besides the Japanese restaurant, which faces the beautiful Japanese garden view with a lotus pond, we also have our famous Brazilian BBQ restaurant with the astounding swimming pool and lake view, the long-queued Dim Sum Chinese Restaurant and the French-Italian Garden Bistro with view of our live peacocks roaming the beautiful green grass.
For breakfast we have the new Sofitel Delight menu, with multiple choices where food is now mostly concentrated on healthy living trend.
We are glad you enjoyed the hotel and look forward to your return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

feel so good! I got a good holiday in the hotel and what a good servise u gave to me! Thanks for ur pretty gift.
u can swim here,can play the GLOF……………………
i visit Dongguan with my boyfriend, he also love this hotel. He loves the breatfast and i love the room!
yes, the servise is excellent~ how lovely is the starff! I had a happy and funny talk with them! They showed me about the hotel~about the city!

Room Tip: "Rooms on the south side are quieter"
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanah g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Dongguan, Manager at TANGLA Dongguan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2013

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon. It is encouraging to be able to feel your happiness in describing your stay with us. At Sofitel and Sofitel worldwide, we have been emphasizing to our staff to service our guests with their hearts, a French term we call as Cousu Main service. All our guests have been having a good time, staying and chatting with our friendly staff whom we also call "ambassadors" and we will share your experience with our staff in our daily briefing, and look forward to your return to our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Outside architecture looks like a cheap tourist village on Red Sea, it's dirty on white outside walls and glass windows too with rust on metal beams ( look up outside the lobby entrance)
Inside design worst than cinese standard hotel in Dongguan and in my room the bed headboard was worn.....Sofitel what ? Pulmann 10 times better.
Staff gently as usual

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Konacencio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Dongguan, Manager at TANGLA Dongguan, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Thank you for writing about your recent stay at the Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon. The recent winter, the hot summer in March and the sudden change to constant rain in early April and the sudden humidity again, have been a great challenge to our Housekeeping and Engineering team to maintain the place. The affected places as mentioned are the windows, the walls and the beams on the external hotel and while we are trying to our best to maintain at this moment, the best time is actually the Summer time in June when things are dry. The concept in the room may be unacceptable to the younger generation familiar with newer modern hotel designs, but it meets most of our faithful returning guests' expectation who are still using the hotel since we open more than 10 years ago. There are other aspects of the hotel that are also important than just the external looks that are our attractions, like the tasty food from all our 5 restaurants, the recognizable old staff who remembers your name and the food you like , and an honest smile to acknowledge you are back and most importantly our location, which is away from the hustle and bustle of the city, and is just a doorstep away from the beautiful lake and serene HuYing Park for your de-stressing exercises. We have just changed the fabric of the sofa in the rooms and we will be moving on to change the headboards soon. Our major hotel renovation plan should be coming soon but the timing would be based on many factors including the economic climate. Pullman is definitely a newer hotel less than 5 years old based on a different concept than Sofitel, but we are happy it is our sister hotel within the Accor group. Thank you once again for your honest assessment of the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

I come a 3/4 times per year in Dongguan, each time for 10/15 days for work reasons. I usually stay at Pullman hotel and this was the first time at Royal Lagoon.
Overall the hotel is good.
The location is definitely the biggest plus, very green and quite a bit outside of the mess and crowd of the other more centrally located hotel. For sure if you're there only for a few days business it's not too important but if you have to spend as well a weekend as we normally do in our 2 weeks trips it could be ok.
The park surrounding is good for running, biking or just to have a walk around.
The hotel is still good but starts to be a bit old so a newer hotel like Pullman is more welcoming, newer and with nicer rooms and more comfortable beds.
Breakfast is good and with a lot of variety from continental, american and asian type of food, i personally prefer the quality and choice of pullman.
There are many restaurants, in particular the japanese and the brasial bbq are good. Buffet restaurant ok but not great.
There are several swimming pools (indoor and outdoor) and fitness centers. There is also a spa but the prices for the treatments are aligned with european/american standards so not very attractive considering you're in china and with 2 euro taxi you can go to a very nice massage center downtown which is WAY cheaper.

So ... definitely a good chioce for a trip especially if you prefere to be in a quite and more green place, pretty difficult to find in dongguan. Everything is good, I have nothing to complain. But if you don't care about the green areas and prefer to be in a more modern and better place I would recomend to go to Pullman.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Federico S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Dongguan, Manager at TANGLA Dongguan, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Thank you for your comments about your stay at the Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon. Thank you for emphasizing that that comparing to the newer Pullman , which is also our sister hotel within the Accor group, we are more matured. And as you mentioned, we have the advantage of the location, the hill and the serene lake, the huge peaceful park at our doorsteps, and especially the greeneries surrounding us, which comes with the fresh air, away from the hustle and bustle of the city pollution and noise. My Pullman colleague is definitely happy of your views about his hotel, which is undeniably new and is in the centre of town where all the other city hotels are including the standalone KTVs and the bars are located and if you are a venturous night bird and on a short trip, its a good location for it. Nevertheless , as a friendly competitor, we thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming back to our Sofitel and enjoy the luxurious greeneries and serenity which are unfortunately getting lesser by the day in this fine vibrant city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews