We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb services”
Review of TANGLA Dongguan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
TANGLA Dongguan
Ranked #1 of 1,070 Hotels in Dongguan
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“superb services”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Had one stay at this hotel. Very pleased with the services provided from the Front Desk to the Housekeeping staff. Enjoyed the Chinese Restaurant meals in the hotel. Very good hospitality extended to us from the front desk to the housekeeping. Amenities provided were of such good quality - Occitane.

Room Tip: My suite room was facing the greenery and it was very refreshing to sit at the balcony and enjoy the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Dongguan, Manager at TANGLA Dongguan, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay at the Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon. We are happy to note that you were very pleased with the services from the Front Desk , the Housekeeping and the Chinese restaurant. It reflects the success of our Sofitel motto of serving the guests with all our hearts. We are also glad to note that you were happy with our high quality amenities which reflects the Sofitel DNA in luxury. We look forward to your return soon to experience the many other aspects of the hotel such as the 4 other established well-known signature-restaurants within the compound serving very good tasty food, the park around the serene lake in front of the hotel, the large outdoor swimming pool, the spa, the golf course and so on. Thank you and see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    169
    37
    9
    3
See reviews for
41
35
27
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hinsdale, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Superb staff attentiveness and responsiveness. Main restaurant could improve the biffet dinner food quality; breakfast is good. Other restaurant in the property are good; in particular the Japanese and Bistro. Common areas are pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank masiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Dongguan, Manager at TANGLA Dongguan, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for your comments of your recent stay at the Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon. It is indeed great to hear from you about our staffs' superb attentiveness and responsiveness. It is truly a success in our efforts to train our staff following the Sofitel motto of Serving our Guests with all our hearts. On your suggestion, we will look into the buffet dinner food quality but it was good to know you mentioned that our Breakfasts is good , together with the Japanese restaurant and the Garden Bistro French/ Italian restaurant. Our resort is very convenient to food connoisiers who are looking for varieties as we have 5 signature restaurants to choose from, and many of our long-stay guests prefer to stay here due to the variety of food choices, besides the 3 mentioned earlier, we also have the Chinese and the reputable Brazilian BBQ restaurant. We look forward to your return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DongGuang
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Quiet place to stay but away from city centre. You need a taxi for your travels. Long walks inside the hotel.

When I was checking out and I was trying to extend it - it did not work - except for a triple rate.

I had my booking from US so I could not extend it due to time difference but for them it was a no no. Triple rate or nothing.

I chose to check out and spend the next 10 nights in another hotel. The reply I got to this was absurd. In their mathematics it is better to kick out the guest and keep the room empty instead of extending one night with the previous rate.

Really left me with a bad taste from this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChinaHLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Dongguan, Manager at TANGLA Dongguan, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for your comments on your stay at the Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon. The hotel is a Resort which is just 15 minutes away from the city center, so close to the city, and yet it has all the qualities of a resort sitting on top a tree-covered hill facing the lake and a beautiful park surrounding it. We are sorry to hear about the rate dispute at the Front Desk. It is true we do have a special rate structure with certain overseas websites but with conditions of prepayment and inflexible dates guaranty. If flexible dates are requested the rate structure varies depending on the supply and demand of the day/ period. The Front desk staff , perhaps, have applied too firmly on the rate of the day due probably to some past abuses by other parties on the low-rate pricing scale. We definitely should be flexible on your case. Please do not hesitate to call the Assistant Manager or the Front Office Manager who will make a better decision should you have any pricing issues in future. We sincerely look forward to your return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed 23 days in this hotel last week. Room was large, clean and well appointed with amazing details. Good hospitality found in everybody who served us: from door lady to front office, from coffee shop staff to duty manager, swimming pool crew to gym attendants and many more.

Breakfast was served with may choices in sumptuous portions. The swimming pool was big and well maintained. and the view from our room was gorgeous with the pool and the lake in the foreground. All the facilities, services and amenities were enjoyed with excellent value for money.

We are already planning for a comeback over Christmas and probably on a more recurring basis.

Well done Sofitel people!

Charles Fung

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesFung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Dongguan, Manager at TANGLA Dongguan, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thanks, Mr Fung , for your comments of your recent stay at the Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon.
We are really glad , especially hearing from you that our staff is really living our motto of serving our guests from our hearts , caring and pleasantly surprising them. Truly motivated by your remarks which I will be sharing with them immediately.
Happy to note that you enjoyed our Sofitel breakfasts which is one of our selling points, with the many varied choices especially now with our new De-lite menu, promoting healthy breakfast food with many fresh detox juices available, with a French touch.
The hotel is truly indeed value for money , as not only one gets 2 very large indoor and outdoor swimming pools to one-self, also the lake in front , and the mountain at the back, with a golf course at the sides (10 minutes away), and if you need some "noise" at night, there is also the Bar street in the town centre, just 15 minutes taxi ride from the hotel.
Thank you for your long-stay of 23 days and we look forward to your and your family's return during Christmas where we have aligned some interesting programs for both the hotel guests and the community (a pre-Christmas party for the under-priviledged kids).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

stayed in the hotel for 1 night for business trip. It was nice overall but the breakfast arrangement is disappointed. They didn't give out voucher for breakfast up on arrival so in the morning we just walked in to the restaurant to enjoy breakfast. When we finished we advised our room number and they waiter replied we will need to pay for our breakfast. But i remember I booked with breakfast included and luckily I brought my booking confirmation letter with me and present to them so they double check again. My colleagues didn't have the confirmation letter with them so they have to pay even tho they remember they booked with breakfast included. This is very bad arrangement and feels like they will ask you to pay no matter if you have booked with breakfast or not...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tammmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Dongguan, Manager at TANGLA Dongguan, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you for your comment on your recent trip to Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon.
Thank you for describing that the overall business trip was nice except the breakfast arrangements...... which we would sincerely like to clarify and apologize if there were any misunderstanding between the communication with the staff.
We would like to clarify that we do not use the old system of issuing breakfast vouchers anymore which was practiced a decade ago, as some of our room guests regarded it as inconvenient and usually forget to bring or lost their vouchers. We have a computer system that will let us know instantly whether a guest's room includes a breakfast or not, by just verifying the room number with the guest. For your case, from our investigation, apparently when you first informed our hostess , you came from room number of #375 where the room did not include breakfast which was why a bill was presented to you after consumption. Later when you recalled it was #357, we corrected the error and cancelled the charge. While your room was booked through your company account using the signed contract corporate rate that include breakfast, your 3 colleagues booked through the travel agent which
did not include any breakfast. They were surprised initially but after we verified and explained to them that their source of booking which was different from yours, and they paid the bill upon check out.
Please do not hesitate to contact our Front Desk or Sales Dept if you still dispute this case, as we will honor our commitments given to our clients based on our contracts. We will not overcharge and will readily refund all breakfast charges should if it be proven that we have wrongly charged. We thank you for your comments once again and we look forward to your return visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

just back from an 8 day stay at this great hotel. They have a new head chef from Milan who will be upgrading their menu soon. Used spa twice with June and Serena, had a hair cut, and swam in large pool often this trip. The frequent rain allowed me to see a blue sky while I walked the adjacent safe park at 5.45 am each day. A blue sky in DG is sadly special and rare. If you can not get a cab, just ask hotel to arrange private car to any restaurant. Besides eating at the hotel, I ate at high end Wang place in Dyna city (think mortons), Bongournos for Italian. the special oven new pizza place at pullman hotel, and always the best place to relax, the Brit pub one for the road. Favorite rest. at hotel is in the front lobby area run by the super nice and pretty Rena with great help from roman and sugar!
will be back on October with my wife for my 40th visit!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: pool side rooms cost more but are worth the quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Dongguan, Manager at TANGLA Dongguan, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank you for your comment on your recent stay with the Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon.
Thank you for your continuous support of more than 10 years of returning visit to this wonderful hotel that faces a beautiful lake, surrounded by a beautiful hill and with a public park right at our doorsteps, and a golf course just minutes away.
Yes we have a new Head Chef, from Milan, Italy. First time in China, and he is settling down fast, and so far, he has shown his skills which we reckon is the best pasta and pizza in town, and more will come as he is looking through all our menus for an upgrade of not just Italian but also from many parts of the world which he has worked in.
Thanks for mentioning our Spa Masseurs, June and Serena, truly the best to de-stress after a hard day's work, and of course, the delightful Rena, the Manager of both our Garden Bistro (great French and Italian cuisine) and Mardi Gras Bar. We look forward to seeing you and your Mrs in October whereby our Executive Chef from Milan will be able "cook up a storm" to your delight that you need not go out to the nearby eateries anymore. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dongguan hotels
8.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dongguan
Hyatt Regency Dongguan
#2 of 1,070 in Dongguan
570 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wanda Vista Dongguan
Wanda Vista Dongguan
#3 of 1,070 in Dongguan
88 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kande International Hotel Dongguan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Goodview Hotel Tangxia
Goodview Hotel Tangxia
#9 of 1,070 in Dongguan
385 reviews
15.1 mi away
Mels Weldon Dongguan Humen
Mels Weldon Dongguan Humen
#19 of 1,070 in Dongguan
170 reviews
15.5 mi away
Pullman Dongguan Chang'an
Pullman Dongguan Chang'an
#10 of 1,070 in Dongguan
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TANGLA Dongguan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TANGLA Dongguan

Property: TANGLA Dongguan
Address: No.8 Yingbin Road, Dongcheng District, Dongguan 523129, China (Formerly Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon)
Region: China > Guangdong > Dongguan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Dongguan
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dongguan
#2 Best Value Hotel in Dongguan
#6 Business Hotel in Dongguan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — TANGLA Dongguan 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located nearby the Huying Park, and facing a lake on one side, and a wild forest on the other side, it is the ideal place to disconnect from work and worries. The 2 swimming pools, the spa, and the sport facilities are dedicated to well being and relaxation. The complex is also a perfect setting for your events, with its 22 meeting rooms up to 1000 people. ROOMS: 268 rooms, including 10 opera suites, and 21 prestige suites, 3 villas and 1 imperial suite with private fitness centre and meeting room. The bedrooms offer splendid views of the lake, the swimming pool and the garden.F&B: • Cafe Royal: travel around the world with an international buffet and live cooking. • Garden Bistro: taste fine dining cuisine, with French and Italian touches with view on our peacock garden. • BB's: our Brazilian churrascaria for meat lovers. Terrace facing the swimming pool. • Sugi: enjoy a Japanese fine dining restaurant. Teppanyake, sushi bar and private tatami rooms available. • Fragrant Pavilion: try out the local specialties in our Cantonese restaurant. 3 bars are available: the Mardi Gras Bar, the Lobby Bar,the wine bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your TANGLA Dongguan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon Hotel Dongguan
Accor Dongguan Royal Lagoon
Dongguan Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing